Hamburg Philharmonic State Orchestra

Ives: Symphony No. 4

This concert has already taken place! € 81.40 | 62.70 | 50.60 | 34.10 | 14.30
This concert has already taken place! € 81.40 | 62.70 | 50.60 | 34.10 | 14.30

American composer Charles Ives was actually an insurance broker by trade. His great oeuvre – which established a new American musical culture – came about as a side-line, if we can call it that. His music anticipates much of what European composers would only discover in the second half of the twentieth century: in particular the collage principle, theatricality, and the overlaying of and confrontation between traditional and popular forms. American transcendentalism was another major influence on his work: it is what gave his music its utopian character. With Ives’s Symphony No. 4, which was composed for a large orchestra, the Hamburg Philharmonic State Orchestra now presents one of his most complex works. Today, Ives is known as one of America’s most important composers, but most of his works were only discovered later. His Symphony No. 4 premiered in New York’s Carnegie Hall in 1965, eleven years after Ives’s death.


Philharmonisches Staatsorchester Hamburg

Audi Jugendchorakademie

Viktoria Mullova violin

Christoph Grund piano

conductor Kent Nagano


Charles Ives
Sinfonie Nr. 4

- Interval -

Ludwig van Beethoven
Konzert für Violine und Orchester D-Dur op. 61

Pre-Concert Talk
19:00 / Elbphilharmonie Hamburg, Großer Saal

Estimated end time


Charles Ives

Promoter: Philharmonisches Staatsorchester Hamburg

During your visit

Visiting in the age of corona

Minimum distancing and face coverings on all passageways

Find out more

One before the concert

A public viewing platform on the 8th floor of the Elbphilharmonie

More about the Plaza

Before the concert

In the Grand Hall and Recital Hall foyers

More about Food & Drink