Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra / Emanuel Ax / Myung-Whun Chung

Mozart: Piano Concert in G major / Bruckner: Symphony No. 7

Tickets from €58 15 | 58 | 98 | 145 | 165
Myung Whun Chung
Myung Whun Chung © Riccardo Musacchio
Emanuel Ax
Emanuel Ax © Lisa Marie Mazzucco

Late breakthrough

»Exquisite touch« and »musical intelligence« are just two of the qualities attributed by music critics to the American pianist Emanuel Ax. The piano virtuoso now joins forces with Amsterdam’s world-class Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra and the versatile Korean conductor Myung-Whun Chung.

Mozart composed the opening Concerto in G major – the 17th out of a total of 23 piano concertos – in 1784 for his student Barbara Ployer, who must have been a very talented pianist considering the technical difficulty of the work.

While Mozart was successful at an early age, Anton Bruckner would have to wait much longer for his breakthrough. The Austrian composer’s greatest success didn’t come until the premiere of his Seventh Symphony at the Leipzig Gewandhaus in 1884, when he was 60 years old. With its stirring second movement, the symphony remains Bruckner’s most popular orchestral work.


Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra

Emanuel Ax piano

conductor Myung-Whun Chung


Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Concerto for Piano and Orchestra in G major, KV 453

– Interval –

Anton Bruckner
Sinfonie Nr. 7 E-Dur


Elbphilharmonie Subscription 1

Promoter: HamburgMusik

During your visit

Elbphilharmonie Plaza

A public viewing platform on the 8th floor of the Elbphilharmonie

More about the Plaza

Food and Drink

Before the concert and in the interval

Find out more

Coughing, clapping, chatting

Tips for your concert visit

Read now