Symphoniker Hamburg / Alexander Malofeev / Sylvain Cambreling

New Year’s Concert

This concert has already taken place! 23.10 | 35.20 | 69.30 | 85.80 | 97.90
This concert has already taken place! 23.10 | 35.20 | 69.30 | 85.80 | 97.90
Sylvian Cambreling
Sylvian Cambreling © Marco Borggreve

Narrated renewal

The Haspa New Year’s concert opens with music by Nikolai Brücher, the Symphoniker Hamburg’s composer and music librarian: a new work, a joyous opening piece that celebrates both the Laeiszhalle and its resident orchestra.

That is followed by George Gershwin’s Piano Concerto in F major. Featuring a catchy melody, the work was highly innovative in its time, and calls for a keen jazz instinct from Alexander Malofeev, the soloist for the evening.

The concert comes to a close with Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov’s Scheherazade from 1888, which is by far his most popular orchestral piece. Talking about his work, Rimsky-Korsakov explained that it is »structured around individual images from ›1001 Nights‹: The Sea and Sinbad’s Ship, The Tale of the Kalendar Prince, The Young Prince and the Young Princess, Festival at Baghdad, The Ship Breaks against a Cliff Surmounted by a Bronze Horseman. These images are connected by short sections for solo violin, which represent how Scheherazade narrates her wonderful tales for the wrathful Sultan Shahryar«.


Symphoniker Hamburg

Alexander Malofeev piano

conductor Sylvain Cambreling


Nikolai Brücher
Neues Werk

George Gershwin
Concerto for Piano and Orchestra in F major

Nikolai Rimski-Korsakow
Scheherazade / Symphonic Suite, Op. 35

Estimated end time


Promoter: Symphoniker Hamburg

During your visit

Elbphilharmonie Plaza

A public viewing platform on the 8th floor of the Elbphilharmonie

More about the Plaza

Food and Drink

Before the concert and in the interval

Find out more

Coughing, clapping, chatting

Tips for your concert visit

Read now