Symphoniker Hamburg / Shai Wosner / Sylvain Cambreling

Hosokawa: »Erdbeben. Träume« / Beethoven: Piano Concerto No. 4 / Haydn: Symphony in E-flat major

This concert has already taken place! 9.90 | 20.90 | 31.90 | 42.90 | 53.90
This concert has already taken place! 9.90 | 20.90 | 31.90 | 42.90 | 53.90
Shai Wosner
Shai Wosner © Marco Borggreve
Laeiszhalle Hamburg
Laeiszhalle Hamburg © Maxim Schulz
  • Doors open 18:30

  • Pre-concert talk 18:30

  • Start 19:30

  • End approx. 21:45

A wealth of impressions

In his opera »Erdbeben. Träume« (after Heinrich von Kleist’s novella » Das Erdbeben in Chili« [The Earthquake in Chile]), the Japanese composer Toshio Hosokawa thematises the Fukushima nuclear disaster. Dark, dramatic sounds illustrate the destructive force of nature and the fragility of man.

Chief conductor Sylvain Cambreling, who conducted the premiere of »Erdbeben. Träume« in Stuttgart, combines this suite of orchestral works from the opera with two innovative works of Viennese Classicism: Beethoven’s Piano Concerto No. 4, which Schumann admired as being »perhaps Beethoven’s greatest«, and Joseph Haydn’s Symphony No. 103 (also known as »The Drumroll«). An evening of music that conveys a wealth of impressions.


Symphoniker Hamburg

Shai Wosner piano

conductor Sylvain Cambreling


Toshio Hosokawa
Suite aus der Oper »Erdbeben. Träume«

Ludwig van Beethoven
Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No. 4 in G major, Op. 58

Joseph Haydn
Sinfonie Es-Dur Hob. I:103 »Mit dem Paukenwirbel«

Pre-Concert Talk

(in German)

18:30 / Laeiszhalle, Studio E


Symphoniker Hamburg / VielHarmonie Subscription

Symphoniker Hamburg / Combi-VH-MM Subscription

Promoter: Symphoniker Hamburg

During your visit

Food and Drink

Before the concert and during intermissions

More about Food & Drink