Münchener Kammerorchester / Pierre Bleuse

Portrait Thomas Larcher

Katrien Baerts
Katrien Baerts © Claudia Hansen

Borderline experiences

French conductor Pierre Bleuse and the Munich Chamber Orchestra paint a colourful portrait of the composer Thomas Larcher, to whom the Elbphilharmonie is dedicating a spotlight this season. Solo concertos for viola and cello frame performance of a vocal work that was premiered recently in Munich.

Photos of his native Tyrol inspired Larcher to write »The Living Mountain« (2020), which is sung by the Belgian soprano Katrien Baerts. The work describes borderline experiences in the mountains and attempts »to hear the entire universe of music in a single birdcall«.

The piece »Still« (2002) is not only about standstill and movement, it is also about quietness, a term that Larcher associates with the viola. Alongside the British solo viola player Lawrence Power, Austrian pianist Aaron Pilsan acts as a percussionist on the piano.

The soloist in »Ouroboros« (2015) is American cellist Alisa Weilerstein. In this piece it’s not only the wind machine that turns in circles: the work takes its inspiration from the Brahms symphonies, where musical motifs are developed before returning to their original form at the end.


Münchener Kammerorchester

Lawrence Power viola

Alisa Weilerstein violoncello

Katrien Baerts soprano

Aaron Pilsan piano

conductor Pierre Bleuse


Thomas Larcher
Still für Viola und Kammerorchester
The Living Mountain für Sopran und Ensemble
Ouroboros für Violoncello und Kammerorchester

Pre-Concert Talk (in German)
18:30 / Elbphilharmonie, Kleiner Saal

Estimated end time



State of the Art


Portrait Thomas Larcher

Promoter: HamburgMusik

During your visit

Elbphilharmonie Plaza

A public viewing platform on the 8th floor of the Elbphilharmonie

More about the Plaza

Food and Drink

Before the concert and in the interval

Find out more