Quatuor Arod / Alexandre Tharaud

Debussy: String Quartet in G minor / Attahir: Al Asr / Fauré: Piano Quintet No. 1

This concert has already taken place! 12 | 22 | 34 | 49
This concert has already taken place! 12 | 22 | 34 | 49
Quatuor Arod
Quatuor Arod © Julien Benhamou
Alexandre Tharaud
Alexandre Tharaud © Laure Bernard
Laeiszhalle Hamburg
Laeiszhalle Hamburg © Maxim Schulz

A meeting of the French elite

After an absolute home run at Germany’s ARD Music Competition ten years ago, Quatuor Arod has since played its way into the top echelon of internationally sought-after string quartets. Founded and based in Paris, the ensemble presents an all-French programme for its Laeiszhalle concert and is supported in the second half by one of the finest pianists in the world today: the Frenchman Alexandre Tharaud.

Together, they whisk the audience away for a brief time to a realm far removed from earthly realities – with Gabriel Fauré’s imaginative Piano Quintet. Music, in Fauré’s eyes, served one purpose above all: to transport people as far away as possible from ordinary day-to-day life. He certainly delivers on that here, with playful garlands of notes on the piano and delicate string tones that literally float in the air and induce a dreamlike state.

In stark contrast to this are the worldly string quartets in the first half of the concert: Claude Debussy’s only string quartet was written to the backdrop of the »Exposition Universelle«, the world’s fair held in Paris in 1889. Besides the spectacular opening of the new Eiffel Tower and a giant oak barrel full of champagne, it also played host to a wealth of cultural attractions. Among these was a Javanese gamelan orchestra, whose unusual sounds left clear traces in Debussy’s string quartet.

Another French composer partial to combining Western and Eastern elements in his music is Benjamin Attahir. In his work »Al Asr« for string quartet, first performed in 2017 by Quatuor Arod in Paris, he captures the atmosphere of a Muslim afternoon prayer.


Quatuor Arod

Jordan Victoria violin
Alexandre Vu violin
Tanguy Parisot viola
Jérémy Garbarg violoncello

Alexandre Tharaud piano


Johann Sebastian Bach
Choral »Aus tiefer Not schrei’ ich zu dir«

Benjamin Attahir
Al Asr

Claude Debussy
String Quartet in G minor, Op. 10

– Interval –

Gabriel Fauré
Piano Quintet No. 1 in D minor, Op. 89


Johann Sebastian Bach
Adagio / aus: Konzert für Cembalo, Streicher und Basso Continuo f-Moll BWV 1056

Pre-Concert Talk

with Lars Entrich (in German)

19:00 / Laeiszhalle, Kleiner Saal

Estimated end time



Chamber Music at the Laeiszhalle

Promoter: HamburgMusik

Supported by Stiftung Elbphilharmonie

During your visit

Food and Drink

Before the concert and during intermissions

More about Food & Drink