Reflektor John Zorn

Musician, composer, free spirit – in March, John Zorn and close musical companions present his multifaceted work, from jazz to noise

Festival passes are no longer available
Tickets for individual festival concerts occasionally available
Festival passes are no longer available
Tickets for individual festival concerts occasionally available

John Zorn is nothing short of a creative powerhouse. In an unceasing stream of creativity, music just pours out of him in a wide range of styles, from swinging jazz through brutal noise to the most delicate sounds, from meticulously composed pieces to free improvisation. Born in New York City in 1953, Zorn has seemed for more than 40 years to be a freethinker who surpasses all genre boundaries. His output has something of the universal about it, arranged in project series and collections of works, produced with great care and released as over 200 recordings on his own label, Tzadik. At the Elbphilharmonie he now presents essential facets of his art in 14 individual concerts, spread over a period of four days.

Zorn Trio Bonus: Get 30% off the ticket price when you book three or more concerts in the »John Zorn Reflektor« series. In your shopping basket, select the »Zorn Trio Bonus 30%« discount on every ticket.

The trio Simulacrum rains electrified sound masses down on the listener at top speed, while in »Holy Visions« Zorn sends his audience into raptures with sacred songs where the earliest music mingles with minimalist structures. The members of the JACK Quartet, experts in the very latest contemporary music, perform Zorn’s complete string quartets on two evenings – solitaires that vacillate between heavy rock and Schoenberg, between punk and grotesque film scores.

Stephen Gosling performs the iridescent musical kaleidoscope of the »Turner Études« for solo piano. Star soprano Barbara Hannigan focuses on Zorn’s songs, as does Petra Haden, to whom he dedicated the »Songs for Petra« that are reminiscent of Americana.

Hyper-virtuoso music is celebrated in »Chaos Magick« for jazz quartet, while smaller line-ups like the Gnostic Trio produce an idyllic mood on the harp, the guitar and the vibraphone. Zorn himself plays solo on the organ in the Grand Hall, and he can also be heard on the saxophone in three variations of his legendary core team Masada.

Supporting Programme

From the Mediatheque : Videos, Podcasts, Articles

»John Zorn turned my world upside down«

The musicians who appear at the »Reflektor John Zorn« talk about their collaboration with this exceptional artist and their love for his music.

»John Zorn always has a very clear vision«

Spotlight on John Zorn and his music: an interview with the Hamburg-based Zorn expert Axel Zielke.

John Zorn: The Master of Change

Between all the different stools of contemporary music, John Zorn remains true to himself in one respect: constant change.

Reflektor John Zorn

Musiker, Komponist, Freigeist – im März präsentieren John Zorn und enge Wegbegleiter sein facettenreiches Schaffen von Jazz bis Noise

Keine Festivalpässe mehr erhältlich
Tickets für einzelne Festivalkonzerte evtl. noch verfügbar
Keine Festivalpässe mehr erhältlich
Tickets für einzelne Festivalkonzerte evtl. noch verfügbar

John Zorn ist ein Kreativitätskraftwerk. In einem steten Schaffensstrom quillt aus ihm Musik in einer sehr breiten Skala von swingendem Jazz über brachialen Noise bis zu zartesten Klängen, zwischen minutiös ausgearbeiteter Komposition und komplett freier Improvisation. 1953 in New York City geboren, wirkt Zorn seit über 40 Jahren als Freigeist jenseits aller Genregrenzen. Sein schöpferischer Output trägt Züge des Universellen, sortiert in Projektserien und Werksammlungen, sorgfältig produziert und in über 200 Aufnahmen beim eigenen Label Tzadik herausgegeben. In 14 Einzelkonzerten an vier Tagen präsentiert er nun wesentliche Facetten seines Schaffens.

Zorn Trio-Bonus: Beim Kauf von drei oder mehr Konzerten des »Reflektors John Zorn« ermäßigt sich der Ticketpreis um 30%. Wählen Sie dafür in Ihrem Warenkorb bei jedem Ticket jeweils die Ermäßigung »Zorn Trio-Bonus 30%«. 

Das Trio Simulacrum lässt elektrifizierte Klangmassen in Hochgeschwindigkeit über die Hörer hereinbrechen, in »Holy Visions« verzückt Zorn die Hörer mit Heiligengesängen, in denen sich früheste Musik mit minimalistischen Strukturen mischt. Die Neueste-Musik-Experten vom JACK Quartet führen an zwei Abenden alle seine Streichquartette auf – Solitäre zwischen Heavy Rock und Schönberg, Punk und Filmmusik-Groteske.

Stephen Gosling fächert das irisierende Klang-Kaleidoskop der »Turner Études« für Klavier solo auf. Die Star-Sopranistin Barbara Hannigan widmet sich Zorns Liedschaffen ebenso wie Petra Haden, Widmungsträgerin seiner an Americana gemahnenden »Songs for Petra«.

Hypervirtuosenmusik wird im Quartett Chaos Magick zelebriert, während kleinere Besetzungen wie das Gnostic Trio geradezu Idyllisches auf Harfe, Gitarre und Vibrafon fabrizieren. Zorn selbst spielt solo auf der Orgel im Großen Saal, und als Saxofonist ist er in drei Variationen seiner legendären Kerntruppe Masada zu erleben.

Das Begleitprogramm des Festivals

Aus der Mediathek : Videos, Podcasts, Artikel

»John Zorn hat meine Welt auf den Kopf gestellt«

Die Musikerinnen und Musiker des »Reflektor John Zorn« erzählen von ihrer Zusammenarbeit mit dem außergewöhnlichen Künstler sowie von ihrer Liebe zu seiner Musik.

»John Zorn hat immer eine sehr klare Vorstellung«

Über John Zorn und seine Musik: ein Interview mit dem Hamburger Zorn-Experten Axel Zielke.

John Zorn: Herr der Wandlungen

Zwischen allen Stühlen der aktuellen Musik bleibt sich John Zorn in einem treu: dem immerwährenden Wandel.