Elbphilharmonie Hamburg Kleiner Saal

CANCELLED: Vanessa Porter / Rising Stars

The concert will be broadcast as stream in the Mediathek on 31 January

This concert has already taken place! € 31.00 | 22.00 | 15.00 | 9.00
This concert has already taken place! € 31.00 | 22.00 | 15.00 | 9.00

Hypnotic sound landscapes

The concert programme of the Elbphilharmonie and the Laeiszhalle cannot go ahead as planned due to the impact of the coronavirus pandemic. This event has had to be cancelled – it will not be rescheduled on an alternative date. Ticket buyers and people participating in the order process will be informed by e-mail. Under the following link you can request a refund of your ticket price: Information on tickets refunds

Festival »Rising Stars Digital«: Concerts cannot be given in front of a large audience this time round, but everyone can still enjoy the festival: the concerts are being transferred to the internet, and can be watched as a stream: Go to Vanessa Porter's concert stream

With a wide variety of different instruments from body percussion through bells to the vibraphone, percussionist Vanessa Porter creates hypnotic soundscapes ranging from delicate beauty to violent eruptions. Tonight a new work commissioned from the important composer Georges Aperghis has its first performance.

As a percussion teacher's daughter, Vanessa Porter inherited a love of rhythm, so it was not long before she started playing the vibraphone, drums and mallets herself. In the meantime, the artist from Laupheim in Baden-Württemberg has completed her studies in London and Stuttgart and is now touring Europe, Asian and America – sometimes with creative solo programmes, sometimes in an acclaimed duo with her sister or in the Daidalos Percussion Quartet, which she founded together with fellow students. Improvisation, electronics and performance art are as much a particular of her experimental programmes as her cooperation with contemporary composers.


Vanessa Porter percussion


Salvatore Sciarrino
Appendice alla perfezione für 14 Glocken

Vinko Globokar
?Corporel für Bodypercussion

David Lang
The Anvil Chorus

Georges Aperghis
Auftragswerk der ECHO / Kompositionsauftrag von Kölner Philharmonie, Festspielhaus Baden-Baden und European Concert Hall Organisation (ECHO)
Le corps à corps für Zarb und Stimme

sowie Werke von Salvatore Sciarrino

Duration approx. 60 Min.


Rising Stars Digital

Promoter: HamburgMusik

Nominated by Festspielhaus Baden-Baden and Kölner Philharmonie
In cooperation with ECHO – European Concert Hall Organisation
With support by M.M.Warburg & CO