Jugend-Sinfonieorchester Ahrensburg

Farrenc: Overture No. 1 / Elgar: Cello Concerto / Dvořák: Symphony No. 8

This concert has already taken place! 14 | 16 | 18
This concert has already taken place! 14 | 16 | 18
Jugend-Sinfonieorchester Ahrensburg
Jugend-Sinfonieorchester Ahrensburg © Axel Stein
Jugend-Sinfonieorchester Ahrensburg / Sönke Grohmann
Jugend-Sinfonieorchester Ahrensburg / Sönke Grohmann © Axel Stein
Laeiszhalle © Maxim Schulz

Young and dynamic

Under the baton of conductor Sönke Grohmann, the Jugend-Sinfonieorchester Ahrensburg performs an anniversary concert at the Laeiszhalle to mark the 50th anniversary of its sponsoring association.

»A more formidable and, in many respects, daringly original symphony has not been offered to an English audience for some time. Indeed, it is fair to say that the work contains no weak movement.« These are the words used by The Daily News in 1890 to describe Antonín Dvořák’s Eighth Symphony. The premiere in the same year was a great success, Dvořák was dubbed by contemporaries as the greatest living symphonist since Beethoven. And this despite the fact that his publisher Fritz Simrock initially seemed to have no interest in the symphony.

Charming melodies, joie de vivre and musical optimism characterise the work, which the Jugend-Sinfonieorchester Ahrensburg (Ahrensburg Youth Symphony Orchestra) will present in Laeiszhalle Grand Hall shortly before the orchestra’s departure for a two-week trip in the USA.

Alongside the symphony, Edward Elgar’s Cello Concerto in E minor, Op. 85, is on the programme. Composed during the First World War, the work has an incomparable mood of tragedy and leave-taking. Maike Grammerstorf, the young soloist from the orchestra’s own ranks, plays the demanding solo part with impressive virtuosity.

Opening the evening is French composer Louise Farrenc’s Overture No. 1 in E minor, Op. 23, composed in 1834. Like many others of her time, Farrenc had a hard time making her way as a musician and composer alongside the strongly dominant male composers. This makes it all the more important for the Jugend-Sinfonieorchester Ahrensburg to give this valuable composer more attention and her overture a wider audience.


Jugend-Sinfonieorchester Ahrensburg

Maike Grammerstorf violoncello

conductor Sönke Grohmann


Louise Farrenc
Ouvertüre Nr. 1 e-Moll op. 23

Edward Elgar
Konzert für Violoncello und Orchester e-Moll op. 85

– Interval –

Antonín Dvořák
Sinfonie Nr. 8 G-Dur op. 88

Estimated end time


Promoter: Jugend-Sinfonieorchester Ahrensburg

During your visit

Food and Drink

Before the concert and during intermissions

More about Food & Drink