Reflektor Anoushka Shankar

It certainly wasn't and isn't always easy having the country's most famous musician as a father. But Anoushka Shankar, the daughter of legendary sitar virtuoso, composer, teacher and cultural ambassador Ravi Shankar, carries on her father's legacy in her own remarkable way. At the »Reflektor«, Anoushka Shankar chooses the programme in the Elbphilharmonie over the space of four days. Among the guests are artists from very different genres who have accompanied her for many years, with programmes ranging from a British-Indian silent film with live music through Indo-jazz fusion to a tribute concert for Ravi Shankar, who would have celebrated his 100th birthday in 2020. The »Reflektor« programme is rounded off by additional concerts and late-night events.

As one of today's best sitar players, Anoushka Shankar carries the traditional sounds of the Indian subcontinent out into the world. But with the same commitment, the cosmopolitan artist, who has been nominated for a Grammy no fewer than six times, seeks an exchange with other musicians from distant cultures and styles.

She appears with orchestras like the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra as much as with American DJs and British folk musicians, she has been in the studio with George Harrison, Sting and her half-sister Norah Jones, and she has initiated breathtaking encounters between Indian classical music and flamenco, jazz, pop, film music and electronica. And every one of her recordings bears witness to her personal creed: »I have great respect for every culture, so I don't want to use any of them just as an ornament for my own music«.

Gefördert durch die Stiftung Elbphilharmonie

  • Elbphilharmonie Hamburg Kleiner Saal

    Film mit Livemusik: Shiraz

    Reflektor Anouska Shankar

    Tickets currently not available
  • Elbphilharmonie Hamburg Kleiner Saal

    Soumik Datta »Jangal«

    Reflektor Anoushka Shankar

    Tickets currently not available
  • Elbphilharmonie Hamburg Großer Saal

    Sarathy Korwar & Upaj Collective

    Reflektor Anoushka Shankar / Around the World

    Tickets currently not available
  • Elbphilharmonie Hamburg Kleiner Saal

    Aruna Sairam

    Reflektor Anouska Shankar / Klassik der Welt

    Tickets currently not available
  • Elbphilharmonie Hamburg Großer Saal

    Ravi Shankar Centenary Concert

    Reflektor Anoushka Shankar

    Tickets currently not available
  • Elbphilharmonie Hamburg Kleiner Saal

    Indrani Mukherjee »Morning Ragas«

    Reflektor Anoushka Shankar

    Tickets currently not available
  • Elbphilharmonie Hamburg Kleiner Saal

    Mythili Prakash »Here and Now«

    Reflektor Anoushka Shankar

    Tickets currently not available
  • Elbphilharmonie Hamburg Großer Saal

    Love Letters

    Reflektor Anoushka Shankar

    Tickets currently not available

Reflektor Anoushka Shankar

Den berühmtesten Musiker des Landes zum Vater zu haben, war und ist sicher nicht immer leicht. Doch Anoushka Shankar, Tochter des legendären Sitar-Virtuosen, Komponisten, Pädagogen und Kulturbotschafters Ravi Shankar, setzt das Erbe ihres Vaters auf ihre eigene, bemerkenswerte Weise fort. Beim »Reflektor« gestaltet Anoushka Shankar über vier Tage das Programm in der Elbphilharmonie. Zu Gast sind langjährige Weggefährten und Musiker aus ganz verschiedenen Genres – vom britisch-indischen Stummfilm mit Livemusik über Indo-Jazz-Fusion bis zum Tribute-Abend für Ravi Shankar, der 2020 hundert Jahre alt geworden wäre. Weitere Konzerte und Late-Nights runden das Programm ab.

Als eine der besten Sitar- Spielerinnen trägt sie die traditionellen Klänge des Subkontinents in die Welt. Mit gleicher Hingabe aber sucht die sechsfach Grammy-nominierte Kosmopolitin den Austausch mit Musikern aus weit entfernten Kulturen und Stilen.

Sie tritt mit Orchestern wie den Berliner Philharmonikern ebenso auf wie mit amerikanischen DJs und britischen Folk-Musikern, stand mit George Harrison, Sting und ihrer Halbschwester Norah Jones im Studio, initiierte atemraubende Begegnungen von indischer Klassik und Flamenco, Jazz, Pop, Filmmusik und Electronica. Dabei spricht ihr persönliches Credo aus jeder einzelnen Aufnahme: »Ich habe vor jeder Kultur einen großen Respekt, daher will ich keine von ihnen einfach als Verzierung für meine eigene Musik benutzen«.

Gefördert durch die Stiftung Elbphilharmonie