Reflektor Max Richter

Max Richter is the first »Reflektor« artist in 2021/2022 season to be given the keys to the concert hall for a few days. The composer, pianist and music producer is fêted by a huge community of fans all over the world for his minimalistic soundscapes and his deliberately reduced, trance-like piano pieces. Moreover, Richter is an exceptionally creative musician who works together with artists from practically every sphere, from film directors to ballet. He has invited a whole number of musicians he is friends with to appear at his Elbphilharmonie weekend.

The »Max Richter Reflektor« was originally scheduled in the 2020/21 season from 6–8 March 2021, but it has now been postponed until October 2021 as a result of coronavirus restrictions. The programme and a ticket release date will be published at a later date.

Max Richter's aim is to merge colours, sounds and feelings into a synaesthetic experience. He is one of the hippest and most productive figures on today's music scene, and his artistic cosmos lies somewhere between amazing simplicity and absolutely perfection.

Max Richter is a traveller between worlds: his music works as well on the synthesizer as it does with a symphony orchestra; it evolves its magnetic attraction in clubs and concert halls alike, and electrifies both classical-music lovers and pop fans. In his works Richter superimposes celestial ambient string sounds, minimal and progressive rock over revolving patterns. »His music sounds as if it is striving to reach a place beyond the confines of the mortal world«, writes the New Yorker.

The exchange with artists from all genres is essential to the art of the British composer, who was born in the German town of Hameln. He has recorded minimal music by Arvo Pärt and Brian Eno, and has worked together with the electronica collective Future Sound of London and the drum-&-bass crew Reprazent. Leading dance companies such as the Mariinski and the New York City Ballet develop choreographies to his soundscapes. Countless film and television productions bear his signature, among them the award-winning cartoon film »Waltz with Bashir« and the American TV series »The Leftovers«.

On Richter's album »The Blue Notebooks«, voted one of the Best Classical Works of the 21st Century by the Guardian, actress Tilda Swinton reads from the diaries of Franz Kafka. And his eight-hour-long programme »Sleep« rocked listeners all over the world gently to sleep, from the Amsterdam Concertgebouw to the Sydney Opera. In the Elbphilharmonie Max Richter is now given carte blanche to present his art in all its different facets. During his »Reflektor« festival, the Elbphilharmonie complex will be transformed into a playground for him and his famous guests and friends,from the Grand Hall to the Kaistudios.

Reflektor Max Richter

Max Richter erhält als »Reflektor«-Künstler für einige Tage die Schlüssel zum Konzerthaus. Der Komponist, Pianist und Produzent wird für seine minimalistischen Soundscapes und seine bewusst reduzierten, tranceartigen Klavierstücke weltweit von einer gigantischen Fancommunity verehrt. Zudem arbeitet der höchst kreative Kopf mit Künstlern praktisch aller Sparten zusammen, von Filmregisseuren bis zum Ballett. Zu seinem Wochenende in die Elbphilharmonie lädt er viele befreundete Musiker ein.

Der »Reflektor Max Richter« war ursprünglich in der Saison 2020/21 vom 6. bis zum 8. März geplant, musste Corona-bedingt aber auf Oktober 2021 verschoben werden. Programm und Vorverkaufsstart werden zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt bekannt gegeben.

Farben, Klänge und Gefühle zu einer synästhetischen Erfahrung zu verschmelzen lautet Max Richters Credo. Der Komponist, Pianist und Produzent gehört zu den produktivsten und angesagtesten Figuren der zeitgenössischen Musikszene. Sein künstlerischer Kosmos liegt irgendwo zwischen verblüffender Einfachheit und absoluter Vollendung.

Max Richter ist ein Wanderer zwischen den Welten: Seine Kunst funktioniert für Synthesizer und Sinfonieorchester gleichermaßen; sie entfaltet ihre Sogwirkung in Clubs und Konzertsälen, elektrisiert ein Publikum von Klassikliebhabern bis zu Pop-Fans. In seinen Werken überblendet er kreisende Patterns mit sphärischen Ambient-Streichersounds, Minimal- und Progressive-Rock. »Seine Klänge scheinen nach einem Ort jenseits der sterblichen Welt zu streben«, schwärmt der New Yorker.

Essenziell für die Kunst des in Hameln geborenen Briten ist der Austausch mit Künstlern aller Genres. Er spielte Minimal Music von Arvo Pärt und Brian Eno ein, machte gemeinsame Sache mit dem Electronica-Kollektiv Future Sound of London und der Drum-and-Bass-Crew Reprazent. Führende Tanzkompanien wie das Mariinski und das New York City Ballet entwickeln Choreografien zu seinen Soundscapes. Zahllose Film- und Fernsehproduktionen tragen Richters Handschrift, darunter der preisgekrönte Animationsfilm »Waltz with Bashir« und die US-amerikanische Serie »The Leftovers«.

Auf seinem Album »The Blue Notebooks«, vom Guardian unter die »Best Classical Works of the 21st Century« gewählt, liest die Schauspielerin Tilda Swinton aus Franz Kafkas Tagebuchaufzeichnungen. Und sein achtstündiges Programm »Sleep« wiegte Zuhörer vom Concertgebouw Amsterdam bis zur Oper in Sydney sacht in den Schlaf. In der Elbphilharmonie erhält Max Richter nun Carte blanche, seine Kunst in all ihren Facetten zu präsentieren. Im Rahmen seines »Reflektors« wird das Konzerthaus vom Großen Saal bis zu den Kaistudios zur Spielwiese für ihn und seine namhaften Gäste und Freunde.