Martha Argerich / Symphoniker Hamburg

The world-famous pianist and the orchestra that she enjoys a close connection with present works by Ravel and Beethoven. On the conductor's rostrum: Sylvain Cambreling. Video from 19 Feb 2021.

She has maintained a close relationship with the Symphoniker Hamburg for some years now, and Martha Argerich regularly returns to her beloved Laeiszhalle. Despite the current situation, she makes sure to enjoy a digital reunion with her fans: together with the orchestra under its chief conductor Sylvain Cambreling, she presents a programme full of musical highlights. Maurice Ravel’s subtle »Le tombeau de Couperin« is followed by Beethoven’s boisterous and parodistic Eighth Symphony, before we return to Ravel and his Piano Concerto permeated by jazz harmonies.

Dieses Online-Konzert ist eine Veranstaltung der Symphoniker Hamburg. Die Interviews mit Martha Argerich und Kultursenator Dr. Carsten Brosda in voller Länge sowie viele andere Symphoniker-Konzertfilme finden Sie auf symphonikerhamburg.de.

»Her performances are at once thunderous and skilful, transcendent and human.«

The Economist

Performers

Symphoniker Hamburg
Martha Argerich piano
conductor Sylvain Cambreling

Programme

Maurice Ravel (1875–1937)
Le tombeau de Couperin (1917)

Ludwig van Beethoven (1770–1827)
Symphony No. 8 in F major, Op. 93 (1811/1812)

Maurice Ravel 
Piano Concerto in G major (1932)

Martha Argerich Martha Argerich © Daniel Dittus
Sylvain Cambreling Sylvain Cambreling © Martin Siegmund
Symphoniker Hamburg & Sylvain Cambreling Symphoniker Hamburg & Sylvain Cambreling © J. Konrad Schmidt

The Music

The concert begins and ends with one of Martha Argerich’s favourite composers, Maurice Ravel. In  the wake of the First World War, the French composer dedicated the individual movements of his piano suite »Le tombeau de Couperin« to his fallen comrades. The G major concerto, by way of contrast, is a thoroughly exciting example of 1920s music, which mixes Spanish sounds with elements of jazz.

What happens when music falls into a crisis of its own making is illustrated by Ludwig van Beethoven’s Eighth Symphony. Before he wrote his groundbreaking Ninth, Beethoven deliberately drove the symphony genre straight into a wall. His Eighth can be understood as the climax of his symphonic oeuvre so far – or as a parody of the same. The result is wild and boisterous, cheekily flouting established conventions.

The Laeiszhalle :The neo-baroque jewel of Hamburg

Laeiszhalle Brahms Foyer
Laeiszhalle Brahms Foyer © Thies Rätzke

Have a look

It has survived two world wars, and has welcomed numerous legendary musicians: the Laeiszhalle has been a fixed point in Hamburg's musical landscape for over a century now. Our guides give you a tour of the building, complete with velvet, stucco and architectural highlights, in a series of short videos.

Maria Callas
Maria Callas

Unusual Stories from the Laeiszhalle

Maria Callas, Meat Loaf's Harley and a shiny behind: Ten of the most entertaining stories about Hamburg's venerable concert hall.

More stories

Ensemble Resonanz: Concertos und Caprices

An Italian programme in the Recital Hall: a concert stream with Riccardo Minasi and violin virtuoso Ilya Gringolts. Available from 26 February 2021, 19:30.

Departure for Planet Globokar

Adventurous experiments in the musical laboratory: a journey of discovery for children aged 6 and over. Available from 27 February 2021, 11.

Play Video

: Deichkind: Sounds of Elbphilharmonie

For Fynn Kliemann’s online series »Sounds Of«, the Hamburg band has knocked up a new song – featuring sounds from the Elbphilharmonie.

Martha Argerich / Symphoniker Hamburg

Die weltbekannte Pianistin und das Orchester der Laeiszhalle präsentieren Werke von Ravel und Beethoven. Am Pult: Sylvain Cambreling. Video vom 19. Februar 2021.

Seit einigen Jahren ist sie den Symphonikern Hamburg in enger Freundschaft verbunden: Martha Argerich kehrt regelmäßig in ihre geliebte Laeiszhalle zurück. Auch in der aktuellen Situation beschert sie sich selbst und ihren Fans ein digitales Wiedersehen: Gemeinsam mit dem Orchester unter Chefdirigent Sylvain Cambreling präsentiert sie ein Programm voll musikalischer Highlights. Auf Maurice Ravels feinsinniges »Le tombeau de Couperin« folgt Ludwig van Beethovens ausgelassen-parodistische Achte Sinfonie, bevor die Reise zurück zu Ravel und seinem von Jazzharmonien durchzogenen Klavierkonzert führt.

Dieses Online-Konzert ist eine Veranstaltung der Symphoniker Hamburg. Die Interviews mit Martha Argerich und Kultursenator Dr. Carsten Brosda in voller Länge sowie viele andere Symphoniker-Konzertfilme finden Sie auf symphonikerhamburg.de.

»Ihre Interpretationen sind stürmisch und zugleich raffiniert, übersinnlich und menschlich.«

The Economist

Besetzung

Symphoniker Hamburg
Martha Argerich Klavier
Dirigent Sylvain Cambreling

Programm

Maurice Ravel (1875–1937)
Le tombeau de Couperin (1917)

Ludwig van Beethoven (1770–1827)
Sinfonie Nr. 8 F-Dur op. 93 (1811/1812)

Maurice Ravel 
Klavierkonzert Nr. 1 G-Dur (1932)

Martha Argerich Martha Argerich © Daniel Dittus
Sylvain Cambreling Sylvain Cambreling © Martin Siegmund
Symphoniker Hamburg & Sylvain Cambreling Symphoniker Hamburg & Sylvain Cambreling © J. Konrad Schmidt

Die Musik

Das Konzert beginnt und endet mit einem von Martha Argerichs Lieblingskomponisten, mit Maurice Ravel. Nach dem Ersten Weltkrieg widmete der Franzose die einzelnen Sätze seiner Klaviersuite »Le tombeau de Couperin« seinen gefallenen Kameraden. Ein überaus spannendes Zeugnis der Musik der Zwanziger Jahre liefert dagegen das G-Dur-Konzert, das spanische Klänge mit Jazzelementen vermischt.

Was passiert, wenn Musik aus sich selbst heraus in eine Krise gerät, illustriert Ludwig van Beethovens Achte Sinfonie. Bevor er seine grundstürzende Neunte zu Papier brachte, ließ er die Gattung noch einmal mutwillig gegen die Wand fahren. Diese Achte lässt sich wahlweise als Höhepunkt des bisherigen sinfonischen Schaffens verstehen – oder als Parodie desselben. Das Ergebnis steckt voll wilder Ausgelassenheit und einer frechen Missachtung des Hergebrachten.

Die Laeiszhalle :Das neobarocke Schmuckstück Hamburgs

Laeiszhalle Brahms-Foyer
Laeiszhalle Brahms-Foyer © Thies Rätzke

So sieht die Laeiszhalle aus

Sie hat zwei Weltkriege überstanden und legendäre Musiker beherbergt: Seit über 100 Jahren ist die Laeiszhalle ein Fixpunkt der Hamburger Musiklebens. Durch Samt, Stuck und die architektonischen Highlights des Hauses führen unsere Guides in kurzen Videos.

Maria Callas
Maria Callas

Kurioses aus der Laeiszhalle

Maria Callas, Meat Loafs Harley und ein glänzendes Hinterteil: zehn der schönsten Geschichten rund um das altehrwürdige Konzerthaus.

Weitere Beiträge

Ensemble Resonanz: Concerti und Capricen

Italienisches Programm im Kleinen Saal – Konzert-Stream mit Riccardo Minasi und dem Geigenvirtuosen Ilya Gringolts. Verfügbar ab 26. Februar 2021, 19:30 Uhr.

Aufbruch zum Planeten Globokar

Abenteuerliche Experimente im musikalischen Labor: Eine Entdeckungsreise für Kinder ab 6 Jahren. Verfügbar ab 27. Februar 2021, 11 Uhr.

Video abspielen

: Deichkind: Sounds of Elbphilharmonie

Für Fynn Kliemanns Funk-Format »Sounds Of« bastelt die Hamburger Band einen neuen Song – mit Geräuschen aus der Elbphilharmonie.