Yannick Nézet-Séguin
Video on demand from 11 May 2022
available until 11 Nov 2022

Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra / Yannick Nézet-Séguin

A truly beautiful programme of music from the Romantic era to the present day, featuring a special highlight: Clara Schumann's Piano Concerto with keyboard virtuoso Beatrice Rana.

The Clara Schumann piano concerto is currently experiencing a revival in the concert hall – and deservedly so: as a virtuoso, the Leipzig native was not only much more gifted than her husband Robert, she was also an outstanding composer with a very personal style. Her Piano Concerto literally brims with power and energy, with technical demands and Romantic feelings. Among the work's prominent advocates is the young Italian pianist Beatrice Rana, who performs it here at the Elbphilharmonie together with the well-known Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra under Yannick Nézet-Séguin.

The evening gets off to an exciting start with the new work »Vers le silence« by Danish composer Hans Abrahamsen, a leading figure on Scandinavia's contemporary-music scene. His music is reminiscent of the Estonian composer Arvo Pärt in its approachable structure, and delights the ear with pure beauty of sound. The concert ends with Brahms's Third Symphony, of which Dvořák enthused: »What wonderful melodies are to be found here! The music is full of love, and speaks to the heart.«


»Rana’s playing has a kind of Orphic seductiveness, a transcendent lightness of touch. A supremely intelligent reading.«

The Times

Hamburg International Music Festival

28 April – 1 June 2022: The big Hamburg orchestras and top-drawer guest ensembles such as the Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra and the Oslo Philharmonic, as well as major names from jazz to world music, devote their attention to the motto »Nature« over a period of more than four weeks.

Beatrice Rana Beatrice Rana © Simon Fowler
Yannick Nézet-Séguin Yannick Nézet-Séguin © Hans van der Woerd


Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks

Beatrice Rana piano

conductor Yannick Nézet-Séguin


Hans Abrahamsen
Vers le silence

- Interval -

Clara Schumann
Piano Concerto in A minor, Op. 7


Johannes Brahms
Symphony No. 3 in F major, Op. 90

Mediatheque : More stories

Jazzrausch Bigband
Play Video

Video on demand from 26 Aug 2022 : Jazzrausch Bigband

Blending jazz with house and techno: the Munich-based big band is getting ready to raise the roof of the Elbphilharmonie.

Alexandre Kantorow im Portrait

»Der wiedergeborene Liszt« – ein junger Pianist aus Paris erobert die Klavierwelt im Sturm.

Anton Bruckner: Der Unfassbare

Nur wenige Komponisten haben der Nachwelt ein so uneinheitliches Bild hinterlassen wie der österreichische Komponist.