Hyeyoon Park / Timothy Ridout / Kian Soltani / Benjamin Grosvenor

Piano quartets by Bridge, Fauré and Brahms

This concert has already taken place! 12 | 22 | 34 | 49
This concert has already taken place! 12 | 22 | 34 | 49
Hyeyoon Park
Hyeyoon Park © Andrej Grilc
Timothy Ridout
Timothy Ridout © Jiyang Chen
Kian Soltani
Kian Soltani © Marco Borggreve
Benjamin Grosvenor
Benjamin Grosvenor © Andrej Grilc
Laeiszhalle Hamburg
Laeiszhalle Hamburg © Maxim Schulz

A very special piano quartet

These internationally sought-after soloists usually play with orchestras around the world – but today they are coming together as a very special piano quartet: cellist Kian Soltani, who has already given several guest performances at the Elbphilharmonie and Laeiszhalle, violist Timothy Ridout, who was awarded the first Sir Jeffrey Tate Prize of the Symphoniker Hamburg in 2020, and the violinist Hyeyoon Park and the pianist Benjamin Grosvenor, who also regularly perform together as a duo.

Their programme features Johannes Brahms’s Piano Quartet No. 1, whose final movement – a »Rondo alla zingarese« – is an expression of the Hamburg composer’s great love of Hungarian folk music. Brahms crafted these driving rhythms, stylised melodies and the ludicrously fast csárdas finale so finely that even his Hungarian composer friend Joseph Joachim ungrudgingly admitted that Brahms had given him a »sound thrashing« on his own territory – high praise indeed!

Before that, the musicians perform works by the British composer Frank Bridge and the Frenchman Gabriel Fauré, both of whom described their music in terms of the »fantastical«: Bridge, in that he called his work a »Phantasy«, and Fauré in that he repeatedly emphasised that his music was written to take people as far away as possible from their everyday lives.


Hyeyoon Park violin

Timothy Ridout viola

Kian Soltani violoncello

Benjamin Grosvenor piano


Frank Bridge
Piano Quartet in F-sharp minor, »Phantasy«

Gabriel Fauré
Piano Quartet No. 1 in C minor, Op. 15

– Interval –

Johannes Brahms
Piano Quartet No. 1 in G minor, Op. 25


Robert Schumann
Andante cantabile / aus: Klavierquartett Es-Dur op. 47

Pre-Concert Talk

with Lars Entrich (in German)

19:00 / Laeiszhalle, Kleiner Saal


Chamber Music at the Laeiszhalle

Promoter: HamburgMusik

Supported by Stiftung Elbphilharmonie

During your visit

Food and Drink

Before the concert and during intermissions

More about Food & Drink