Video on demand from 31 Jan 2021
available until 31 Jan 2022

Rising Stars: Vanessa Porter

The percussionist combines contemporary works with improvisation, electronics and the performing arts.

Be it with body percussion, bells or the vibraphone: in her programme »Folie à deux«, percussionist Vanessa Porter creates hypnotic soundscapes that vary between delicate beauty and violent eruptions. Her concert combines solo pieces, improvisations, electronic sounds and music theatre. Ms Porter performs three new commissioned works, one of them by major composer Georges Aperghis.

Rising Stars Festival 2021

Hear tomorrow's stars perform today. Five concert streams available on demand.

Vanessa Porter
Vanessa Porter © Christopher Bühler

The Artist

  • Award-winning percussionist from south Germany (b. 1992)
  • Combines contemporary works with improvisation, electronics and the performing arts
  • Plays with her sister in the Porter Percussion Duo
  • Gives concerts and workshops worldwide
  • Complete biography

    Vanessa Porter is one of the most versatile percussionists internationally and is in demand for various projects, concert formats and programmes.

    As a soloist she combines current works with improvisation, electronics and the performing arts and collaborates with renowned composers such as Georges Aperghis, Zeynep Gedizlioglu or Ben-Amots Ofer.

    Vanessa Porter is 1st prize winner of the August-Everding Music Competition Munich, the International Percussion Competition Luxembourg, the Music Creative Award Lindau and the PercussiveArt Contest Italy, received the German scholarship and was a scholarship holder of the Kunststiftung Baden-Württemberg and the German Music Competition. For the concert season 20/2021 she will perform as soloist of the ECHO Rising Stars in the most renowned European concert halls.

    She is regularly invited to festivals such as the Schleswig-Holstein Music Festival, the IPEW Croatia and the Kalima Festival Switzerland. Through her close collaboration with the Goethe-Institut, she regularly travels to the USA and gives workshops and concerts on location. Most recently she was invited to Peru, Colombia, Brazil and Costa Rica on a 4-week South American tour with the Percussion Duo Porter. Due to her many years of experience in the field of education, she collaborates with various universities and academies, such as the International Summer Academy of Music, and has held workshops at the Sibelius Academy Helsinki and the University of Birmingham within the framework of the WorldPercussionGroup. In 2017 and 2018 she taught percussion at the Hochschule für Musik und Darstellende Kunst in Stuttgart.

    After studying at the Royal Collage of Music in London (with David Hockings) and at the Lübeck University of Arts (with Johannes Fischer), Vanessa Porter completed her master’s degree at the Stuttgart University of Arts (with Marta Klimasara, Klaus Dreher and Jürgen Spitschka) with top marks in summer 2018.

Nominated by Festspielhaus Baden-Baden and Kölner Philharmonie

Kölner Philharmonie Kölner Philharmonie © Joern Neumann
Festspielhaus Baden-Baden Festspielhaus Baden-Baden © Festspielhaus Baden-Baden

Programme :»Folie à deux«

Salvatore Sciarrino
Appendice alla perfezione for 14 Bells (1986)

Vinko Globokar
?Corporel for Body Percussion (1984)

David Lang
The Anvil Chorus (1991)

Georges Aperghis
The Messenger for Tombak and Voice (2020) / commissioned by Kölner Philharmonie, Festspielhaus Baden-Baden and the European Concert Hall Organisation (ECHO)

Emil Kuyumcuyan
Shapes for Vibraphone (2020)

Georges Aperghis
Le corps à corps for Tombak and Voice (1982)

Alexander Sandi Kuhn
À Deux for Vibraphone (2020)

Backstage impressions

Vanessa Porter / Recording the interview Vanessa Porter / Recording the interview © Sophie Wolter
Vanessa Porter / Recording the interview Vanessa Porter / Recording the interview © Sophie Wolter
Vanessa Porter Vanessa Porter © Sophie Wolter
Vanessa Porter / Recording the »Köpfhörer« podcast Vanessa Porter / Recording the »Köpfhörer« podcast © Sophie Wolter
Vanessa Porter / Recording the »Köpfhörer« podcast Vanessa Porter / Recording the »Köpfhörer« podcast © Sophie Wolter
Vanessa Porter / Stage set-up Vanessa Porter / Stage set-up © Sophie Wolter

Departure from the norm :Vanessa Porter talks about her programme

Ms Porter, a glance at the programme announcement tells us we can look forward to an out-of-the-ordinary concert. What can the audience expect?

A mixture of solo percussion pieces, sound installations and music theatre. That was the outcome of working together with different producers, which explains why there is a lot of scenic action on stage.

What exactly is the programme about?

The title is »Folie à deux«, literally »Madness for two«. The medical term, shared psychosis, denotes a psychiatric syndrome where delusional symptoms are transmitted from one individual to another. My stage performance depicts the course of this illness with its ups and downs: not in an obvious fashion, but subliminally. Nonetheless, I still want the symptoms of the disorder to be portrayed clearly – the sound installations, for example, show its dark sides. But the music also depicts the familiar and endearing sides of shared psychosis. On the stage I take turns playing the two individuals involved: sometimes I am the observer, sometimes the person suffering from delusions, and sometimes I realise that something isn't right here. The performance is a constant alternation between schizophrenia, restraint, insight, repression and reality.

Vanessa Porter
Vanessa Porter © Sophie Wolter

This sounds like a staged concert. Is it?

You could say so. Though two-thirds of the programme consists of me playing solo works. But we wanted to avoid the classic, conventional applause situation, and the outcome was a 70-minute programme without any breaks. However, there are transitional sections between the solo numbers that give the audience an idea, visually and scenically, of what kind of music it can look forward to next. The central question that arose while working together with the producers was: how complex can we allow the project to become? Will the audience understand the story? And does it need to understand it, or is it okay if each member of the audience makes his own story out of what he sees and hears? The result of our work is a programme that helps people to understand the disorder known as »folie à deux«, but also leaves them the space to forge associations with their own experiences.

What instruments will you be bringing with you? The titles of some works already answer the question, from Sciarrino's »Appendice alla perfezione« for 14 bells to Globokar's »?Corporel« for body percussion.

Well, one thing I wanted to avoid at all cost was what has already been done plenty of times: a percussionist crams the stage with 200 instruments, and then puts on a fireworks display where he plays each instrument once. My basic idea was to achieve as much as possible with limited resources. I want to show that you don't always need a huge arsenal to tell an interesting story. For example, I play two pieces for hand drum alone, one of which is the piece »The Messenger« for tombak and voice commissioned from Aperghis.

»My basic idea was to achieve as much as possible with limited resources.«

Vanessa Porter

You already mentioned one commission, »The Messenger« by Georges Aperghis. Then there are two more first performances in your concert, namely Emil Kuyumcuyan's »Shapes« and »À deux« by Alexander Sandi Kuhn. Isn't that incredibly demanding?

Indeed it is, both physically and emotionally. We already tried things out several times in rehearsal to see whether the project works: it calls for uninterrupted presence on stage, with every look and movement being rehearsed. The performer doesn't really have even one moment to take a breather. So it's demanding, but in a positive way, and it offers the potential for an experience that departs from the usual concert norm.

Vanessa Porter
Vanessa Porter © Sophie Wolter

How did it come about that the audience can hear as many as three first performances in a single concert? Isn't that pretty unusual?

»This is a huge honour for me: Aperghis is someone I take as a great example.«

Vanessa Porter

The centrepiece, of course, is »The Messenger«, which the European Concert Hall Organisation commissioned from Georges Aperghis. This is a huge honour for me: Aperghis is someone I take as a great example – I had the opportunity to visit him and work with him in Paris. That was already an incredible experience for me. And then, after the underlying idea for the programme had taken shape, I started to look for pieces that describe the different moments of the shared psychosis syndrome. The existing repertoire doesn't contain much that would have been suitable, so I decided to commission two more new works. I spoke with the composers and sketched the situation for them in each case, and the outcome is pieces that fit into the programme and round it off on the one hand, but also correspond to the composer's particular style on the other.

What kind of work did Aperghis end up writing for you?

In this piece I tell a story, which is why there are a lot of language elements. To give you a rough idea, »The Messenger« depicts all the drama of the refugee situation. Many people just turn a blind eye; they know about it, but they remain passive. This in turn can be applied very well to »Folie à deux«, a disorder that provokes a passive response, with the individuals involved taking no action until the situation explodes and they are forced to react. It is a highly introverted piece for the tombak, a Persian hand drum covered with goatskin, in which I also do a lot of talking.

Can you tell us something about the closing piece in your programme, Alexander Sandi Kuhn's »À deux«?

The programme is really quite depressing in places, as this illness is in itself depressing. But I wanted the programme as a whole to have a positive level as well, which is why I chose to bring it to a peaceful end with the work by Alexander Sandi Kuhn. The ending is deliberately left open, emphasising once more the level of familiarity between the two individuals. At least this illness doesn't make the sufferer lonely, and in a certain way, »Folie à deux« is also a great declaration of love.

 

This interview was conducted by Bjørn Woll when the programme was given its first performance in September 2020. An original contribution for the Cologne Philharmonie.

The concert was recorded on 23 January 2021.

 

Promoter: HamburgMusik

In cooperation with ECHO - European Concert Hall Organisation

With support by M.M.Warburg & CO.

More stories

Ensemble Resonanz: Concertos und Caprices

An Italian programme in the Recital Hall: a concert stream with Riccardo Minasi and violin virtuoso Ilya Gringolts. Available from 26 February 2021, 19:30.

Departure for Planet Globokar

Adventurous experiments in the musical laboratory: a journey of discovery for children aged 6 and over. Available from 27 February 2021, 11.

Play Video

: Deichkind: Sounds of Elbphilharmonie

For Fynn Kliemann’s online series »Sounds Of«, the Hamburg band has knocked up a new song – featuring sounds from the Elbphilharmonie.

Video on Demand vom 31.1.2021
verfügbar bis 31.1.2022

Rising Stars: Vanessa Porter

Die Perkussionistin verbindet aktuelle Werke mit Improvisation, Elektronik und darstellender Kunst.

Ob mit Bodypercussion, Glocken oder Vibrafon: In ihrem Programm »Folie à deux« gestaltet die Perkussionistin Vanessa Porter hypnotische Klanglandschaften zwischen zarter Schönheit und eruptiver Gewalt. Das Konzert vereint Solo-Stücke, Improvisationen, elektronische Klänge und Musiktheater. Es erklingen drei neue Auftragswerke, eines davon stammt vom bedeutenden Komponisten Georges Aperghis.

Festival Rising Stars 2021

Die Stars von morgen in fünf Konzert-Streams erleben.

Vanessa Porter
Vanessa Porter © Christopher Bühler

Die Künstlerin

  • Vielfach ausgezeichnete Perkussionistin aus Süddeutschland (*1992)
  • verbindet aktuelle Werke mit Improvisation, Elektronik und darstellender Kunst
  • spielt mit ihrer Schwester im Porter Percussion Duo
  • gibt weltweit Konzerte und Workshops
  • Vollständige Biografie

    Vanessa Porter zählt international zu einer der vielseitigsten Perkussionistinnen und wird für verschiedenste Projekte, Konzertformate und Programme angefragt. Als Solistin verbindet sie aktuelle Werke mit Improvisation, Elektronik und darstellender Kunst und arbeitet mit namhaften Komponisten wie Georges Aperghis, Zeynep Gedizlioglu oder Ben-Amots Ofer zusammen.

    Vanessa Porter ist 1. Preisträgerin des August-Everding Musikwettbewerbs München, des International Percussion Competition Luxembourg, des Music Creative Award Lindau und des PercussiveArt Contest Italy, erhielt das Deutschlandstipendium und war Stipendiatin der Kunststiftung Baden-Württemberg und des Deutschen Musikwettbewerbs.

    Regelmäßig tritt Vanessa Porter bei Festivals wie dem Schleswig-Holstein Musik Festival, dem IPEW Kroatien und dem Kalima Festival Schweiz auf. Durch ihre enge Zusammenarbeit mit dem Goethe-Institut reist sie regelmäßig in die USA und gibt vor Ort Workshops und Konzerte, zuletzt wurde sie mit dem Percussion Duo Porter auf eine 4-wöchige Südamerika Tour nach Peru, Kolumbien, Brasilien und Costa Rica eingeladen. Durch ihre jahrelange Erfahrung im Education-Bereich arbeitet sie mit verschiedenen Hochschulen und Akademien zusammen, wie der International Summer Academy of Music und hielt im Rahmen der WorldPercussionGroup Workshops u.a. an der Sibelius Academy Helsinki oder der University of Birmingham. Von 2017-2018 unterrichtete sie an der Hochschule für Musik und Darstellende Kunst in Stuttgart im Nebenfach Schlagwerk.

    Nach Studien am Royal Collage of Music in London (bei David Hockings) und der Musikhochschule in Lübeck (bei Johannes Fischer) schloss Vanessa Porter im Sommer 2018 ihr Master-Studium an der Musikhochschule Stuttgart (bei Marta Klimasara, Klaus Dreher und Jürgen Spitschka) mit Bestnote ab.

Nominiert von Festspielhaus Baden-Baden und Kölner Philharmonie

Kölner Philharmonie Kölner Philharmonie © Joern Neumann
Festspielhaus Baden-Baden Festspielhaus Baden-Baden © Festspielhaus Baden-Baden

Programm :»Folie à deux«

Salvatore Sciarrino
Appendice alla perfezione für 14 Glocken (1986)

Vinko Globokar
?Corporel für Bodypercussion (1984)

David Lang
The Anvil Chorus (1991)

Georges Aperghis
The Messenger für Zarb und Stimme (2020)
Kompositionsauftrag von Kölner Philharmonie, Festspielhaus Baden-Baden und European Concert Hall Organisation (ECHO)

Emil Kuyumcuyan
Shapes für Vibrafon (2020)

Georges Aperghis
Le corps à corps für Zarb und Stimme (1982)

Alexander Sandi Kuhn
À Deux für Vibrafon (2020)

Backstage-Eindrücke

Vanessa Porter / Aufzeichnung Künstlergespräch Vanessa Porter / Aufzeichnung Künstlergespräch © Sophie Wolter
Vanessa Porter / Aufzeichnung Künstlergespräch Vanessa Porter / Aufzeichnung Künstlergespräch © Sophie Wolter
Vanessa Porter Vanessa Porter © Sophie Wolter
Vanessa Porter / Aufzeichnung »Köpfhörer«-Podcast Vanessa Porter / Aufzeichnung »Köpfhörer«-Podcast © Sophie Wolter
Vanessa Porter / Aufzeichnung »Köpfhörer«-Podcast Vanessa Porter / Aufzeichnung »Köpfhörer«-Podcast © Sophie Wolter
Vanessa Porter / Bühnenaufbau Vanessa Porter / Bühnenaufbau © Sophie Wolter

Abseits der Norm :Ein Gespräch mit Vanessa Porter über ihr Programm mit dem ungewöhnlichen Titel »Folie à deux« – »Geistesstörung zu zweit«

Frau Porter, schon der Blick auf die Programmankündigung verrät ein besonderes Konzert. Was erwartet das Publikum?

Eine Mischung aus Perkussion-Solo-Werken, Klanginstallationen und Musiktheater. Das hat sich durch die Zusammenarbeit mit Regisseuren entwickelt, weshalb sehr viel szenisch auf der Bühne passiert.

Um was geht es dabei?

Das Programm heißt »Folie à deux«, benannt nach der sogenannten »gemeinsamen psychotischen Störung«, einer Krankheit, bei der zwei Menschen mehr oder weniger gleichzeitig und voneinander abhängig wahnhaft werden. Den Verlauf dieser Krankheit, ihre Höhen und Tiefen, stelle ich auf der Bühne dar. Nicht plakativ, sondern eher unterschwellig. Wobei das Krankheitsbild durchaus deutlich werden soll: wie etwa die düsteren Seiten durch die Klanginstallationen. Aber auch die vertrauten und liebevollen Seiten dieser wahnhaften Störung werden in der Musik thematisiert. Auf der Bühne spiele ich abwechselnd diese zwei Menschen – mal bin ich der Beobachtende, mal der Wahnhafte, mal habe ich die Erkenntnis, dass hier gerade etwas nicht stimmt. Es ist ein ständiger Wechsel aus Schizophrenie, Zurückhaltung, Erkenntnis, Verdrängung, Realität.

Vanessa Porter
Vanessa Porter © Sophie Wolter

Klingt ganz nach der Form eines inszenierten Konzerts?

Könnte man sagen. Wobei zwei Drittel des Programms von mir gespielte Solowerke sind. Aber da wir die klassisch-konventionelle Applaussituation vermeiden wollten, ist ein 70-minütiges durchgehendes Programm entstanden. Dafür gibt es zwischen den Solonummern Übergänge, so dass man das, was einen musikalisch erwartet, auch szenisch und visuell erleben kann. Die Kernfrage bei der Arbeit mit den Regisseuren war: Wie komplex darf das Projekt werden? Versteht das Publikum die Geschichte? Und muss es sie überhaupt verstehen, oder ist es auch in Ordnung, wenn jeder seine eigene Geschichte daraus macht? Entstanden ist ein Programm, das hilft, das Krankheitsbild »Folie à deux« zu verstehen, das aber gleichzeitig auch Freiräume lässt, eigene Erfahrungen damit zu assoziieren.

Welches Instrumentarium bringen Sie dafür mit? Manche Werktitel geben ja schon Hinweise, von Sciarrinos »Appendice alla perfezione« für 14 Glocken bis hin zu Globokars »?Corporel« für Bodypercussion.

Was ich auf gar keinen Fall machen wollte, ist das, was es schon zur Genüge gibt: Dass ein Schlagzeuger die Bühne vollstellt mit 200 Instrumenten und in einem Feuerwerk jedes einmal spielt. Meine Grundidee war, mit wenigen Mitteln möglichst viel zu erreichen. Ich möchte zeigen, dass man nicht immer ein riesiges Arsenal braucht, um eine interessante Geschichte zu erzählen. Ich spiele zum Beispiel zwei Stücke für nur eine Handtrommel, zu denen das Auftragswerk »The Messenger« für Zarb und Stimme von Aperghis gehört. Mein größtes Setup besteht aus Alltagsinstrumenten. Ich bringe zum Beispiel zwei Fässer mit, dazu Bremstrommeln, verschiedene Röhren. Neben den typischen Perkussion-Ausbrüchen gibt es auch viele intime Momente.

»Meine Grundidee war, mit wenigen Mitteln möglichst viel zu erreichen.«

Vanessa Porter

Mit Georges Aperghis’ »The Messenger« haben Sie schon ein Auftragswerk genannt. Dazu kommen noch zwei weitere Uraufführungen, nämlich »Shapes« von Emil Kuyumcuyan und »À deux« von Alexander Sandi Kuhn. Ist das nicht wahnsinnig fordernd?

Das ist es, sowohl physisch als auch psychisch. Wir haben in den Proben mehrmals ausprobiert, ob es funktioniert. Das Projekt verlangt die Dauerpräsenz auf der Bühne, jeder Blick, jede Bewegung ist einstudiert. Es gibt eigentlich keinen Moment, um mal durchzuschnaufen. Aber es ist auch eine schöne Herausforderung und es ermöglicht vielleicht eine Erfahrung, die abseits von der üblichen Konzertnorm liegt.

Vanessa Porter
Vanessa Porter © Sophie Wolter

Wie kam es überhaupt dazu, dass wir gleich drei Uraufführungen in einem Konzert erleben können? Das gibt es sonst doch eher selten?

»Eine wahnsinnige Ehre. Georges Aperghis ist ein großes Vorbild für mich.«

Vanessa Porter

Zentral ist natürlich »The Messenger«, der Kompositionsauftrag der European Concert Hall Organisation an Georges Aperghis, was für mich eine wahnsinnige Ehre ist. Er ist ein großes Vorbild für mich, und ich habe schon viel von ihm gespielt. Ich habe ihn in Paris besuchen dürfen, wo wir gemeinsam arbeiten konnten. Allein das war eine unglaubliche Erfahrung für mich. Und dann habe ich, nachdem sich die Programmidee herauskristallisiert hatte, nach Stücken gesucht, die die verschiedenen Momente dieser Krankheit der »gemeinsamen psychotischen Störung« beschreiben. Weil das mit dem bestehenden Repertoire allerdings schwierig ist, habe ich noch zwei weitere Werke in Auftrag gegeben. Dafür habe ich mit den Komponisten gesprochen und ihnen die jeweilige Situation geschildert. Entstanden sind Stücke, die einerseits zum Programm passen, die es rund machen, die andererseits aber auch dem jeweiligen Stil ihrer Schöpfer entsprechen.

Was ist das für ein Werk geworden, das Aperghis für Sie komponiert hat?

In dem Stück erzähle ich eine Geschichte, weswegen es viele sprachliche Elemente hat. Grob gesagt beschreibt »The Messenger« die ganze Dramatik der Flüchtlingssituation, das Wegschauen, aber auch das passive Dabeisein. Was sich wiederum sehr gut auf »Folie à deux« übertragen lässt, weil man bei dieser Krankheit auch erst einmal zuschaut und nichts unternimmt. Bis es einen großen Knall gibt und man reagieren muss. Es ist ein sehr introvertiertes Stück für Zarb, eine iranische Handtrommel mit Ziegenfell bespannt, in dem ich auch viel sprechen werde.

Geben Sie uns doch noch einen Ausblick auf »À deux« von Alexander Sandi Kuhn, mit dem Sie Ihr Programm beschließen.

Das Programm ist teilweise bedrückend, schon allein deswegen, weil die Geschichte dieser Krankheit eine sehr bedrückende ist. Das Ganze sollte aber auch eine positive Ebene haben, weshalb das Konzert mit dem Werk von Alexander Sandi Kuhn friedvoll endet. Es soll ein bewusst offener Schluss sein, der noch einmal die Vertrautheit der beiden Personen betont. Man ist also zumindest nicht einsam mit dieser Krankheit, und auf eine gewisse Art ist »Folie à deux« auch ein großes Liebesgeständnis.

 

Das Gespräch führte Bjørn Woll zur Uraufführung des Programms im September 2020. Ein Originalbeitrag für die Kölner Philharmonie.

Das Konzert wurde am 23. Januar 2021 aufgezeichnet.

 

Veranstalter: HamburgMusik

In Kooperation mit ECHO - European Concert Hall Organisation

Mit Unterstützung der M.M.Warburg & CO.

Weitere Beiträge

Ensemble Resonanz: Concerti und Capricen

Italienisches Programm im Kleinen Saal – Konzert-Stream mit Riccardo Minasi und dem Geigenvirtuosen Ilya Gringolts. Verfügbar ab 26. Februar 2021, 19:30 Uhr.

Aufbruch zum Planeten Globokar

Abenteuerliche Experimente im musikalischen Labor: Eine Entdeckungsreise für Kinder ab 6 Jahren. Verfügbar ab 27. Februar 2021, 11 Uhr.

Video abspielen

: Deichkind: Sounds of Elbphilharmonie

Für Fynn Kliemanns Funk-Format »Sounds Of« bastelt die Hamburger Band einen neuen Song – mit Geräuschen aus der Elbphilharmonie.