Video on demand from 16 Apr 2020
available until 16 Apr 2022

Elphi at Home: Lisa Wulff Trio

The jazz trio led by the Hamburg double-bass player performs music from its new album.

The »Elphi at Home« series was born in spring 2020. When the concert halls were closed to the public, the Elbphilharmonie invited artists to stream concerts live from the Elbphilharmonie.

The Artists

Lisa-Rebecca Wulff was born in Hamburg in 1990, and studied double bass and electric bass in Bremen and Hamburg. In addition to her own bands and projects, she can also be heard regularly in the NDR Big Band, and she tours with artists like Nils Landgren, Christof Lauer, Rolf Kühn, Caecilie Norby and Wolfgang Haffner. In 2019 she won the Hamburg Jazz Prize which is awarded by Jazzbüro Hamburg. The prize is awarded to artists who have made an especially qualified contribution to the Hamburg jazz scene.

Since 2013, Lisa Wulff has been playing with the drummer Silvan Strauß, who has a well-established reputation as a sideman (e.g. with Monica Roscher, Maria Joao) and bandleader (urban academy, Pecco Billo) and with sax player Adrian Hanack (e.g. Meute, we don’t suck we blow), who is always good for a surprise ranging from avant-garde solos to imaginative and airy ballad interpretations. As the Lisa Wulff Quartet they are releasing the album »Beneath The Surface« in April 2020.

The trio

Adrian Hanack saxofone
Lisa Wulff bass
Silvan Strauß drums

Setlist

1. Walking Distance

2. Nightmares and Daydreams

3. Beneath the surface

4. When I took a walk

5. From a donkey’s point of view

6. Wondrous Strange

None
None
None
None
None

Interview :with Lisa Wulff

What is it like, appearing here all on your own?

Lisa Wulff: First of all it feels like a soundcheck: in that case, too, the room is always empty while you're setting up the equipment and checking the acoustics. But normally, you get off the stage, and when you come back, the other people are there. This time, the soundcheck atmosphere stays with you throughout the session, and that's a strange experience. But the little team we're recording with is really nice, and it's actually easier than I thought it would be to get into a concert mood.

 

But there's one moment that is still quite different: the end of the first piece, when there is suddenly no applause. How do you manage to go on with the same level of energy?

That's an odd feeling, it's true. It takes some getting use to that you can't interact with the audience, especially with the kind of improvised music that we play. Improvisation depends a lot on the moment, on the mood in the concert hall. This time, we have to find everything inside ourselves. But we know each other very well and trust each other. That makes it easier to maintain the energy and to say: we're going to go ahead and give a great concert together.

 

What pieces have you brought with you tonight?

We're playing compositions of our own that I wrote for the band. They are nearly all taken from our new album »Beneath the Surface« which we recorded last year in Berlin: it has just been released.

 

How did you go about composing the tracks?

Each piece is composed differently. The groove is generally produced on the double bass, while we create lyrical tracks or ballads on the piano. I often begin a piece and then put it to one side, and a lot of our music gets finished at very short notice, sometimes only the evening before the recording session. The great thing about jazz is that you don't need to fully compose everything. I know that I can give my fellow band members some scope, which they always make better use of than I would have imagined beforehand.

 

Lisa Wulff
Lisa Wulff © Philipp Seliger

The three of you represent Hamburg's dynamic young jazz scene. What do you particularly appreciate about the other members of the band?

We originally met at college here in Hamburg, and we got on like a house on fire from the word go. The other two are both super musicians with a wide range of personal interests and skills. None of us like pigeonholes, and we realise totally different projects. We've been playing together since 2013 and we can work really constructively with lots of mutual respect. But we also tell each other frankly if something is not working well. It's a whole lot of fun playing and touring together, and I hope we'll continue to play as a band for a long time to come.

 

You're enjoying great success at the moment: there's the new album, then you were awarded the Hamburg Jazz Prize a few months ago. Now the Corona crisis has suddenly brought everything to a standstill. That's pretty bad timing for you: how are you dealing with it?

I was totally disappointed that we had to cancel our entire release tour for the new album. This Elphi-at-Home concert is basically our first and only release gig. So it's all the better that we can do it. But it's pretty frustrating: you invest years of work in an album and a tour. It's tough, from a financial point of view too, not knowing what's going to happen now. I'm trying not to let my frustration get the better of me. I'm writing and practising a lot in an attempt to derive something positive from the situation. Luckily we musicians are all in close contact with one another, we phone a lot and really give each other a lot of support. A lot of new things are happening as well.

 

»When the world returns to normal, the first thing I'll do is…«

… visit my parents.

Interview: François Kremer, last updated: 16.4.2020

More stories

Love Letters from London

Anoushka Shankar talks about her »Reflektor« weekend, the London scene and Ravi Shankar's legacy.

Elbphilharmonie Offstage #04 – Kreative Bildung

Wie entsteht Kreativität und wie kann man sie fördern – darüber sprechen wir mit der Pädagogin Kristina Calvert.

NDR Elbphilharmonie Orchester / Esa-Pekka Salonen
Play Video

Video on demand from 20 Oct 2020 : NDR Elbphilharmonie Orchester / Esa-Pekka Salonen

Aus dem großen Saal der Elbphilharmonie: Der finnische Stardirigent und das NDR Elbphilharmonie Orchester mit Werken von Strauss und Ravel.

Video on Demand vom 16.4.2020
verfügbar bis 16.4.2022

Elphi at Home: Lisa Wulff Trio

Das Trio der Hamburger Jazzbassistin spielt Musik vom neuen Album.

Die Reihe »Elphi at Home« entstand im Frühling 2020. Als die Säle fürs Publikum geschlossen wurden, lud die Elbphilharmonie Künstler ein, Live-Konzerte per Stream aus der Elbphilharmonie zu senden.

Die Künstler

Lisa-Rebecca Wulff wurde 1990 in Hamburg geboren und studierte Kontrabass und E-Bass in Bremen und Hamburg. Neben ihren eigenen Bands und Projekten ist sie regelmäßig bei der NDR Bigband zu hören und tourt mit Künstlern wie Nils Landgren, Christof Lauer, Rolf Kühn, Caecilie Norby und Wolfgang Haffner. 2019 gewann sie den vom Jazzbüro Hamburg verliehenen Hamburger Jazzpreis. Mit ihm werden Künstler auszeichnet, die einen besonders qualifizierten künstlerischen Beitrag zur Jazzmusik in Hamburg geleistet haben.

Seit 2013 spielt Lisa Wulff zusammen mit dem Schlagzeuger Silvan Strauß, der als Sideman (u.a. Monica Roscher, Maria Joao) und Bandleader (urban academy, Pecco Billo) längst kein Unbekannter mehr ist und dem Saxofonisten Adrian Hanack (u.A. Meute, we don’t suck we blow), der von avantgardistischen Soli, bis hin zu fantasievoll luftigen Balladeninterpretationen immer für Überraschungen sorgt. Als Lisa Wulff Quartett veröffentlichten sie zusammen im April 2020 das Album »Beneath The Surface«.

Besetzung

Adrian Hanack Saxofon
Lisa Wulff Bass
Silvan Strauß Drums

Setlist

1. Walking Distance

2. Nightmares and Daydreams

3. Beneath the surface

4. When I took a walk

5. From a donkey’s point of view

6. Wondrous Strange

None
None
None
None
None

Interview :mit Lisa Wulff

Wie ist es, so ganz allein hier aufzutreten?

Lisa Wulff: Es fühlt sich erstmal wie ein Soundcheck an, da ist es ja auch immer leer, wenn man aufbaut und die Akustik ausprobiert. Aber normalerweise geht man dann ja nochmal runter von der Bühne – und wenn man wiederkommt, sind Leute da. Diesmal bleibt es bei dieser Soundcheck-Atmosphäre, das ist schon sehr speziell. Aber das kleine Team, mit dem wir aufnehmen, ist super nett. Es klappt besser als ich dachte, in Konzertstimmung zu kommen.

 

Aber ein Moment ist doch ganz anders: nach dem ersten Stück, wenn plötzlich kein Applaus kommt. Wie kann man da mit der gleichen Energie weitermachen?

Ja, das ist merkwürdig. Man ist natürlich daran gewöhnt, mit dem Publikum zu interagieren. Besonders bei improvisierter Musik, wie wir sie spielen. Die lebt viel vom Moment, von der Stimmung im Saal. Diesmal müssen wir alles aus uns selbst herausholen. Aber wir kennen uns sehr gut, es ist viel Vertrauen zwischen uns. Das macht es einfacher, die Energie zu halten und sich zu sagen: Wir ziehen das jetzt durch, wir machen uns hier gemeinsam einen schönen Konzertabend.

 

Welche Stücke habt ihr mitgebracht?

Wir spielen Eigenkompositionen, die ich für die Band geschrieben habe. Sie kommen fast alle von unserem neuen Album »Beneath The Surface«, das wir Ende letzten Jahres in Berlin aufgenommen haben – und das jetzt gerade veröffentlicht wurde.

 

Wie bist du beim Komponieren vorgegangen?

Das Komponieren ist bei jedem Stück unterschiedlich: Der Groove entsteht meist am Bass, eher lyrische Stücke oder Balladen am Klavier. Oft fange ich Sachen an und lege sie dann wieder zur Seite und vieles ist sehr kurzfristig fertig geworden, teils erst am Abend vor der Aufnahme. Das Schöne beim Jazz ist: Man muss gar nicht alles auskomponieren. Ich weiß, dass ich meinen Bandkollegen Raum lassen kann – und dass sie ihn immer noch schöner ausfüllen, als ich es mir im Vorhinein vorstelle.

 

Lisa Wulff Trio
Lisa Wulff Trio © Philipp Seliger

Ihr drei repräsentiert die junge, dynamische Jazzszene Hamburgs. Was schätzt du an deinen Bandkollegen?

Wir haben uns an der Hochschule hier in Hamburg kennengelernt und es hat einfach von Anfang an super funktioniert. Die beiden sind tolle Musiker, total breit gefächert in ihrem persönlichen Interesse und Können. Wir mögen alle keine Schubladen, machen ganz verschiedene Projekte. Wir spielen seit 2013 zusammen und können total konstruktiv arbeiten, voller Respekt. Aber man kann auch offen sagen, wenn mal etwas nicht gut funktioniert. Es ist einfach super schön, gemeinsam zu spielen und zu touren. Ich hoffe, dass wir noch sehr lange zusammenspielen.

 

Du bist als Musikerin gerade sehr erfolgreich: das neue Album, vor einigen Monaten wurdest du mit dem Hamburger Jazzpreis ausgezeichnet… Da kommt so eine Vollbremsung wie jetzt durch die Corona-Krise natürlich mehr als ungelegen. Wie kommst du damit zurecht?

Dass unsere komplette Release-Tour zum neuen Album jetzt ausfällt, hat mich schon sehr runtergezogen. Dieses Elphi-at-Home Konzert ist jetzt quasi unser erstes und einziges Release-Konzert. Umso schöner, dass wir es machen können. Aber es ist schon frustrierend: In so einem Album und einer Tour steckt jahrelange Arbeit. Gar nicht zu wissen, wie es weitergeht, auch finanziell, ist schon hart. Ich versuche, den Frust nicht die Überhand gewinnen zu lassen. Ich schreibe ganz viel und übe und versuche irgendetwas Positives herauszuziehen. Zum Glück stehen wir Musiker alle in engem Kontakt, telefonieren ganz viel, es gibt sehr viel Support untereinander. Da entsteht gerade auch viel Neues.

 

»Wenn die Welt wieder normal ist, werde ich als erstes …«

… meine Eltern besuchen.

Interview: François Kremer, Stand: 16.4.2020

Weitere Beiträge

Love Letters from London

Anoushka Shankar über ihr Reflektor-Wochenende, die Londoner Szene und das Erbe von Ravi Shankar.

NDR Elbphilharmonie Orchester / Esa-Pekka Salonen
Video abspielen

Video on Demand vom 20.10.2020 : NDR Elbphilharmonie Orchester / Esa-Pekka Salonen

Aus dem großen Saal der Elbphilharmonie: Der finnische Stardirigent und das NDR Elbphilharmonie Orchester mit Werken von Strauss und Ravel.

Elbphilharmonie Offstage #04 – Kreative Bildung

Wie entsteht Kreativität und wie kann man sie fördern – darüber sprechen wir mit der Pädagogin Kristina Calvert.