Tschechische Philharmonie / Víkingur Ólafsson / Semyon Bychkov

Schumann / Schostakowitsch

Tickets from €33.20 33.20 | 92.80 | 126.60 | 149.10 | 171.60 Limited tickets available!
Tickets from €33.20 33.20 | 92.80 | 126.60 | 149.10 | 171.60 Limited tickets available!
Vikingur Olafsson
Vikingur Olafsson © Ari Magg
Semyon Bychkov
Semyon Bychkov © Chris Christodoulou

Russian history set to music

Appearances are deceptive and the straightforward surface is revealed to be ambiguous – in other words: classic Shostakovich. His Eleventh Symphony has an explicit programme, a retelling in four movements of the 1905 workers’ rebellion, which was brutally quelled by Tsarist military forces. The tension outside the palace, the power of the Tsars, the roar of the guns and the euphoria of the workers – all of that can be heard in the music. And much more besides. Because wasn’t this also a critique of the present-day Soviet system, which caused the composer so much suffering his entire life?

Schumann’s only piano concerto provides a stark contrast – with the gifted hands of the Icelandic pianist Víkingur Ólafsson revealing the arc of suspense running through the work.


Tschechische Philharmonie

Víkingur Ólafsson piano

conductor Semyon Bychkov


Robert Schumann
Konzert für Klavier und Orchester a-Moll op. 54

– Interval –

Dmitri Schostakowitsch
Sinfonie Nr. 11 g-Moll op. 103 »Das Jahr 1905«


International Orchestras

Promoter: Konzertdirektion Dr. Rudolf Goette / HamburgMusik

During your visit

Elbphilharmonie Plaza

A public viewing platform on the 8th floor of the Elbphilharmonie

More about the Plaza

Food and Drink

Before the concert and in the interval

Find out more