Laeiszhalle / Großer Saal

Philharmonisches Staatsorchester Hamburg / Lothar Zagrosek

8. Philharmonisches Konzert

This event has already taken place! € 48.00 | 42.00 | 31.00 | 20.00 | 10.00
This event has already taken place! € 48.00 | 42.00 | 31.00 | 20.00 | 10.00

Great artists are seekers: in the 8th Philharmonic concert, the Hamburg Philharmonic State Orchestra, led by Lothar Zagrosek, dedicates this concert devoted to the act of seeking and finding to the composers Mozart, Mahler and Toshio Hosokawa.

Mozart travelled as a child and teenager throughout Europe: he learnt and grew, sought further and grew immeasurably. A similar experience was fared by Japanese composer Toshio Hosokawa, born in 1955. He came as a 21-year-old from Japan to Europe, studied and sought orientation in Western culture and consequently found his way back to his Japanese roots: »I'm looking for a new form of spiritual culture and music of the Japanese people,« he explains. The topics nature and transience play a special role for him: »Sound comes from the silence, it lives, and then it goes back into silence«!

These same words could have come from Gustav Mahler: his Symphony No. 1, another work addressing the act of seeking, was composed »with unconditional and unconscious courage in the innovation of expression, in the richness of the invention; it pulsates in the hot blood of passion« (Bruno Walter).


Philharmonisches Staatsorchester Hamburg

Mihoko Fujimura mezzo-soprano

conductor Lothar Zagrosek


Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Sinfonie G-Dur KV 318

Toshio Hosokawa
Klage für Mezzosopran und Orchester

Gustav Mahler
Sinfonie Nr. 1 D-Dur »Titan«

Promoter: Philharmonisches Staatsorchester Hamburg