Laeiszhalle / Kleiner Saal

»Überlebensmusik«: Pavel Haas Quartet

2. Internationales Musikfest Hamburg

This event has already taken place! € 36.00 | 29.00 | 21.00 | 13.00
This event has already taken place! € 36.00 | 29.00 | 21.00 | 13.00

The Pavel Haas Quartet, hailing from the Czech Republic, sets one of the focal points of the 2nd Hamburg International Music Festival in motion: »Survival Music«. The Quartet names itself after the Czech composer executed in Auschwitz - a composer who fused traditional folk music of his homeland with musical elements from other genres such as jazz.

Pavel Haas’ music has become a regular programme addition, not least due to the multi-prizewinning musicians forming the quartet in tonight’s concert. Erwin Schulhoff is another significant composer whose music was discredited by the German Nazi Party as »degenerate«. With his deportation resulting in death, contemporary music lost one of its most experimentally adventurous and radical ambassadors. Haas’ and Schulhoff’s quartets frame Dmitri Shostakovich’s riveting »String Quartet No. 8«, officially dedicated »to the victims of fascism and war«. It remains one of the most personal and powerful works of the composer – and one of the most popular string quartets of its genre - today.


Pavel Haas Quartet

Veronika Jarůšková violin
Marek Zwiebel violin
Radim Sedmidubský viola
Peter Jarůšek violoncello


Erwin Schulhoff
Streichquartett Nr. 1

Dmitri Schostakowitsch
Streichquartett Nr. 8 c-Moll op. 110

- Interval -

Pavel Haas
Streichquartett Nr. 2 op. 7 »Von den Affenbergen«


2nd Hamburg International Music Festival

Promoter: Hamburgische Vereinigung von Freunden der Kammermusik

In cooperation with Elbphilharmonie Konzerte