Hagen Quartett

String Quartets by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

This concert has already taken place! 10 | 22 | 34 | 49
This concert has already taken place! 10 | 22 | 34 | 49
Hagen Quartett
Hagen Quartett © Harald Hoffmann

Simply Mozart

The Hagen Quartet comes from Salzburg and is regarded as one of the world’s leading string quartets. They are popular guests in Hamburg, and they specialise in Mozart: they already had a Mozart residency in the Laeiszhalle back in the 2014/15 season, and they are now returning with an all-Mozart programme – this time to the Elbphilharmonie.

Mozart’s G major String Quartet dates from 1782 and is the first of the six so-called »Haydn Quartets« that Mozart was inspired to write by his friend Joseph Haydn’s Op. 33 quartets, likewise a set of six. They mark Mozart’s breakthrough to the Classical style, and are full of references to his friend’s quartet writing.

A good two years later, Mozart wrote the Quartet in A major, K. 464, and the work in C major, K. 465. They are both among the summits of their composer’s oeuvre, but differ strongly in terms of character. The A major piece is more introverted, while K. 465, which has become known as the »Dissonance« Quartet, combines daring sounds with cantabile flourishes and stormy outbursts.


Hagen Quartett

Lukas Hagen violin
Rainer Schmidt violin
Veronika Hagen viola
Clemens Hagen violoncello


Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Streichquartett G-Dur KV 387
Streichquartett A-Dur KV 464

– Interval –

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Streichquartett C-Dur KV 465 »Dissonanzenquartett«


Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Allegro ma non troppo / aus: Streichquartett Es-Dur KV 421b

Pre-Concert Talk (in German)
18:30 / Elbphilharmonie, Kleiner Saal

Estimated end time



String Quartets

Promoter: HamburgMusik

During your visit

Elbphilharmonie Plaza

A public viewing platform on the 8th floor of the Elbphilharmonie

More about the Plaza

Food and Drink

Before the concert and in the interval

Find out more