NDR Elbphilharmonie Orchestra / Noah Quartett / Alan Gilbert

Please note the change of programme and artist

This concert has already taken place! 17 | 37 | 64 | 86 | 107
This concert has already taken place! 17 | 37 | 64 | 86 | 107

Day trip to the Alps

Please note: Due to illness, Yefim Bronfman unfortunately had to cancel the concerts on 24 and 25 June with the NDR Elbphilharmonie Orchester at very short notice. No substitute could be found for the Bartók piano concerto in such a short time. Instead, the Noah Quartett, consisting of members of the NDR Elbphilharmonie Orchester, will play Dimitri Shostakovich’s Third String Quartet in the first half of the concert. The rest of the programme remains unchanged. Tickets retain their validity.

Fancy a day exploring the Alps? In his Alpine Symphony, Richard Strauss may only be taking us there in spirit, but it is an incredibly realistic experience – complete with cow bells, wind (machine) and thunder (sheet). However, for chief conductor Alan Gilbert, the colossal orchestral work, with which the Bavarian composer literally reached the peak of his symphonic achievement, is not only an example of Strauss’s formidable command of instrumentation, but also a call, in this age of climate change, to become more aware of the beauty of nature and landscape that is depicted so impressively here.


NDR Elbphilharmonie Orchester

Noah Quartett

Alexandra Psareva violin
Michael Stürzinger violin
Erik Wenbo Xu viola
Bettina Barbara Bertsch violoncello

conductor Alan Gilbert


Dmitri Schostakowitsch
Streichquartett Nr. 3 F-Dur op. 73

– Interval –

Richard Strauss
Eine Alpensinfonie op. 64

CANCELLED: Pre-Concert Talk (in German)
19:00 / Elbphilharmonie, Großer Saal

Estimated end time


Concert Broadcast

The second part of the concert will be broadcast at 21:00 live in the Elbphilharmonie Mediatheque.

Promoter: NDR

From the Mediatheque : Videos, Podcasts, Articles

NDR Elbphilharmonie Orchestra / Alan Gilbert
Play Video

Video on demand from 25 Jun 2022 : NDR Elbphilharmonie Orchestra / Alan Gilbert

A musical excursion to the Alps: the Elbphilharmonie's orchestra in residence plays Richard Strauss's colossal »Alpensinfonie« in the Grand Hall.

Tempus Fugit

The NDR Elbphilharmonie Orchestra and Alan Gilbert perform music by two exciting contemporary composers: Magnus Lindberg from Finnland and Olga Neuwirth from Austria.

During your visit

Elbphilharmonie Plaza

A public viewing platform on the 8th floor of the Elbphilharmonie

More about the Plaza

Food and Drink

Before the concert and in the interval

Find out more