Elbphilharmonie Hamburg Kleiner Saal

CANCELLED: Diana Tishchenko / Rising Stars

The concert will be broadcast as stream in the Mediathek on 29 January

This concert has already taken place! € 31.00 | 22.00 | 15.00 | 9.00
This concert has already taken place! € 31.00 | 22.00 | 15.00 | 9.00

Talent and character

The concert programme of the Elbphilharmonie and the Laeiszhalle cannot go ahead as planned due to the impact of the coronavirus pandemic. This event has had to be cancelled – it will not be rescheduled on an alternative date. Ticket buyers and people participating in the order process will be informed by e-mail. Under the following link you can request a refund of your ticket price: Information on tickets refunds

Festival »Rising Stars Digital«: Concerts cannot be given in front of a large audience this time round, but everyone can still enjoy the festival: the concerts are being transferred to the internet, and can be watched as a stream: Go to Diana Tishchenkos concert stream

Diana Tishchenko, born in Crimea in 1990, stood out from the flood of talented young violinists at an early age. As the trade magazine The Strad put it: she has »the ability to captivate the audience with her strong personality and her impressive gestures«. The members of the international Gustav Mahler Youth Orchestra agreed: they chose her as the youngest concertmaster of all time. After Tishchenko already gave a sample of her talent together with the Hamburger Symphoniker in 2016, she now returns as a »Rising Star« to take us on a musical stroll through 1920s Paris.

In the French capital at the time, immigrants from Eastern Europe encountered jazz and the daring harmonies of the modern age. The outcome was music like that of the visionary star violinist Eugène Ysaÿe, who abandoned the boundaries of harmonic tradition. César Franck in turn wrote his only sonata as a wedding present for Ysaÿe. And by way of a musical surprise, Diana Tishchenko plays a new piece written especially for her by the Portuguese composer Vasco Mendonça.


Diana Tishchenko violin

José Gallardo piano


Eugène Ysaÿe
Sonate op. 27/5 für Violine solo

Vasco Mendonça
A Box of Darkness with a Bird in its Heart für Violine solo / Kompositionsauftrag von Casa da Música Porto, Cité de la Musique - Philharmonie de Paris und European Concert Hall Organisation (ECHO)

César Franck
Sonate für Violine und Klavier A-Dur M 8

Duration approx. 60 Min.


Rising Stars Digital

Promoter: HamburgMusik

Nominated by Philharmonie de Paris and Casa da Música Porto
In cooperation with ECHO – European Concert Hall Organisation
With support by M.M.Warburg & CO