Zum Inhalt springen

Discover

Plaza

The Elbphilharmonie Plaza serves as the junction between the old harbour warehouse and the modern glass structure above it. Located at a height of 37 metres above ground level, this public viewing platform is open to everyone and offers a breathtaking 360° view of the city and the harbour.

A Public Space for Hamburg

The public viewing platform situated at the junction of the old harbour warehouse and the modern glass structure above it is a magnet for visitors. 26,000 people visited the Plaza on the weekend following its official opening on 4 November 2016. Up to 17,000 Hamburg residents and guests from all over the world make their way to the HafenCity daily to enjoy the breathtaking 360° view of the city and harbour from a height of 37 metres above ground level. This places the Elbphilharmonie on the list alongside Europe's other most popular attractions, such as the Sistine Chapel in Rome, which has a comparable annual number of visitors.

The Plaza is open to everyone – not just concertgoers and hotel guests. You are welcome to come up and enjoy the fantastic view, discover more about the architecture or meet friends for coffee and a snack – from 09:00 to 24:00 daily.

Special Opening Times

  • Due to a large-scale event, the Plaza is closed to the public on 25 September.

Plaza Tickets

The Elbphilharmonie Plaza is accessible to everyone. The restricted capacity of the Plaza is regulated by the issue of Plaza tickets.

Ticketholders for concerts in the Elbphilharmonie Grand and Recital Halls gain admission to the Plaza from two hours before the start of the event. Visitors to the Kaistudios and all other visitors require a separate Plaza ticket to visit the Elbphilharmonie Plaza.

Plaza tickets can be booked up to 12 weeks in advance. Children under the age of three do not require a ticket.

Individuals or Small Groups of Up to 6 Persons

  • Same-day visit: Plaza tickets are available free of charge from the Elbphilharmonie Visitor Center, from the information counter at the main entrance area of the Elbphilharmonie and online (€2.00), subject to availability.
  • Advance booking: Plaza tickets booked at least one day in advance are available from the Elbphilharmonie Visitor Center and online. A booking fee of €2.00 per ticket applies.

Groups of 7 Persons or More

  • Same-day visit: Plaza tickets are available from the Elbphilharmonie Visitor Center, from the info point at the main entrance area of the Elbphilharmonie and online. A booking fee of €5.00 per ticket applies.
  • Advance booking: Plaza tickets booked at least one day in advance are available from the Elbphilharmonie Visitor Center and online. A booking fee of €5.00 per ticket applies.

Families, Schools, Kindergartens

  • Plaza tickets for a same-day visit are available free of charge for families of six persons or more from the Elbphilharmonie Visitor Center (Am Kaiserkai 62). Advance booking is available in person and is subject to a booking fee of €2.00 per ticket.
  • Tickets are available free of charge for school and kindergarten groups of six persons or more from the Elbphilharmonie Visitor Center (advance booking not possible).

Plaza Tickets

Book tickets online

Elbphilharmonie Plaza

Platz der Deutschen Einheit / 20457 Hamburg / Germany

09:00 - 24:00 daily (last admission: 23:30)

Payment is accepted via PayPal, SOFORT Online Bank Transfer, Amazon Pay or with credit card (MasterCard or VISA).

It is not possible to reserve Plaza tickets by phone.

Online Ticket shop

Online

Plaza tickets can be purchased online as either Print@Home or mobile tickets. Tickets booked in advance are subject to a booking fee from €2.00 per ticket.

Elbphilharmonie Visitor Centre

Elbphilharmonie Visitor Center

Am Kaiserkai 62
(opposite the Elbphilharmonie)
Opening hours: 10:00-20:00

Advance booking for a future visit to the Plaza is possible in the Elbphilharmonie Visitor Center (subject to a booking fee from €2.00 per ticket). Plaza tickets for a same-day visit are also available here free of charge (subject to availability).

What is the Plaza?

A Meeting Place

In the interior area of the Plaza you will find stairways and lifts to the concert halls, the takeaway café »Deck & Deli«, and the lobby of »The Westin Hamburg« hotel. Information on the Elbphilharmonie, books, CDs and souvenirs are for sale in the Elbphilharmonie Shop.

Visitors can discover the Elbphilharmonie in different ways with the Smart Table, a digital infotainment table – from a high-speed drone flight to a detailed picture gallery.

The Plaza
The Plaza © Maxim Schulz

The Inner Plaza

Dramatic reflecting surfaces, vistas, approaches and passageways are all important architectural features of the Elbphilharmonie. This includes the Plaza: in the centre point of the Plaza, a light shaft allows visitors to get a glimpse of floors 12 to 17 of the Grand Hall foyer.

Several areas of the Plaza are covered with reflecting glass, shimmering fragments of harbour life, the sky and the city.

Particularly prominent are leaning columns that allow for an unobstructed flow of people on the Plaza. From the outside, it seems as if the glass structure is floating above the old red-brick warehouse.

The Outer Plaza

At approximately the centre of the Plaza on both longitudal sides of the building, two eight-metre-high wind deflectors open up to reveal large facade cutouts that overlook the inner city and the harbour. Visitors can walk all the way around the Elbphilharmonie on the outer Plaza.

The Outer Plaza
The Outer Plaza © Michael Zapf

Getting to the Plaza

The way to the Plaza is an experience in itself: from the main entrance of the Elbphilharmonie, an 82-metre-long, curved escalator with elaborate lighting leads visitors up through the old Kaispeicher building. At the top, on the 6th floor, a panorama window offers a spectacular view down the river Elbe towards the harbour and docks. The entrance to the restaurant »Beer & Dine« is also located here. Visitors then take a second, shorter escalator up to the Plaza on the 8th floor.

Approximately 8,000 discs glitter in the two-way Tube – the world’s first curved escalator, with a total travel time of approx. 2.5 minutes.

Tube
Tube © Michael Zapf

On Offer on the Plaza

Plaza Shop

Elbphilharmonie Shop

A selection of products and souvenirs, made exclusively for the Elbphilharmonie, are for sale in the Elbphilharmonie Shop. Also available: books and CDs by many artists featured in the current season, the Elbphilharmonie Magazine as well as information on the Elbphilharmonie.

Opening Hours

10:00-20:00

Please note: The Elbphilharmonie Shop is closed on 25 July.

Blog & Streams: Top Ten Elbphilharmonie Souvenirs
Störtebeker Elbphilharmonie / Deck & Deli

Deck & Deli

On the Elbphilharmonie Plaza, freshly baked produce, ice cream and tempting cold and warm savoury snacks are on offer. In addition to a large selection of soft drinks, wine, sparkling wine and speciality coffees, visitors can try the complete variety of Störtebeker cask beer varieties.

Opening Hours

Mon-Frr: From 10:00
Sat-Sun: From 09:00

More about Food & Drink
The Westin Hamburg / Foyer

The Westin Hamburg

In the upper part of the Elbphilharmonie, The Westin Hamburg’s 244 rooms and suites offer a spectacular view of the river Elbe, the Speicherstadt and the HafenCity. The entrance to the lobby is located on the Plaza.

More about The Westin Hamburg

Frequently Asked Questions

  • Concert Ticket = Plaza Ticket

    Ticketholders of concerts in the Elbphilharmonie Grand and Recital Halls gain admission to the Plaza from two hours before the start of the event. Visitors to the Kaistudios and all other visitors require a separate Plaza ticket to visit the Plaza.

  • Is a Plaza ticket valid for public transportation?

    No, a Plaza ticket may not be used as a HVV (public transportation) ticket.

  • Do restaurant customers require Plaza tickets?

    Yes. Restaurant customers who make a reservation in advance receive confirmation and the corresponding number of Plaza tickets in the form of PDF files by email.

  • How is Plaza admittance regulated?

    In principle, a Plaza ticket entitles access to the Plaza. The operator, however, reserves the right to limit access, especially in the case of overcrowding. In addition, controls can be carried out by our security company as well as by the police and other regulatory agencies. Every visitor could be subject to a security control.

  • From the parking garage to the Plaza

    Visitors first take the lift to the ground floor from the parking garage. Upon presentation of a Plaza ticket, visitors may then access the Plaza from the main entrance area via the Tube or lifts.

  • Photography and Video Recordings

    Video recordings and photography for private purposes are permitted. Please respect the privacy of other visitors and do not interfere with regular Plaza operations. Employees may not be photographed or filmed.

    Video recordings or photographs for editorial or commercial purposes are only permitted with prior approval from the Press Office of the Elbphilharmonie.

    Contact Press Office
  • Smoking Ban

    Smoking is prohibited throughout the entire premises of the Elbphilharmonie. This includes the Outer Plaza on floor 8.

  • Toilets

    Free public toilets are located on the western tip of the Plaza, adjacent to the Elbphilharmonie Shop, and are accessible via stairs.

    Persons with mobility disabilities and wheelchair users may use the B elevators situated at the entrance of the Elbphilharmonie Shop. The accessible toilets are open – a key is not required.

    Further toilets are located behind the ticket shop at the main entrance of the Elbphilharmonie.

  • WiFi

    Free, public WiFi (Mobyklick) is available on the Plaza.

  • Is the Plaza accessible for persons with mobility disabilities?

    Yes, the Plaza is fully accessible via lifts. These are located in the main entrance area of the Elbphilharmonie (please follow the signs).

  • May dogs be taken onto the Plaza?

    No, animals are prohibited on the Plaza, however disability assistance dogs may enter the Plaza.

  • Who should I contact if I find or lose an item?

    Found items should be handed in to security staff on the Plaza, at the main entrance or in the Security Office on the south-east corner of the Elbphilharmonie. Lost items can also be retrieved here.

  • What protective measures are in place in the event of flooding?

    The Elbphilharmonie is located in a safe high-water area, therefore no flood control measures are in place in the event of flooding. Closures that could occur in the areas surrounding the Elbphilharmonie may result in restrictions when travelling to and from the Elbphilharmonie.

  • House Regulations

Zum Inhalt springen

Entdecken

Plaza

Die Plaza ist die Nahtstelle zwischen dem traditionsreichen Hafenspeicher und dem gläsernen Neubau der Elbphilharmonie: Auf 37 Metern Höhe bietet die öffentliche Aussichtsplattform einen Rundumblick auf die Stadt und den Hafen.

Ein öffentlicher Platz für Hamburg

Die öffentliche Aussichtsplattform zwischen dem Backsteinsockel und dem gläsernen Neubau der Elbphilharmonie ist ein Publikumsmagnet. 26.000 Menschen kamen gleich am ersten Wochenende nach der Eröffnung der Plaza am 4. November 2016. Täglich strömen bis zu 17.000 Gäste in die HafenCity, um auf 37 Metern den Ausblick auf Stadt und Hafen zu genießen. Damit steht die Elbphilharmonie mittlerweile in einer Reihe mit den beliebtesten Sehenswürdigkeiten Europas, etwa der Sixtinischen Kapelle in Rom, die eine vergleichbare jährliche Besucherzahl verzeichnet.

Nicht nur Konzertbesucher oder Hotelgäste, sondern alle, die die Aussicht genießen, die Architektur erkunden oder einfach nur einen Kaffee trinken möchten, sind auf der Plaza willkommen – täglich von 9 bis 24 Uhr.

Besondere Öffnungszeiten

  • Am 24. und 31. Dezember schließt die Plaza bereits um 15 Uhr (letzter Einlass: 14:30 Uhr).
  • Aufgrund einer Großveranstaltung bleibt die Plaza am 7. März geschlossen.

Plaza-Tickets

Die Plaza ist für jedermann zugänglich. Da die Kapazität begrenzt ist, wird der Besuch über die Ausgabe von Plaza-Tickets geregelt.

Tickets für Konzerte im Großen und im Kleinen Saal ermöglichen den Zutritt zur Plaza ab zwei Stunden vor Veranstaltungsbeginn. Besucher der Kaistudios und alle anderen Besucher benötigen ein Ticket, um die Plaza zu besichtigen.

Plaza-Tickets können bis zu 12 Wochen im Voraus gebucht werden. Kinder unter 3 Jahren benötigen kein Ticket.

Einzelpersonen und Kleingruppen bis 6 Personen

  • Besuch am selben Tag: Kostenlose Tickets sind am Plaza-Ticket-Automaten, im Elbphilharmonie Besucherzentrum, am Infopoint im Eingangsbereich der Elbphilharmonie und online (€ 2) nach Verfügbarkeit erhältlich.
  • Vorbuchung: Die Vorbuchung mit mehr als einem Tag Vorlauf ist online und im Elbphilharmonie Besucherzentrum für eine Buchungsgebühr von € 2 pro Ticket möglich.

Gruppen ab 7 Personen

  • Besuch am selben Tag: Tickets sind im Elbphilharmonie Besucherzentrum, am Infopoint im Eingangsbereich der Elbphilharmonie und online für eine Buchungsgebühr von € 5 pro Ticket erhältlich.
  • Vorbuchung: Die Vorbuchung mit mehr als einem Tag Vorlauf ist im Elbphilharmonie Besucherzentrum und online für eine Buchungsgebühr von € 5 pro Ticket möglich.

Familien, Schulen, Kindergärten

  • Für den Besuch am selben Tag erhalten Familien mit mehr als 6 Personen kostenfreie Tickets im Elbphilharmonie Besucherzentrum (Am Kaiserkai 62). Eine Vorbuchung ist dort für eine Buchungsgebühr von € 2 pro Ticket möglich.
  • Auch Schulen und Kindergärten erhalten für Gruppen mit mehr als 6 Personen kostenfreie Tickets im Elbphilharmonie Besucherzentrum (keine Vorbuchung möglich).

Elbphilharmonie Plaza

Platz der Deutschen Einheit / 20457 Hamburg

täglich 9-24 Uhr (Letzter Einlass: 23:30 Uhr)

Die Bezahlung ist über PayPal, Sofortüberweisung und mit Kreditkarte (MasterCard oder VISA) möglich.

Eine telefonische Reservierung von Plaza-Tickets ist nicht möglich.

Online-Ticketshop

Online

Plaza-Tickets sind online für eine Buchungsgebühr von € 2 pro Ticket als print@home- oder Mobil-Tickets erhältlich.

Elbphilharmonie Besucherzentrum

Elbphilharmonie Besucherzentrum

Am Kaiserkai 62
(gegenüber der Elbphilharmonie)
Öffnungszeiten: 9 - 20 Uhr

Eine Vorbuchung für einen späteren Plaza-Besuch ist im Elbphilharmonie Besucherzentrum für eine Buchungsgebühr von € 2 möglich. Hier gibt es auch kostenlose Plaza-Tickets für den Besuch am selben Tag.

Ticketautomatem im Elbphilharmonie Besucherzentrum

Ticketautomaten

Kostenlose Plaza-Tickets für einen Besuch am selben Tag können nach
Verfügbarkeit auch am Automaten gezogen werden.

  • Zwei Plaza-Ticketautomaten befinden sich im Elbphilharmonie Besucherzentrum
  • ein Automat steht im Eingangsbereich der Elbphilharmonie
  • ein vierter Ticketautomat ist im Eingangsbereich der Elbphilharmonie links hinter der Konzertkasse vor dem Eingang ins Parkhaus zu finden

Was ist die Plaza?

Ein Ort der Begegnung

Im Innenbereich der Plaza befinden sich die Aufgänge zum kleinen und großen Konzertsaal der Elbphilharmonie, das Take-Away-Café »Deck & Deli« sowie die Lobby des Hotels »The Westin Hamburg«. Informationen rund um die Elbphilharmonie, Bücher, CDs und Elbphilharmonie Souvenirs bietet der Elbphilharmonie Shop.

Mit dem Smart Table, einem digitalen Infotainment-Tisch, kann die Elbphilharmonie auf verschiedene Arten entdeckt werden – vom rasanten Drohnenflug bis zur ausführlichen Bildergalerie.

Die Plaza
Die Plaza © Maxim Schulz

Die Innenplaza

In der Architektur der Elbphilharmonie spielt die Inszenierung von Spiegelflächen, Zu- und Eingängen sowie Sichtachsen eine große Rolle. So auch auf der Plaza: Etwa in der Mitte der Plaza kann man durch einen Lichtschacht bis in die Konzertfoyers des 12. bis 17. Obergeschosses schauen.

Einzelne Bereiche der Plaza sind mit verspiegeltem Glas verkleidet; hier schimmern Fragmente der Hafenkulisse, des Himmels und der Stadt.

Sehr markant sind zudem die schrägen Säulen. Sie ermöglichen einen stützenfreien Umlauf auf der Plaza, wodurch es von außen so wirkt, als würde der Glasaufbau auf dem Backsteingebäude schweben.

Smart Table
Smart Table © Peter Hundert

Die Außenplaza

Etwa auf der Mitte der Längsseite öffnet sich die Plaza zu beiden Seiten bogenförmig bis zu acht Meter hoch, zwei große Fassadenausschnitte ermöglichen den Blick auf Innenstadt und Hafen. Auf der Außenplaza kann man die Elbphilharmonie einmal komplett umrunden.

Außenplaza
Außenplaza © Michael Zapf

Der Weg zur Plaza

Vom Eingangsbereich des Gebäudes an der Ostseite führt eine 82 Meter lange, gebogene Rolltreppe aufwärts durch den Speicher. Die Fahrt durch die sogenannte Tube führt die Besucher direkt zum Panoramafenster im 6. Obergeschoss, das den Blick auf den Hafen freigibt. Hier befindet sich auch der Eingang zum Restaurant »Beer & Dine«. Von dort gelangt man über eine zweite, kurze Rolltreppe auf die Plaza im 8. Obergeschoss.

Ungefähr 8.000 Pailetten funkeln in der zweiteiligen Tube auf dem Weg zur Plaza. Weltweit ist sie die erste gebogene Rolltreppe – mit einer Fahrtzeit von etwa 2,5 Minuten.

Tube
Tube © Michael Zapf

Angebote auf der Plaza

Elbphilharmonie Shop

Elbphilharmonie Shop

Eine Auswahl an exklusiv für die Elbphilharmonie entworfenen Produkten und Souvenirs lädt im Elbphilharmonie Shop zum Stöbern ein. Bücher und CDs zur aktuellen Spielzeit, das Elbphilharmonie Magazin sowie Infomaterial zum Haus ergänzen das Sortiment.

Öffnungszeiten

10 – 21 Uhr

Blog & Streams: Die Top 10 Souvenirs aus der Elbphilharmonie
Störtebeker Elbphilharmonie / Deck & Deli

Deck & Deli

Gebäckspezialitäten, Herzhaftes sowie Eiscreme werden in der Gastronomie auf der Plaza angeboten. Neben einer großen Auswahl an Erfrischungsgetränken, Wein, Schaumwein und Kaffeespezialitäten, gibt es hier außerdem eine Auswahl der Störtebeker Brauspezialitäten vom Fass.

Öffnungszeiten

9 – 24 Uhr

Mehr zur Gastronomie
The Westin Hamburg / Foyer

The Westin Hamburg

Im oberen Gebäudeteil der Elbphilharmonie, mit spektakulärem Blick auf Elbe, Speicherstadt und HafenCity, liegen die 244 Zimmer und Suiten des Westin Hamburg. Der Eingang zur Lobby des Hotels befindet sich auf der Plaza.

Mehr zum Hotel The Westin Hamburg

Gut zu wissen

  • Konzertkarte = Plaza-Ticket

    Tickets für Konzerte im Großen und im Kleinen Saal ermöglichen den Zutritt zur Plaza ab zwei Stunden vor Veranstaltungsbeginn. Besucher der Kaistudios und alle anderen Besucher benötigen ein Ticket, um die Plaza zu besichtigen.

  • Gilt ein Plaza-Ticket auch als Ticket für den öffentlichen Nahverkehr?

    Nein, ein Plaza-Ticket ist kein gültiges HVV-Ticket.

  • Benötigt man als Restaurantbesucher ein Plaza-Ticket?

    Ja. Gäste, die im Restaurant reservieren, erhalten mit der E-Mail-Bestätigung der Reservierung die entsprechende Anzahl an Plaza-Tickets als PDF.

  • Wie wird der Zugang zur Plaza kontrolliert?

    Grundsätzlich berechtigt das Plaza-Ticket zum Betreten der Plaza. Allerdings behält sich der Betreiber vor, den Zutritt einzuschränken, insbesondere bei Überschreitung der zulässigen Personenzahl. Dazu finden Kontrollen durch Sicherheits- und Kontrolldienste, aber auch der Polizei und anderer Ordnungsbehörden statt. Kontrolliert werden kann jeder Besucher.

  • Vom Parkhaus auf die Plaza

    Die Plaza ist nicht direkt vom Parkhaus aus zu erreichen. Nutzen Sie im Parkhaus die Fahrstuhlgruppe B, um ins Erdgeschoss zu fahren. Nach der Zugangskontrolle können Sie von dort mit der Rolltreppe oder der Fahrstuhlgruppe A auf die Plaza fahren.

  • Foto- und Filmaufnahmen

    Das Filmen und Fotografieren für private Zwecke ist erlaubt. Die Privatsphäre anderer Besucher muss gewahrt bleiben, der Betrieb der Plaza darf nicht gestört werden. Mitarbeiter dürfen nicht fotografiert werden.

    Film- oder Fotoaufnahmen zu redaktionellen oder kommerziellen Zwecken müssen vorab durch die Pressestelle der Elbphilharmonie genehmigt werden.

    Pressekontakt
  • Rauchverbot

    In der Elbphilharmonie ist das Rauchen generell verboten. Das gilt auch für den Bereich der Außenplaza in der 8. Etage.

  • Toiletten

    Auf der Plaza befinden sich die Toiletten an der Westspitze des Gebäudes zwischen dem Gastronomiebereich und dem Elbphilharmonie Shop. Sie sind über Treppen erreichbar.

    Menschen mit eingeschränkter Mobilität und Rollstuhlfahrer können die Fahrstuhlgruppe B am Eingang zum Elbphilharmonie Shop nutzen. Die barrierefreien Toiletten sind offen, ein Euroschlüssel wird nicht benötigt.

    Weitere Toiletten finden Besucher im Eingangsbereich der Elbphilharmonie hinter der Konzertkasse.

  • WLAN

    Auf der Plaza gibt es öffentliches WLAN (Mobyklick).

  • Ist die Plaza barrierefrei?

    Ja, die Plaza ist über Aufzüge erreichbar, die im Eingangsbereich der Elbphilharmonie ausgeschildert sind.

  • Können Hunde mit auf die Plaza genommen werden?

    Nein, Tiere dürfen nicht mit auf die Plaza genommen werden, die Mitnahme von Führ- oder Assistenzhunden (z.B. Blindenhunden) ist erlaubt.

  • Wohin kann ich mich wenden, wenn ich etwas gefunden oder verloren habe?

    Gefundene Gegenstände können beim Sicherheitspersonal auf der Plaza, im Eingangsbereich oder im Security Office an der Südostspitze der Elbphilharmonie abgegeben werden. Dort können Sie auch nach verlorenen Gegenständen fragen.

  • Gibt es für die Elbphilharmonie besondere Flutschutzmaßnahmen?

    Da sich die Elbphilharmonie in einer hochwassergeschützten Lage befindet, bedarf es im Falle eines Hochwassers keiner besonderen Schutzmaßnahmen. Allerdings kann es durch Sperrungen im Umfeld der Elbphilharmonie zu Einschränkungen beim Betreten oder Verlassen der Elbphilharmonie kommen.

  • Hausordnung