Video on demand from 24 Apr 2020
available until 24 Apr 2025

Elbphilharmonie Sessions: William Youn

The South Korean pianist plays Philipp Maintz’s »Étude No. 3«.

The Artist

A »true poet«, a »philosopher of the keyboard« with a »feeling for subtle nuances«: thus the critics, writing about William Youn. The young man from South Korea travelled quite a distance to realise his dream of becoming a pianist. From kindergarten in Seoul, where he first heard the sound of the piano, via Boston, Hanover and Como to Munich, where he now lives and whence he embarks on his trips to concert halls all over the world. But he has remained a poet: »What matters to me is to turn the notes into something human. That's how I see my profession.«

William Youn
William Youn
William Youn
William Youn
William Youn
William Youn
William Youn
William Youn
William Youn
Philipp Maintz / Session William Youn
Philipp Maintz / Session William Youn

The Music :Philipp Maintz: Étude Nr. 3

»Between the ages of 16 and 18 I asked myself whether I wanted to become a composer or a painter«, says Philipp Maintz from the city of Aachen. »In the end I decided to compose because it doesn't make such a mess – though this is not exactly true when you consider all the crumbs from the eraser.« He obviously made the right decision: Maintz writes music for leading interpreters, for concert halls and opera houses. Only in 2019 was his chamber opera  »Thérèse« performed at the Hamburg International Music Festival. He has now composed the imaginative »Étude Nr. 3« for William Youn to play at the Elbphilharmonie.

Maintz always invents his own rules when composing – and then alters the outcome with free intuition in a second step. This also applies to his »Étude No. 3«, which revolves around the topic of dance. Contrary to what one might expect from the title, this is not a string of dry piano exercises. Instead, Philipp Maintz presents old Baroque dances and harmonies in a new guise. Time and again, dancing, swirling figures  appear, only to fade away again at the very next instant. Easy to play as the composition may sound in Youn's hands, Philipp Maintz had quite a struggle to complete the score: »I was at loggerheads with the Étude No. 3 for quite some time before I was happy with the result«, the composer says. »It's not easy in the slightest to write for one instrument alone, and especially not for a piano. You can't hide, everything is in full view.«

»What matters to me is to turn the notes into something human. That's how I see my profession.«

William Youn

The location

The dark wood panelling made of French oak gives the Recital Hall a cosy atmosphere, putting the listener in the mood for the intimate concert formats and the room's warm acoustics.

None

About the series

Artists record exclusive music videos at the Elbphilharmonie and Laeiszhalle for Elbphilharmonie Sessions – sometimes in unusual locations offstage. Discover the concert halls from the inside. Discover what they sound like.

None

Text: Laura Etspüler (Stand 24.04.2020)

More stories

The Elbphilharmonie reopens for the 2020/21 season The Elbphilharmonie reopens for the 2020/21 season

The Elbphilharmonie reopens for the 2020/21 season

At last – concerts again! An uplifting start to the new season – impressions and voices now on video.

Thomas Adès: All-rounder with depth Thomas Adès: All-rounder with depth

Thomas Adès: All-rounder with depth

The English composer wants to »speak directly to the audience«. And he pulls it off.

Video on Demand vom 24.4.2020
verfügbar bis 24.4.2025

Elbphilharmonie Sessions: William Youn

Der südkoreanische Pianist spielt Philipp Maintz’ »Étude Nr. 3«.

Der Künstler

Er sei ein »echter Poet«, ein »Tastenphilosoph« mit einem »Gespür für die subtilen Zwischentöne«, schreibt die Presse über William Youn. Für seinen Traum, Pianist zu werden, ging der Südkoreaner einen weiten Weg: Vom Kindergarten in Seoul, wo er zum ersten Mal den Klängen eines Klaviers lauschte, über Boston, Hannover und Como bis in die heutige Wahlheimat München, von wo aus er seine Reisen in Konzertsäle auf der ganzen Welt antritt. Ein Poet ist er geblieben: »Es kommt für mich darauf an, etwas Menschliches aus den Noten zu machen. So verstehe ich meinen Beruf.«

William Youn
William Youn
William Youn
William Youn
William Youn
William Youn
William Youn
William Youn
William Youn
Philipp Maintz / Session William Youn
Philipp Maintz / Session William Youn

Die Musik :Philipp Maintz: Étude Nr. 3

»Mit 16 bis 18 Jahren habe ich mich gefragt: Will ich lieber Komponist oder Maler werden?«, erzählt der gebürtige Aachener Philipp Maintz. »Ich hab’ mich dann für das Komponieren entschieden, weil das weniger Dreck macht – was nicht stimmt, wenn man die Radierkrümel bedenkt.« Augenscheinlich war es die richtige Wahl: Der Komponist schreibt Werke für wichtige Interpreten, Konzert- und Opernhäuser. Erst 2019 wurde seine Kammeroper »Thérèse« beim Internationalen Musikfest in Hamburg gespielt; für die Elbphilharmonie und William Youn entstand nun die fantasievolle »Étude Nr. 3«.

Beim Komponieren erfindet Maintz stets seine eigenen Regeln – um das Ergebnis dann in einem zweiten Schritt frei und intuitiv abzuändern. Das gilt auch für die »Étude Nr. 3«, die um das Thema Tanz kreist. Anders als der Titel annehmen lässt, reihen sich hier keine trockenen Klavierübungen aneinander. Stattdessen steckt Philipp Maintz alte Barocktänze und -harmonien in ein neues Gewand. Immer wieder scheinen tanzende, sich drehende Gestalten auf und verblassen sofort wieder. So spielerisch das Ergebnis in Youns Händen klingt, so schwer empfand Philipp Maintz den Weg bis dorthin: »Mit der Étude Nr. 3 hab’ ich eine ganze Weile im Clinch gelegen, bis das endlich gesessen hat«, erzählt der Komponist. »Für ein Instrument allein zu schreiben – besonders für ein Klavier –, ist ganz und gar nicht leicht. Man kann sich nicht verstecken, alles liegt offen zutage.«

»Es kommt für mich darauf an, etwas Menschliches aus den Noten zu machen. So verstehe ich meinen Beruf.«

William Youn

Der Ort

Die dunkle Holzvertäfelung aus französische Eiche macht das Foyer des Kleinen Saales zu einem behaglichen Ort, der auf die kleinen, intimen Konzertformate und die warme Akustik im Innern des Saales einstimmt.

None

Zur Reihe

Für die Elbphilharmonie Sessions nehmen Künstler exklusive Musikvideos in Elbphilharmonie und Laeiszhalle auf – manchmal auch abseits der Bühnen, an ungewöhnlichen Orten. So sehen die Konzerthäuser von innen aus. Und so klingen sie.

None

Text: Laura Etspüler (Stand 24.04.2020)

Weitere Beiträge

Alexander Arai-Swale spielt »Fury« Alexander Arai-Swale spielt »Fury«

Alexander Arai-Swale spielt »Fury«

Ein junger Musiker, ein Kontrabass, eine Lagerhalle und Musik, in der es um alles geht.

Neustart in die Saison 2020/21 Neustart in die Saison 2020/21

Neustart in die Saison 2020/21

Endlich wieder Konzerte! Ein beglückender Auftakt in die neue Saison – Eindrücke und Stimmen im Video.

Willkommen zurück in der Laeiszhalle! Willkommen zurück in der Laeiszhalle!

Willkommen zurück in der Laeiszhalle!

Der neobarocke Konzertsaal lädt wieder zu musikalischen Sternstunden – mit Mozart, Beethoven und Vivaldi.