Arabella Steinbacher / Martynas Levickis

Piazzolla / Copland / Purcell / Gardel

Tickets currently not available Please try again later
Tickets currently not available Please try again later

Where the sun rises

People generally have specific expectations of an orchestra. But the Aurora Orchestra has a slightly different approach: the musicians often stand on stage instead of sitting down, and music stands are also rarely seen – the orchestra plays many of its pieces from memory. These little deviations from the norm release an immense amount of energy. Just the right dynamic for Astor Piazzolla's »Four Seasons«, with which the ensemble and solo violinist Arabella Steinbacher celebrate the Argentine composer, who would have been 100 years old on 11 March 2021. And when Lithuanian accordionist Martynas Levickis brings his own brand of vivacity to bear on Piazzolla's »Libertango« after the interval, things take on a passionate flavour: typically Argentine and typical of Aurora!


Aurora Orchestra

Arabella Steinbacher violin

Martynas Levickis accordion

direction Nicholas Collon


Astor Piazzolla zum 100. Geburtstag

Aaron Copland
Appalachian Spring / Suite aus »Ballet for Martha«

Astor Piazzolla
Las cuatro estaciones porteñas / Fassung für Violine und Streichorchester

- Interval -

Henry Purcell
When I Am Laid in Earth / Bearbeitung von Iain Farrington

Astor Piazzolla
Libertango / Bearbeitung von Ian Watson

Carlos Gardel
Por una cabeza / Bearbeitung von Ian Watson

Leonard Bernstein
Symphonic Dances aus »West Side Story« / Bearbeitung für Streichorchester von Iain Farrington


International Soloists Compact

Promoter: Konzertdirektion Dr. Rudolf Goette / HamburgMusik

During your visit

Visiting in the age of corona

Hygiene rules, programme changes and advance tickets

Find out more

Elbphilharmonie Plaza

A public viewing platform on the 8th floor of the Elbphilharmonie

More about the Plaza

Food and Drink

An overview of the food & drink options at the Elbphilharmonie

More about Food & Drink