Video on demand from 11 Apr 2020
available until 11 Apr 2025

Elphi at Home: Majid Derakhshani

A master of classic Persian music as a concert stream.

Majid Derakhshani and the singer Alireza Ghorbani and his ensemble were scheduled to perform Persian love songs at the Easter festival »Silk Road«. After the festival had to be cancelled, he can however be heard in a concert stream broadcast from the empty Elbphilharmonie. Derakhshani plays the long-necked flute known as the tar, and is accompanied by Saeid Zamani on the santur.

The »Elphi at Home« series was born in spring 2020. When the concert halls were closed to the public, the Elbphilharmonie invited artists to stream concerts live from the Elbphilharmonie.

The Artist :Majid Derakhshani

Majid Derakhshani was born in 1957 in the north Iranian province of Sangesar, and is one of his country's most important musicians. He studied art, stringed instruments and composition in Teheran, and has made more than 34 albums; he has also played at major festivals outside Iran. He was the founder of the internationally successful Shahnaz Ensemble, and of a centre for Persian music in Cologne. Derakhshani bears the venerable title »Ostad«, denoting him as a master of his instrument. In his compositions he concentrates on the cultivation of classic Persian music, which he mixes at the same time with European influences. As he has been banned from entering Iran or working there owing to his cooperation with female musicians, who are not allowed to appear in public in the country, Derakhshani has since settled in Hamburg.

Majid Derakhshani & Saeid Zamani
Majid Derakhshani in der Elbphilharmonie © Ann-Paulin Steigerwald

The Music

Classic Persian music sparkles at the centre of the Silk Road like a great treasure chest. It has been based for over a thousand years on the so-called »dastgah«, twelve scales with a specific pitch, which are like smaller caskets lying within the treasure chest. And these caskets in turn are packed full of pearls, hundreds of little melodic phrases called »gusheh«. The name given to this great treasure chest of classic Persian music is »radif«.

Anyone who wants to became a master musician or ostad like Majid Derakhshani needs to be thoroughly familiar with the radif in all its sparkling component parts. But the radif is different from conventional treasure chests in that every treasure hunter increases the value and wealth of this great body of music. Taking inspiration from the moment, a musician like Derakhshani makes the gems glow time and again with different facets, polishing them with new embellishments and improvisation, sometimes adding a few pieces of gold that he has minted himself, and crowning everything with virtuosity.

A central feature of this treasure hunt is the path followed: unlike in Western classical music with its almost always clearly defined intervals and linear melodic progressions, the aim here is to savour to the full the winding path leading from one note or idea to the next, and to listen to the space and also the silence between them. This produces elaborate suites in one particular dastgah in each case, which often conclude with a »tasnif«, a type of song.

Majid Derakhshani Majid Derakhshani © Philipp Seliger
Majid Derakhshani & Saeid Zamani Majid Derakhshani & Saeid Zamani © Philipp Seliger
Majid Derakhshani & Saeid Zamani Majid Derakhshani & Saeid Zamani © Philipp Seliger
Majid Derakhshani Majid Derakhshani © Philipp Seliger
Majid Derakhshani
Majid Derakhshani © Ali Bahrami / Sara Sabaghian

The long-necked lute »tar«

The long-necked lute played in Iran (and also in Azerbaijan) was developed some 250 years ago. It has a much more powerful and voluminous sound than the older setar, and unlike the latter is suited for a performance to a larger audience. The soundbox joins two heart shapes to form a figure 8, a form that is often found in Persian architecture. The tar is made of wood from the mulberry tree, with the strings being mounted on a stretched membrane of parchment made of lambskin. It has a range of roughly two-and-a-half octaves produced by six strings of copper or steel, which are played using a plectrum.

Texts: Stefan Franzen / Francois Kremer, last updated: 8 April 2020

More stories

NDR Elbphilharmonie Orchester / Paavo Järvi
Play Video

Video on demand from 27 Nov 2020 : NDR Elbphilharmonie Orchester / Paavo Järvi

The NDR Elbphilharmonie Orchestra plays a purely French programme including works by Francis Poulenc und Maurice Ravel.

Elbphilharmonie Advent calendar

24 little doors to open – one for every day of Advent.

Elbphilharmonie Pop-up Store: The top 10 souvenirs

From a cookie cutter to tableware – there's a present to suit every taste.

Majid Derakhshani
Video on Demand vom 11.4.2020
verfügbar bis 11.4.2025

Elphi at Home: Majid Derakhshani

Ein Meister der klassischen persischen Musik im Konzertstream.

Beim Osterfestival »Seidenstraße« hätte Majid Derakhshani zusammen mit dem Sänger Alireza Ghorbani und seinem Ensemble persische Liebeslieder präsentieren sollen. Nach der Absage des Festivals war er stattdessen im Streamkonzert aus der leeren Elbphilharmonie zu erleben. Derakhshani spielt die Langhalslaute Tar und wird begleitet von Saeid Zamani an der Santur.

Die Reihe »Elphi at Home« entstand im Frühling 2020. Als die Säle fürs Publikum geschlossen wurden, lud die Elbphilharmonie Künstler ein, Live-Konzerte per Stream aus der Elbphilharmonie zu senden.

Der Künstler :Majid Derakhshani

Der 1957 in der nordiranischen Provinz Sangesar geborene Majid Derakhshani gehört zu den bedeutendsten Musikern seines Landes. Er studierte Kunst, Saiteninstrumente und Komposition in Teheran, produzierte über 34 Alben und spielte auch außerhalb des Iran auf großen Festivals. Er gründete das international erfolgreiche Shahnaz Ensemble, außerdem ein Musikzentrum für persische Musik in Köln. Derakhshani trägt den ehrwürdigen Titel »Ostad«, der ihn als Meister seines Instruments auszeichnet. In seinen Kompositionen konzentriert er sich auf die Pflege der klassischen persischen Musik und mischt sie zugleich mit europäischen Einflüssen. Da ihm wegen seiner Zusammenarbeit mit weiblichen Musikerinnen, die im Iran nicht öffentlich auftreten dürfen, ein Einreise- und Berufsverbot erteilt wurde, lebt er mittlerweile in Hamburg.

Majid Derakhshani & Saeid Zamani
Majid Derakhshani in der Elbphilharmonie © Ann-Paulin Steigerwald

Zur Musik

Die klassische persische Musik funkelt im Zentrum der Seidenstraße wie eine große Schatzkiste. Darin liegen seit über 1000 Jahren zwölf kleinere Truhen, Dastgah genannte Skalen mit einer ganz bestimmten Stimmung. Diese Truhen wiederum sind prall gefüllt mit Hunderten von Perlen, kurzen Melodiefloskeln mit Namen Guscheh. Die ganze Schatzkiste dieser klassischen persischen Musik heißt Radif.

Wer ein Meistermusiker (ein Ostad) wie Majid Derakhshani werden möchte, der muss den Radif in all seinen glitzernden Bestandteilen auswendig kennen. Von einer herkömmlichen Schatzkiste unterscheidet der Radif sich jedoch dadurch, dass mit jedem Schatzsucher Wert und Fülle steigen: Aus dem Moment herausschöpfend bringt ein Musiker wie Derakhshani die Schmuckstücke immer wieder anders zum Aufscheinen, poliert sie mit neuen Ideen der Verzierung und Improvisation, fügt auch mal ein paar neue Goldstücke seiner eigenen Prägung hinzu, krönt das alles durch Virtuosität.

Ganz wesentlich ist für diese Schatzsuche auch der Weg: Anders als in der abendländischen Klassik mit ihren fast immer klar definierten Intervallen und linearen Melodiefortschreitungen, geht es hier darum, den gewundenen Weg von einem Ton oder Sinnabschnitt zum anderen auszukosten, dem Raum, auch der Stille zwischen ihnen nachzuhorchen. So ergeben sich kunstvolle Suiten in jeweils einem bestimmen Dastgah, die am Ende oft durch ein Tasnif, ein Lied beendet werden.

Majid Derakhshani & Saeid Zamani Majid Derakhshani & Saeid Zamani © Philipp Seliger
Majid Derakhshani & Saeed Zamani Majid Derakhshani & Saeed Zamani © Philipp Seliger
Majid Derakhshani & Saeid Zamani Majid Derakhshani & Saeid Zamani © Philipp Seliger
Majid Derakhshani Majid Derakhshani © Philipp Seliger
Majid Derakhshani
Majid Derakhshani © Ali Bahrami / Sara Sabaghian

Die Langhalslaute Tar

Die Langhalslaute, die im Iran (darüber hinaus auch in Aserbaidschan) gespielt wird, entwickelte sich vor ca. 250 Jahren. Sie hat einen weitaus kräftigeren, voluminöseren Klang als die ältere Setar und ist im Gegensatz zu ihr für das Spiel vor größerem Publikum geeignet. Der Resonanzkörper vereint zwei Herzen zu einer »8«, eine Form, die sich oft in der persischen Architektur wiederfindet. Die Tar ist aus Maulbeerbaumholz gefertigt, aus Schafhaut die Bespannung der Decke. Ihr Tonumfang beträgt ungefähr zweieinhalb Oktaven über sechs Stahl- oder Kupfersaiten, das Spiel erfolgt auf Bünden und mit Plektrum.

Texte: Stefan Franzen / Francois Kremer, Stand: 8.4.2020

Mediathek : Weitere Beiträge

Song of America: A Celebration of Black Music

Ein Festival, das Musik, Poesie und Geschichten Schwarzer Komponisten, Schriftsteller und Künstler feiert.

A Celebration of Black Music III
Video abspielen

Video on Demand vom 6.6.2021 : A Celebration of Black Music III

Musikfest 2021: Mit Kolleginnen und Kollegen aus seiner Heimat und der Deutschen Kammerphilharmonie Bremen präsentiert Thomas Hampson Lieder und Orchesterwerke afroamerikanischer Komponisten.

Musik: Eine Sucht ohne Nebenwirkungen

Warum bekomme ich von Musik Gänsehaut? Ein Interview mit dem Musikpsychologen Prof. Dr. Reinhard Kopiez über die körperlichen Reaktionen beim Musikhören.