Nürnberger Symphoniker

Mozart / Xinghai / Schumann

This concert has already taken place! 24.20 | 36.60 | 53.50 | 64.70 | 76
This concert has already taken place! 24.20 | 36.60 | 53.50 | 64.70 | 76
Haiou Zhang
Haiou Zhang © Sabina Przybyla

Everything in flow

The »Yellow River« – the Huang He in the east of China – is separated from the Rhine in tonight’s programme by the space of a concert interval. To mark the 50th anniversary of diplomatic relations between China and Germany, Chinese pianist Haiou Zhang, who now lives in Germany, has put together a programme together with the Nuremberg Symphony Orchestra that couldn’t be more symbolic.

Schumann’s »Rhenish« Symphony, which he wrote shortly after he moved from Dresden to Düsseldorf, celebrates the great German river with infectious Romantic verve, full of joie de vivre and flowing melodies. In contrast to the Schumann the piano concerto »The Yellow River«, based on the cantata of the same name by the Chinese composer Xian Xinghai, stands for Chinese independence, and was written in 1968/69 as a collective composition in the spirit of positive socialism. The Mozart piano concerto forms a connecting link between the two worlds, for Mozart embodies the direct, cross-border power of music more strongly than almost any other composer.


Nürnberger Symphoniker orchestra

Haiou Zhang piano

conductor Renchang Fu


Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Konzert für Klavier und Orchester A-Dur KV 414

Xian Xinghai
Klavierkonzert »Gelber Fluss«

– Interval –

Robert Schumann
Sinfonie Nr. 3 Es-Dur op. 97 »Rheinische«

Estimated end time


Promoter: Konzertdirektion Dr. Rudolf Goette / HamburgMusik

During your visit

Elbphilharmonie Plaza

A public viewing platform on the 8th floor of the Elbphilharmonie

More about the Plaza

Food and Drink

Before the concert and in the interval

Find out more