Video on demand from 27 Mar 2020
available until 1 Jan 2025

Elbphilharmonie Sessions: Szymanowski Quartet / Lifits

Mieczysław Weinberg's Piano Quintet op. 18 from the Laeiszhalle Recital Hall.

The Artists

»It’s hard not to fall in love with this quartet«, the New York Times enthuses about the Szymanowski Quartet, which has been based in Hanover for over 20 years. The quartet takes its name from the Polish composer Karol Szymanowski, who is honoured in his native land as a precursor of the modern age. The four musicians have often played together with Michail Lifits. The Uzbekistani pianist relocated to Germany when he was 16, and has since been living in Hanover – how practical! In this session, the cellist Alexey Stadler substitutes for Monika Leskovar.

Performers

Szymanowski Quartet

Agata Szymczewska violin
Robert Kowalski violin
Volodia Mykytka viola

Alexey Stadler violoncello

Michail Lifits piano

Agata Szymczewska, Geigerin im Szymanowski Quartet
Michail Lifits am Flügel
Volodia Mykytka, Bratschist des Szymanowski Quartet
Elbphilharmonie Session im Kleinen Saal der Laeiszhalle
Szymanowski Quartet - Elbphilharmonie Sessions
None

The Music :Mieczysław Weinberg: Piano Quintet op. 18

All five musicians are especially fond of 20th century music, and they are all keen supporters of the works of Eastern European composers. Both these attributes are united in the Polish-Jewish composer Mieczysław Weinberg, who was overshadowed for a long time by his friend and mentor Dmitri Shostakovich. Unjustly so, as the international music scene has recognised in recent years. Weinberg’s music is permeated on the one hand by an immense drive, but on the other it is as fragile as glass, and this also applies to the Piano Quintet, which he wrote during the Second World War.

The Location

The Recital Hall of Hamburg’s Laeiszhalle has an intimate atmosphere that makes it a perfect setting for chamber music recitals. Refurbished after the war, it is one of the few remaining concert halls with authentic fifties design, and can seat up to 640 people.

None

About the series

Artists record exclusive music videos at the Elbphilharmonie and Laeiszhalle for Elbphilharmonie Sessions – sometimes in unusual locations offstage. Discover the concert halls from the inside. Discover what they sound like.

None

Text: Laura Etspüler, Stand: 24.3.2020

More stories

The Elbphilharmonie reopens for the 2020/21 season The Elbphilharmonie reopens for the 2020/21 season

The Elbphilharmonie reopens for the 2020/21 season

At last – concerts again! An uplifting start to the new season – impressions and voices now on video.

Welcome back to the Laeiszhalle! Welcome back to the Laeiszhalle!

Welcome back to the Laeiszhalle!

The neo-baroque concert hall invites visitors to great moments in music again – with Mozart, Beethoven and Vivaldi.

Video on Demand vom 27.3.2020
verfügbar bis 1.1.2025

Elbphilharmonie Sessions: Szymanowski Quartet / Lifits

Mieczysław Weinbergs Klavierquintett op. 18 aus dem Kleinen Saal der Laeiszhalle.

Die Künstler

»Schwer, sich nicht in dieses Quartett zu verlieben«, schwärmt die New York Times vom Szymanowski Quartet, das seit über 20 Jahren in Hannover zu Hause ist. Seinen Namen verdankt es dem polnischen Komponisten Karol Szymanowski, der in seiner Heimat als Vorreiter der Moderne geehrt wird. Mit Michail Lifits haben die vier Musiker schon oft zusammengespielt. Der usbekische Pianist siedelte als 16-Jähriger nach Deutschland über und lebt seitdem ebenfalls in Hannover – wie praktisch! In dieser Session vertritt Alexey Stadler die Cellistin Monika Leskovar.

Besetzung

Szymanowski Quartet

Agata Szymczewska Violine
Robert Kowalski Violine
Volodia Mykytka Viola

Alexey Stadler Violoncello

Michail Lifits Klavier

Agata Szymczewska, Geigerin im Szymanowski Quartet
Michail Lifits am Flügel
Volodia Mykytka, Bratschist des Szymanowski Quartet
Elbphilharmonie Session im Kleinen Saal der Laeiszhalle
Szymanowski Quartet - Elbphilharmonie Sessions
None

Die Musik :Mieczysław Weinberg: Klavierquintett op. 18

Allen fünf Musikern liegt die Musik des 20. Jahrhunderts am Herzen, alle Fünf setzen sich darüber hinaus für die Werke osteuropäischer Komponisten ein. Beides in sich vereinigt der polnisch-jüdische Komponist Mieczysław Weinberg, der lang im Schatten seines Freundes und Mentors Dmitri Schostakowitsch stand. Zu Unrecht, wie die internationale Musikwelt in den vergangenen Jahren erkannte. Der ungeheure Drive seiner Musik einerseits, ihre gläserne Zerbrechlichkeit andererseits durchziehen Weinbergs Werke – und prägen auch das während des Zweiten Weltkriegs entstandene Klavierquintett.

Der Ort

In der intimen Atmosphäre des Kleinen Saales der Hamburger Laeiszhalle lässt sich wunderbar Kammermusik machen. Nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg neu ausgestattet, zählt er zu den wenigen authentisch erhaltenen Konzertsälen im 50er-Jahre-Design und bietet Platz für 640 Besucher.

None

Zur Reihe

Für die Elbphilharmonie Sessions nehmen Künstler exklusive Musikvideos in Elbphilharmonie und Laeiszhalle auf – manchmal auch abseits der Bühnen, an ungewöhnlichen Orten. So sehen die Konzerthäuser von innen aus. Und so klingen sie.

None

Text: Laura Etspüler, Stand: 24.3.2020

Weitere Beiträge

Alexander Arai-Swale spielt »Fury« Alexander Arai-Swale spielt »Fury«

Alexander Arai-Swale spielt »Fury«

Ein junger Musiker, ein Kontrabass, eine Lagerhalle und Musik, in der es um alles geht.

Neustart in die Saison 2020/21 Neustart in die Saison 2020/21

Neustart in die Saison 2020/21

Endlich wieder Konzerte! Ein beglückender Auftakt in die neue Saison – Eindrücke und Stimmen im Video.

Willkommen zurück in der Laeiszhalle! Willkommen zurück in der Laeiszhalle!

Willkommen zurück in der Laeiszhalle!

Der neobarocke Konzertsaal lädt wieder zu musikalischen Sternstunden – mit Mozart, Beethoven und Vivaldi.