Laeiszhalle A hub for Hamburg’s musical life since 1908: a portrait and history of the Laeiszhalle.

A DISTINGUISHED INSTITUTION

When it comes to music, the Laeiszhalle was the first port of call in Hamburg for more than 100 years. The concert hall (or »music hall«, as it was called until 2004) was opened in 1908 and has a proud history of guest performances by composers such as Richard Strauss, Sergei Prokofiev, Igor Stravinsky and Paul Hindemith, all of whom conducted their own works here. Audiences also enjoyed epoch-making performances by emerging global stars such as a 12-year-old Yehudi Menuhin and a young Vladimir Horowitz, and later by legends such as Maria Callas.

Although the Elbphilharmonie opened in 2017, the Laeiszhalle Grand Hall remains one of Europe’s best philharmonic concert halls. The Symphoniker Hamburg regularly give concerts here as the resident orchestra, and a number of other regional orchestras, choirs and promoters use the hall. World-class pianists such as Grigory Sokolov and Martha Argerich, and singers such as Cecilia Bartoli and Jonas Kaufmann have said they love the hall and its excellent acoustics.
Gradual modernisation work has been ongoing in the hall since 2018 in order to make the Laeiszhalle ready for the future.

The Elbphilharmonie and the Laeiszhalle operate under one general director.

Balthasar-Neumann-Ensemble Balthasar-Neumann-Ensemble © Claudia Höhne
Accademia del Piacere Accademia del Piacere © Daniel Dittus
Workshop zu Orchesterinstrumenten Workshop zu Orchesterinstrumenten © Claudia Höhne
Julia Hülsmann Trio Julia Hülsmann Trio © Daniel Dittus
»ZukunftsMusik« mit David Helbock »ZukunftsMusik« mit David Helbock © Claudia Höhne
Laeiszhalle Main Foyer Laeiszhalle Main Foyer © Thies Raetzke
Gastronomie im Brahms-Foyer der Laeiszhalle Gastronomie im Brahms-Foyer der Laeiszhalle © Thies Raetzke
Shai Maestro Trio Shai Maestro Trio © Daniel Dittus

HARD TO SPELL, EASY TO SAY: LAISS

The concert hall is named after the Hamburg shipowner Carl Heinrich Laeisz (1828–1901). In his will, he decreed that his company F. Laeisz would donate 1.2 million marks to build »a magnificent venue for the performance and enjoyment of fine, serious music«.

His widow Sophie Christine Laeisz raised the figure to 2 million marks and, as the developer, conducted the negotiations with the city authorities. The Laeiszhalle was designed in a neo-Baroque style by the architects Martin Haller and Emil Meerwein, who had previously made a name for themselves with the construction of Hamburg City Hall.

Laeiszhalle
Laeiszhalle © Firma Laeisz

CAREER START FOR A RADIO DJ

The Laeiszhalle miraculously survived the Second World War unscathed. The British occupying forces temporarily used the building as the Broadcasting House for their military radio station British Forces Network. Chris Howland – who became one of the early NDR presenter legends because of his charm and wonderful English accent when speaking German – started his career as a radio DJ here. Besides all things classical, the music hall also became home to beat, rock, pop and jazz over the following decades.

GREAT EMOTIONS IN THE GRAND HALL

Louisa Alder and the Chamber Orchestra of Europe under Robin Ticciati delight with a Mozart concert

None
JAZZ IN THE RECITAL HALL

Pianist Fred Hersch and his trio perform an »Elbphilharmonie Session«

None
GREAT ACOUSTICS FOR CHAMBER MUSIC TOO

The Szymanowski Quartet performs Mieczysław Weinberg’s Piano Quintet Op. 18

None
CLASSICS & CAKE IN THE BRAHMS FOYER

With the »Teatime Classics« series, eating and drinking in the concert hall is expressly allowed!

None

Halls and Spaces in the Laeiszhalle

Laeiszhalle Grand Hall
Laeiszhalle Grand Hall © Thies Rätzke

The Grand Hall

The Laeiszhalle Grand Hall, with its unique glass ceiling and elegant neo-Baroque interior, can accommodate more than 2,000 concertgoers. There are also seats with restricted views in the upper tiers. Integrated into the rear wall of the stage is an organ built by the Beckerath company in 1951. The original organ facade, i.e. the external shell of the instrument, built by the Walcker company in 1908 was retained.

Laeiszhalle Recital Hall © Daniel Dittus

The Recital Hall

The Laeiszhalle Recital Hall is the perfect venue for chamber music, song recitals, children’s concerts and jazz events. After the Second World War it was used for a time as a dance hall, before later being refurnished. In 2009 it was lovingly restored to how it was in 1954. Today, it is one of the few concert halls still boasting authentic 1950s design. It has a capacity of 640.

Studio E

Studio E is a charming little stage with natural daylight and slightly ascending stalls with an encircling balustrade. The room is terraced and offers seating for an audience of 150.

Brahms Foyer

The Brahms Foyer takes its name from the symbolist marble sculpture of Johannes Brahms, which the Leipzig artist Max Klinger created for the Laeiszhalle in 1909. The festive foyer on the first floor is perfect for chamber music concerts, receptions, and film and photo shoots. It is also the culinary centre of the Laeiszhalle.

The Organ

In the Grand Hall you can still see the original facade of the Walcker organ dating back to 1908. In the 1950s, that one was replaced by an organ built according to Baroque principles. That was the first organ built by the now renowned organ-maker Rudolf von Beckerath, who established his organ-building workshop in Hamburg in 1949.

Laeiszhalle Treffpunkt für das Hamburger Musikleben seit 1908: Portrait und Geschichte der Laeiszhalle Hamburg.

Das erste Haus am Platze

Über 100 Jahre lang war die Laeiszhalle in Sachen Musik in Hamburg das erste Haus am Platze. Das Konzerthaus (bis 2004 hieß es schlicht »Musikhalle«) wurde 1908 eröffnet und ist stolz auf Gastspiele von Komponisten wie Richard Strauss, Sergej Prokofjew, Igor Strawinsky oder Paul Hindemith, die hier eigene Werke dirigierten. Nach epochalen Auftritten lag das Publikum angehenden Weltstars wie dem 12-jährigen Yehudi Menuhin oder dem jungen Vladimir Horowitz zu Füßen, später Legenden wie Maria Callas.

Auch nach der Eröffnung der Elbphilharmonie 2017 bleibt der Große Saal der Laeiszhalle einer der besten philharmonischen Konzertsäle Europas. Die Symphoniker Hamburg geben hier als Residenzorchester regelmäßig Konzerte, viele weitere regionale Orchester, Chöre und Veranstalter nutzen das Haus. Auch Pianisten von Weltrang wie Grigory Sokolov und Martha Argerich oder Sänger wie Cecilia Bartoli und Jonas Kaufmann schwören auf den Saal mit seiner exzellenten Akustik.

Seit 2018 finden in den Räumlichkeiten etappenweise Modernisierungsarbeiten statt, um die Laeiszhalle auch technisch fit für die Zukunft zu machen.

Elbphilharmonie und Laeiszhalle werden unter einer gemeinsamen Generalintendanz geführt.

Balthasar-Neumann-Ensemble Balthasar-Neumann-Ensemble © Claudia Höhne
Accademia del Piacere Accademia del Piacere © Daniel Dittus
Workshop zu Orchesterinstrumenten Workshop zu Orchesterinstrumenten © Claudia Höhne
Julia Hülsmann Trio Julia Hülsmann Trio © Daniel Dittus
»ZukunftsMusik« mit David Helbock »ZukunftsMusik« mit David Helbock © Claudia Höhne
Laeiszhalle Foyer Laeiszhalle Foyer © Thies Rätzke
Gastronomie im Brahms-Foyer der Laeiszhalle Gastronomie im Brahms-Foyer der Laeiszhalle © Thies Raetzke
Shai Maestro Trio Shai Maestro Trio © Daniel Dittus

Komplizierte Schreibweise, einfache Aussprache: Laiß

Namensgeber des Hauses ist der Hamburger Reeder Carl Heinrich Laeisz (1828–1901). Er hatte testamentarisch verfügt, dass seine Firma F. Laeisz den Betrag von 1,2 Millionen Mark stiften und damit den Bau »einer würdigen Stätte für die Ausübung und den Genuss edler und ernster Musik« ermöglichen solle.

Seine Witwe Sophie Christine Laeisz stockte die Summe auf zwei Millionen Mark auf und führte als Bauherrin die Verhandlungen mit der Stadt. Entworfen wurde die Laeiszhalle in neobarockem Stil von den Architekten Martin Haller und Emil Meerwein, die sich unter anderem mit dem Bau des Hamburger Rathauses einen hervorragenden Namen gemacht hatten.

Laeiszhalle
Laeiszhalle © Firma Laeisz

Karrierestart für einen Radio-DJ

Wie durch ein Wunder überstand die Laeiszhalle den Zweiten Weltkrieg unversehrt. Die britischen Besatzer nutzten das Gebäude vorübergehend als »Broadcasting House« für ihren Militärsender BFN. Chris Howland – wegen seines Charmes und seines schönen englischen Akzents im Deutschen eine der frühen Moderatorenlegenden des NDR – startete hier als Radio-DJ seine Karriere. Beat, Rock, Pop und Jazz fanden in den folgenden Jahrzehnten in der Musikhalle ebenso ihr Zuhause wie alles, was in der Klassik Rang und Namen hatte.

Große Gefühle im Großen Saal

Louisa Alder und das Chamber Orchestra of Europe unter Robin Ticciati begeistern mit einem Mozart-Abend

None
Jazz im Kleinen Saal

Pianist Fred Hersch spielt mit seinem Trio eine »Elbphilharmonie Session«

None
Beste Akustik auch für Kammermusik

Das Szymanowski Quartet spielt Mieczysław Weinbergs Klavierquintet Op. 18

None
Klassik & Kuchen im Brahms-Foyer

Bei der Reihe »Teatime Classics« sind Essen und Trinken im Konzertsaal ausdrücklich erlaubt!

None

Die Säle der Laeiszhalle

Laeiszhalle Großer Saal
Laeiszhalle Großer Saal © Thies Rätzke

Der Große Saal

Der Große Saal der Laeiszhalle mit seiner einzigartigen Glasdecke und seinem prächtigen neobarocken Interieur fasst über 2.000 Besucher. In den oberen Rängen gibt es auch Plätze mit eingeschränkten Sichtbedingungen. An der Rückwand der Bühne befindet sich die 1951 von der Firma Beckerath erbaute Orgel. Der Orgelprospekt, also die äußere Hülle des Instruments, blieb von der 1908 erbauten Originalorgel der Firma Walcker erhalten.

Laeiszhalle Kleiner Saal © Daniel Dittus

Der Kleine Saal

Der Kleine Saal der Laeiszhalle ist der ideale Ort für Kammermusik, Liederabende, Kinderkonzerte und Jazzevents. Nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg diente er eine Zeitlang als Tanzsaal, wurde dann neu ausgestattet und im Jahr 2009 liebevoll wieder in den Zustand des Jahres 1954 zurückversetzt. Heute zählt er zu den wenigen authentisch erhaltenen Konzertsälen im 50er-Jahre-Design. Er bietet Platz für 640 Besucher.

Studio E

Das Studio E ist eine charmante kleine Bühne mit direktem Tageslichteinfall sowie leicht ansteigendem Parkett und einer umlaufenden Balustrade. Der Raum ist terrassenförmig angelegt und bietet 150 Zuschauern Platz.

Brahms-Foyer

Das Brahms-Foyer verdankt seinen Namen der symbolistischen Marmorplastik von Johannes Brahms, die der Leipziger Künstler Max Klinger 1909 für die Laeiszhalle schuf. Das festliche Foyer im 1. Rang eignet sich für Kammermusikkonzerte, Empfänge, Film- und Fotoshootings. Zugleich ist es das gastronomische Zentrum der Laeiszhalle.

Die Orgel

Im Großen Saal befindet sich der originale Orgelprospekt, das heißt, die äußere Hülle der ursprünglichen Walcker-Orgel von 1908. In den 50er Jahren wurde diese Orgel durch eine nach den Prinzipien der Barockorgeln erbaute Orgel ersetzt. Sie war das Erstwerk des heute renommierten Orgelbauers Rudolf von Beckerath, der 1949 seine Orgelwerkstatt in Hamburg gegründet hatte.