Hanns Eisler

Eisler expert Matthias Goerne and other first-class guests reveal insights into Eisler’s oeuvre – starting with one of his most important works, the »Deutsche Sinfonie«

Twelve-tone technique and workers’ song, communism and Hollywood: Hanns Eisler’s life and work unite the seemingly incompatible. The Schoenberg pupil discovered early on that writing music for its own sake was not enough for him. This prompted him to set poems and plays by Bertolt Brecht from 1930 until the latter’s death; while in exile in the USA he wrote film music, and after his return to Europe he became one of East Germany’s showcase composers. But this exciting and versatile composer cannot be pigeonholed, as the Elbphilharmonie’s three-day Eisler spotlight shows.

The Eisler spotlight in the Elbphilharmonie is complemented by the scenic-musical portrait »Exil in Hollywood« in the Nachtasyl of the Thalia Theatre: Go to the event

One of today’s keenest advocates of Eisler’s music is Matthias Goerne. The baritone with the dark, velvety voice has already devoted many concerts and CDs to the Austrian composer, whose mastery he believes to be equal to that of Schubert. So there is no way he would miss the opportunity to play a central role in the homage to Eisler.

Two of the most important works from Eisler’s exile years are on the programme: »Deutsche Sinfonie« and the »Hollywood Songbook«. The »Deutsche Sinfonie« in particular, which Eisler started work on in the 1930s but which was not performed until 1959, represented »a work of resistance« for the composer: a sign that Germany was not only Nazi Germany, that there were other political and cultural voices that spoke for the country – from the underground, from concentration camps and exile.

Setting texts by Bertolt Brecht and Ignazio Silone, Eisler lets these voices speak in his eleven-movement symphony through orchestra, choir and soloists, making a powerful musical statement against fascism and war.

In the last composition he completed – »Ernste Gesänge« (Serious Songs), the composer shows himself from a very different side, with music that is deeply touching in its simplicity and humanity.

Hanns Eisler

Eisler-Experte Matthias Goerne und weitere hochkarätige Gäste geben Einblick in Eislers Schaffen – zum Auftakt mit einem seiner wichtigsten Werke, der »Deutschen Sinfonie«

Zwölftontechnik und Arbeiterlied, Kommunismus und Hollywood: Im Leben und Schaffen Hanns Eislers vereint sich das scheinbar Unvereinbare. Der Schönberg-Schüler entdeckte früh, dass es ihm nicht reichte, Musik um ihrer selbst willen zu schreiben. So vertonte er von 1930 bis zu dessen Tod Gedichte und Theaterstücke von Bertolt Brecht, im Exil in den USA schrieb er Filmmusik, zurück in Europa wurde er zum Vorzeigetonkünstler der DDR. Dass sich der hochspannende und vielseitige Komponist jedoch in keine Schublade stecken lässt, zeigt der dreitägige Eisler-Schwerpunkt der Elbphilharmonie.

Ergänzt wird der Eisler-Schwerpunkt in der Elbphilharmonie durch das szenisch-musikalische Portrait »Exil in Hollywood« im Nachtasyl des Thalia Theaters: Zur Veranstaltung

Einer der engagiertesten Botschafter für Eislers Musik heute ist Matthias Goerne. Der Bariton mit der samtig dunklen Stimme widmete dem Komponisten, dessen Meisterschaft er auf einer Höhe mit der Franz Schuberts sieht, bereits zahlreiche Konzerte und CD-Einspielungen. Und so lässt er es sich auch nicht nehmen, die Hommage an Eisler maßgeblich mitzugestalten.

Mit der »Deutschen Sinfonie« und dem »Hollywooder Liederbuch« stehen zwei der wichtigsten Werke aus Eislers Zeit im Exil auf dem Programm. Gerade die bereits in den 1930er Jahren begonnene, aber erst 1959 uraufgeführte »Deutsche Sinfonie« war für den Komponisten dabei ein »Werk des Widerstandes«: ein Zeichen, dass Deutschland nicht gleich Nazi-Deutschland war, dass es auch noch andere politische und kulturelle Stimmen gab, die für Deutschland sprachen – aus dem Untergrund, aus den Konzentrationslagern, aus dem Exil.

Mit Texten von Bertolt Brecht und Ignazio Silone lässt Eisler diese Stimmen in seiner elfsätzigen Sinfonie durch Orchester, Chor und Solisten klingend, singend und sprechend zu Wort kommen und setzt ein machtvolles musikalisches Zeichen gegen Faschismus und Krieg.

Von einer ganz anderen Seite zeigt sich der Komponist hingegen in den »Ernsten Gesängen«, seiner letzten vollendeten Komposition, tief berührend in ihrer Schlichtheit und Menschlichkeit.