Asya Fateyeva
Video on demand from 12 Aug 2022
available until 7 Nov 2022

Asya Fateyeva and ensemble reflektor

As part of the Schleswig-Holstein Music Festival, saxophonist Asya Fateyeva takes a special approach to the music of Johannes Brahms.

»A sensation for the world of music«: praise from the Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung for the young classical saxophonist Asya Fateyeva. With her delight in playing and her many-faceted interpretations, she has become one of the top names in her field. And Fateyeva doesn't see any limits for her instrument: »You can do literally everything with the saxophone!« Time after time, she puts the saxophone back into the limelight.

At her concert in the Schleswig-Holstein Music Festival, she joins forces with the ensemble reflektor to take a completely new look at Johannes Brahms: in 1986, Italian composer Luciano Berio produced a note-for-note orchestral version of Brahms's first Sonata for Clarinet and Piano, turning the original into a veritable large-scale clarinet concerto. This is now one of the most popular works of its genre, and the arrangement for saxophone has its own special appeal. The programme also features a true milestone of the orchestral repertoire in the shape of Brahms's famous Haydn Variations.

Asya Fateyeva Asya Fateyeva © Georg Hohenberg
ensemble reflektor ensemble reflektor © Heide Benser


Asya Fateyeva saxophone

ensemble reflektor

Conductor Katharina Wincor


Johannes Brahms
Variationen über ein Thema von Joseph Haydn op. 56a

Johannes Brahms / Luciano Berio
Opus 120 Nr. 1 für Klarinette oder Viola und Orchester / Bearbeitung für Saxofon und Orchester

Louise Farrenc
Sinfonie Nr. 2 D-Dur op. 35

Mediatheque : More stories

Jazzrausch Bigband
Play Video

Video on demand from 26 Aug 2022 : Jazzrausch Bigband

Blending jazz with house and techno: the Munich-based big band is getting ready to raise the roof of the Elbphilharmonie.

Alexandre Kantorow im Portrait

»Der wiedergeborene Liszt« – ein junger Pianist aus Paris erobert die Klavierwelt im Sturm.

Anton Bruckner: Der Unfassbare

Nur wenige Komponisten haben der Nachwelt ein so uneinheitliches Bild hinterlassen wie der österreichische Komponist.