Paavo Järvi
Video on demand from 8 May 2021
available until 31 Dec 2031

Paavo Järvi & NDR Elbphilharmonie Orchestra

2021 festival: The Estonian star conductor and the orchestra present Tchaikovsky’s highly Romantic string serenade together with the rarely-heard Second Symphony by Carl Nielsen.

A reunion with maestro Järvi: the Hamburg International Music Festival 2021 brings the busy Estonian conductor back to Hamburg for one of his popular guest appearances here. The programme opens with Tchaikovsky’s String Serenade, which the professed Mozart-lover wrote »from the heart« in 1880. It is followed by Carl Nielsen’s Second Symphony, which is nothing if not emotional: the four movements represent the four human temperaments – choleric, phlegmatic, melancholy and sanguine.

Note: All Hamburg International Music Festival 2021 concerts are available to stream free of charge. Once premiered, each concert stream can be accessed for the whole festival period.

An overview of all 2021 festival concerts.


NDR Elbphilharmonie Orchestra
conductor Paavo Järvi


Pyotr I. Tchaikovsky
Serenade for string orchestra in C major, Op. 48

Carl Nielsen
Symphony No. 2, Op. 16 »The Four Temperaments«

Duration: approx. 80 minutes

Supported by the Kühne Foundation, the Hamburg Ministry of Culture and Media, Stiftung Elbphilharmonie and the Förderkreis Internationales Musikfest Hamburg

Mediatheque : More stories

Play Video

: Elbphilharmonie Explains: Franz Liszt’s Sonata in B Minor

»This work is like an image of life itself« – Nahre Sol talks about Franz Liszt’s famous Sonata in B Minor and shows how the composer creates an entire world from just a few motifs.

Live stream in 2 days on 7 Dec 2023 at 19:00 : Bachs »Weihnachtsoratorium«

The NDR Vokalensemble gets everyone in a festive mood with a performance of Bach’s famous »Christmas Oratorio« in the Elbphilharmonie Grand Hall – featuring the world-class tenor Julian Prégardien.

Play Video

: Elbphilharmonie Sessions: Pomme

The French chanson singer in the foyer of the Grand Hall.