Symphoniker Hamburg / Sayaka Shoji / Steven Sloane

Sibelius: Violin Concerto / Shostakovich: Symphony No. 8

Tickets from €9.90 9.90 | 22 | 34.10 | 46.20 | 57.20
Tickets from €9.90 9.90 | 22 | 34.10 | 46.20 | 57.20
Sayaka Shoji
Sayaka Shoji © Laura Stevens
Steven Sloane
Steven Sloane © Marcus Witte
Laeiszhalle © Maxim Schulz

Winged crash

In the early 20th century, Jean Sibelius wrote a violin concerto that explored the expressive possibilities of the violin for the modern age. Despite that, the soaring, virtuosic and dance-like sounds do not break with the Late Romantic tradition.

Between Dmitri Shostakovich’s Seventh Symphony, in which he thematises the horrors of battle in Leningrad, and his Ninth, which mocks the Soviet propaganda message of victory, the Eighth (1943) is a sombre and contemplative work in which the liberal-minded composer grappled with his own despair. This individualistic approach led the Soviet cultural authorities to put the symphony on their index of censored works five years later.


Symphoniker Hamburg

Sayaka Shoji violin

conductor Steven Sloane


Jean Sibelius
Konzert für Violine und Orchester d-Moll op. 47

Dmitri Schostakowitsch
Symphony No. 8 in C minor, Op. 65

Pre-Concert Talk

(in German)

18:00 / Laeiszhalle, Studio E

Estimated end time



Symphoniker Hamburg / Large Subscription Package

Promoter: Symphoniker Hamburg

During your visit

Food and Drink

Vor dem Konzert und in den Pausen

More about Food & Drink

Coughing, clapping, chatting

Tips for your concert visit

Read now