Happy Birthday, Beethoven!

A musical birthday card to mark the 250th anniversary of Beethoven's birth: Tabea Zimmermann, Daniel Sepec and Jean-Guihen Queyras play one of the composer's early trios.

»It's always exciting to take a new look at Beethoven's music. There is so much inspiration to be found there!«, viola player Tabea Zimmermann enthuses about the composer, who celebrated his big anniversary season in 2020. Together with her chamber-music partners of many years' standing, Daniel Sepec and Jean-Guihen Queyras, she recorded Beethoven's String Trio no. 1 in the Elbphilharmonie Recital Hall to mark the occasion.

Tabea Zimmermann, Daniel Sepec und Jean-Guihen Queyras mit Beethovens Streichtrio Nr. 1

None
© Philipp Seliger

The Artists

The marvellous viola player Tabea Zimmermann garners great recognition all over the world for the untiring enthusiasm with which she communicates her insight into the works and her love of music to her audiences. She is one of the top interpreters of our time, and was awarded the prestigious Ernst von Siemens Music Prize in January 2020. Ms Zimmermann, who originally hails from the Black Forest area, has had a lot to do with Beethoven in recent years: from 2013 to 2020 she was president of the Beethoven Haus Society in Bonn, and thus artistic director of that city's Beethoven Festival. She attracted international attention with her successful activities in Bonn, and was appointed an honorary member of the society at the end of her term of office. A highlight of her preoccupation with Beethoven were the recordings she made on Beethoven's viola. After more than a century when no-one had played the instrument, Zimmermann »kissed it back to life« for modern ears and eyes with works written by Beethoven and by two of his contemporaries.

»The Beethoven string trios have been my regular companions for a long time: I played in a trio with my sisters for 15 years, and we played the early Beethoven trios over and over.«

Tabea Zimmermann

Zimmermann's partners Daniel Sepec and Jean-Guihen Queyras are both world-class musicians in their own right, at home at the world's leading concert venues. They have been appearing regularly as a trio for many years: their latest recitals with the Beethoven string trios were at London's Wigmore Hall, in Essen and at the Schwetzingen Festival. The three exceptional musicians have maintained a close relationship for many years now, and in 2002 they joined forces with violinist Antje Weithaas to form the successful Arcanto Quartet.

Die drei Künstler im Podcast-Gespräch mit unserem Pressesprecher Tom R. Schulz

»We also play quartets together. My history with Tabea goes back as far as the 1980s, when we both played in the German Youth Orchestra! We represent a mixture of fellow musicians and good friends – it's really a musical friendship for life.«

Daniel Sepec

Programme

Ludwig van Beethoven (1770–1827)
String Trio Es-Dur op. 3 (1794/1795)

Allegro con Brio
Andante
Menuetto. Allegretto – Trio
Adagio
Menuetto. Allegretto – Minore
Finale. Allegro

»You can hear Beethoven tinkering. He combines the instruments differently and turns them around time after time. And in the process, he develops something completely new.«

Jean-Guihen Queyras

Gespräch mit den Künstlern

None

The Music

»I have become one of Mozart's greatest admirers, and I shall remain one till I breathe my last.«

Beethoven, 1827

All good things come in threes – violin, viola and cello. That's probably what Mozart thought in 1788 when he wrote the first, pioneering string trio. And even if this line-up was never to become as prominent as the string quartet, Mozart broke the ground for a new genre that was subsequently taken up by Beethoven and Schubert. The young Beethoven was a great Mozart fan, and the Mozart string trio inspired him to write a string trio of his own. Beethoven's Trio in E flat is probably the first piece he wrote after he moved from Bonn to Vienna – a promising first step on the way to his unprecedented career in the Austrian capital.

The string trio genre remained a love of Beethoven's youth. He composed a total of five works for the combination of three strings, all of them in the 1790s. In other words, the trios were all written before the First Symphony. But that doesn't mean that they constituted a kind of training camp for the big league of the symphonies. On the contrary: even if there are a few echoes of Mozart in his first trio (Beethoven adopted both the key and the many movements from the Mozart trio), there is already evidence of Beethoven's own, innovative style. The first movement opens with a short and succinct motif that turns into a kind of motto for the whole movement – an idea that the composer later evolved to the full with the famous »knocking motif« in the Fifth Symphony. By way of contrast, the economical second movement sounds like a draft for the slow movement of the First Symphony or the adagio of his String Quartet No. 6.

Christmas with the Beethovens
Of course, Beethoven not only celebrated his birthday, but also Christmas. How the famous composer spent Christmas Eve as a child is told by his neighbor and childhood friend Gottfried Fischer.

None © Philipp Seliger
Tabea Zimmermann Tabea Zimmermann © Philipp Seliger
Daniel Sepec Daniel Sepec © Philipp Seliger
Jean-Guihen Queyras Jean-Guihen Queyras © Philipp Seliger
None © Philipp Seliger

More stories

Elbphilharmonie Sessions: Elbtonal Percussion
Play Video

Video on demand from 15 Jan 2021 : Elbphilharmonie Sessions: Elbtonal Percussion

They’ve got their sticks ready and are raring to go: Elbtonal Percussion is making the best of the hard lockdown and heading to the Elbphilharmonie – with (almost) boundless possibilities!

Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra / Mariss Jansons
Play Video

Video on demand from 13 Jan 2018 : Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra / Mariss Jansons

In remembrance of a legendary conductor: Mariss Jansons plays Strauss and Prokofiev.

Elbphilharmonie Kopfhörer #04 – The World of Instruments

The Elbphilharmonie podcast for young people aged 8 and upwards.

Happy Birthday, Beethoven!

Ein musikalischer Gruß zum 250. Geburtstag: Tabea Zimmermann, Daniel Sepec und Jean-Guihen Queyras spielen ein frühes Trio des Komponisten.

»Es ist immer wieder spannend, Beethovens Werke nochmal neu anzuschauen. Sie geben einem so viele Impulse!«, schwärmt die Bratschistin Tabea Zimmermann über den Komponisten, der 2020 seine große Jubiläums-Saison feierte. Gemeinsam mit ihren langjährigen Kammermusik-Partnern Daniel Sepec und Jean-Guihen Queyras hat sie zur Feier dieses Geburtstags Beethovens erstes Streichtrio im Kleinen Saal der Elbphilharmonie aufgenommen.

Tabea Zimmermann, Daniel Sepec und Jean-Guihen Queyras mit Beethovens Streichtrio Nr. 1

None
© Philipp Seliger

Die Künstler

Die Wunder-Bratschistin Tabea Zimmermann erhält weltweit größte Anerkennung für ihren unermüdlichen Enthusiasmus, mit dem sie ihrem Publikum ihr Verständnis der Werke und ihre Liebe zur Musik vermittelt. Sie gehört zu den renommiertesten Interpreten unserer Zeit und wurde im Januar 2020 mit dem prestigeträchtigen Ernst von Siemens Musikpreis ausgezeichnet. Mit Beethoven hatte die gebürtige Schwarzwälderin in den letzten Jahren besonders viel zu tun, denn von 2013 bis 2020 war sie die Präsidentin des Vereins vom Beethoven-Hauses Bonn und damit auch Künstlerische Leiterin der Beethoven-Woche. Mit ihren Erfolgen in Bonn erregte sie große internationale Aufmerksamkeit und wurde zum Ende ihrer Amtszeit als Ehrenmitglied des Vereins gerühmt. Einen besonderen Höhepunkt ihrer Auseinandersetzung mit Beethoven waren ihre Einspielungen auf Beethovens Bratsche. Nach mehr als 100 Jahren hat Zimmermann sie mit Werken von Beethoven und zwei seiner Zeitgenossen für die Ohren und Augen der Gegenwart »wachgeküsst«.

»Beethovens Streichtrios begleiten mich schon lange: Ich habe 15 Jahre Trio mit meinen Schwestern gespielt, da gab es die frühen Beethoven-Trios rauf und runter.«

Tabea Zimmermann

Zimmermanns musikalische Partner Daniel Sepec und Jean-Guihen Queyras sind beide selbst Musiker von Weltrang, die international auf den wichtigsten Bühnen zuhause sind. Als Trio treten sie seit vielen Jahren regelmäßig gemeinsam auf, mit Beethovens Streichtrios zuletzt in der Londoner Wigmore Hall, in Essen und bei den Schwetzinger Festspielen. Die drei Ausnahmemusiker sind seit Jahrzehnten eng verbunden und gründeten 2002 gemeinsam mit der Geigerin Antje Weithaas das erfolgreiche Arcanto Quartett.

Die drei Künstler im Podcast-Gespräch mit unserem Pressesprecher Tom R. Schulz

»Wir spielen alle auch gemeinsam Quartett. Mit Tabea war ich sogar schon im Bundesjugendorchester, in den 80er Jahren! Wir sind eine Mischung aus Musikern und guten Freunden – eigentlich eine musikalische Lebensfreundschaft.«

Daniel Sepec

Das Programm

Ludwig van Beethoven (1770–1827)
Streichtrio Es-Dur op. 3 (1794/1795)

Allegro con Brio
Andante
Menuetto. Allegretto – Trio
Adagio
Menuetto. Allegretto – Minore
Finale. Allegro

 

»Man merkt, wie er bastelt. Er kombiniert und dreht die Instrumente immer wieder anders – wie drei Legosteine. Und dabei entwickelt er etwas ganz Neues.«

Jean-Guihen Queyras

Gespräch mit den Künstlern

None

Zur Musik

»Ich habe mich zu den größten Verehrern Mozarts gerechnet und werde es auch bleiben bis zum letzten Lebenshauch.«

Beethoven, 1827

Aller guten Dinge sind drei – Geige, Bratsche, Cello. Das dachte sich Mozart wohl, als er 1788 das erste wegweisende Streichtrio (Divertimento in Es-Dur KV 563) komponierte. Auch wenn diese Besetzung nie so prominent wie das Streichquartett werden sollte, bereitete Mozart damit einer neuen Gattung den Weg, die auch seine berühmten Nachfolger wie Beethoven und Schubert weiter beschäftigte. Denn der junge Beethoven war ein großer Mozart-Fan und hat sich wohl vor allem von dessen Streichtrio zu einer eigenen Komposition für diese Besetzung inspirieren lassen. Beethovens Trio in Es-Dur ist wahrscheinlich das erste Stück, dass er nach seinem Umzug von Bonn nach Wien komponierte – ein vielversprechender erster Schritt auf dem Weg seiner beispiellosen Karriere in der österreichischen Hauptstadt.

Die Gattung des Streichtrios blieb für Beethoven eine Art Jugendliebe. Insgesamt komponierte er fünf Werke für das Dreiergespann, sämtlich in den 1790er Jahren. Die Trios sind also alle noch vor der Ersten Sinfonie entstanden. Das heißt allerdings nicht, dass sie nur ein Trainingslager für die ganz große Liga der sinfonischen Werke sind. Im Gegenteil: Auch wenn in seinem ersten Trio einiges noch ein bisschen nach Mozart klingt (auch die Tonart und die vielen Sätze übernahm er von dessen Trio), tritt doch an vielen Stellen schon der eigenständige und innovative Beethoven-Stil ans Licht. Der erste Satz beginnt mit einem kurzen und prägnanten Motiv, das zu einer Art Motto für den ganzen Satz wird – eine kompositorische Idee, die spätestens in der Fünften Sinfonie mit dem berühmten Klopfmotiv zur vollen Entfaltung kommt. Der sparsame zweite Satz hingegen klingt wie ein Entwurf für den langsamen Satz seiner Ersten Sinfonie oder das Adagio seines Streichquartetts Nr. 6.

Weihnachten bei den Beethovens
Natürlich feierte Beethoven nicht nur Geburtstag, sondern auch Weihnachten. Wie der berühmte Komponist als Kind Heiligabend verbrachte, berichtet sein Nachbar und Kindheitsfreund Gottfried Fischer.

None © Philipp Seliger
Tabea Zimmermann Tabea Zimmermann © Philipp Seliger
Daniel Sepec Daniel Sepec © Philipp Seliger
Jean-Guihen Queyras Jean-Guihen Queyras © Philipp Seliger
None © Philipp Seliger

Weitere Beiträge

Elbphilharmonie Sessions: Elbtonal Percussion
Video abspielen

Video on Demand vom 15.1.2021 : Elbphilharmonie Sessions: Elbtonal Percussion

Die Sticks sind dabei und es juckt in den Fingern: Elbtonal Percussion nutzt den Lockdown und macht sich auf den Weg zur Elbphilharmonie – mit (fast) grenzenlosen Möglichkeiten!

Elbphilharmonie Kopfhörer #04 – Die Instrumentenwelt

Der Podcast für junge Leute – diesmal auf Jagd nach Instrumenten in der Elbphilharmonie.

Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks / Mariss Jansons
Video abspielen

Video on Demand vom 13.1.2018 : Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks / Mariss Jansons

Im Gedenken an einen legendären Dirigenten: Mariss Jansons mit Strauss und Prokofjew.