Ensemble Resonanz / Asmik Grigorian / Matthias Goerne / »protest«

Shostakovich / Honegger

This concert has already taken place! € 68.00 | 57.00 | 41.00 | 20.00 | 10.00
This concert has already taken place! € 68.00 | 57.00 | 41.00 | 20.00 | 10.00

»Death awaits every one of us. I can't see anything good in the fact that our life ends like this,« wrote Russian composer Dmitri Shostakovich about his 14th Symphony. »I want the people who listen to this symphony to understand that life is a truly beautiful thing. It is a passionate protest against death.« Inspired by composers like Modest Mussorgsky or Benjamin Britten (»War Requiem«), Shostakovich bundles together eleven movements and eleven poems by four different writers to create a complex work on the subject of death. In this performance, the Elbphilharmonie's Ensemble in Residence accompanies the fine baritone Matthias Goerne and Lithuanian soprano Asmik Grigorian, who became a star overnight in the title role of Richard Strauss's »Salome« at the 2018 Salzburg Festival. The Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung wrote, »Romeo Castellucci produces ›Salome‹ as a grandiose drama of cruelty, and Asmik Grigorian excels as Salome«.


Ensemble Resonanz

Asmik Grigorian soprano

Matthias Goerne baritone

conductor Andris Poga


Arthur Honegger Sinfonie Nr. 2 für Streichorchester und Trompete ad libitum - Interval - Dmitri Schostakowitsch Sinfonie Nr. 14 op. 135

Estimated end time


Resonances »stimme« / »voice«

Promoter: Ensemble Resonanz / HamburgMusik

During your visit

The Music of Tomorrow

Artists Up Close

Visiting in the age of corona

Minimum distancing and face coverings on all passageways

Find out more

One before the concert

A public viewing platform on the 8th floor of the Elbphilharmonie

More about the Plaza

Before the concert

In the Grand Hall and Recital Hall foyers

More about Food & Drink