Video on demand from 2 Apr 2020
available until 2 Apr 2025

Elbphilharmonie Sessions: Claire Huangci

Johannes Brahms’s Hungarian Dance No. 1 from the Elbphilharmonie Recital Hall.

The Artist

Claire Huangci was only 17 when she moved on her own from her home town of Philadelphia to Hanover to study the piano there. »The best decision of my life«, as it turned out: today, 13 years later, the American with Chinese roots plays at the top chamber music venues from New York to Hamburg, and has walked off with a whole number of major prizes. But one thing has stayed the same over the years: »I want to make music that people remember – not because I had such nimble fingers, but because the music was so moving.«

»I want to make music that people remember – not because I had such nimble fingers, but because the music was so moving.«

Claire Huangci

None © Daniel Dittus
None © Daniel Dittus
None © Daniel Dittus
Elbphilharmonie Sessions: Claire Huangci Elbphilharmonie Sessions: Claire Huangci © Daniel Dittus
None © Daniel Dittus
None © Daniel Dittus
None © Daniel Dittus
None © Daniel Dittus
None © Daniel Dittus
None © Daniel Dittus
None © Daniel Dittus

The Music :Johannes Brahms: Ungarischer Tanz Nr. 1

Johannes Brahms spent nearly twelve years tinkering with the score of his 21 Hungarian Dances. The trouble was worth it: the catchy pieces with their spirited melodies are among the Hamburg composer’s most popular piano works. Brahms originally wrote the dances for four hands, i.e. for two pianists. For her session, Claire Huangci chose to play the later solo version where all the notes are allocated to just two hands. »It’s great fun to play, but incredibly difficult as well.«

The Location

The undulating moulded wooden panelling lends the Elbphilharmonie Recital Hall an intimate atmosphere and a warm sound. Unlike the Grand Hall, the smaller room has a classic rectangular »shoebox« shape, and can be flexibly adapted to suit different types of ensemble and concert formats.

Elbphilharmonie Recital Hall
Elbphilharmonie Recital Hall © Gilda Fernandez

About the series

Artists record exclusive music videos at the Elbphilharmonie and Laeiszhalle for Elbphilharmonie Sessions – sometimes in unusual locations offstage. Discover the concert halls from the inside. Discover what they sound like.

Text: Laura Etspüler, Stand: 1.4.2020

More stories

Ensemble Resonanz: Concertos und Caprices
Play Video

Video on demand from 26 Feb 2021 : Ensemble Resonanz: Concertos und Caprices

An Italian programme in the Recital Hall: a concert stream with Riccardo Minasi and violin virtuoso Ilya Gringolts. Available from 26 February 2021, 19:30.

Departure for Planet Globokar

Adventurous experiments in the musical laboratory: a journey of discovery for children aged 6 and over. Available from 27 February 2021, 11.

Play Video

: Deichkind: Sounds of Elbphilharmonie

For Fynn Kliemann’s online series »Sounds Of«, the Hamburg band has knocked up a new song – featuring sounds from the Elbphilharmonie.

Video on Demand vom 2.4.2020
verfügbar bis 2.4.2025

Elbphilharmonie Sessions: Claire Huangci

Johannes Brahms’ Erster Ungarischer Tanz aus dem Kleinen Saal der Elbphilharmonie.

Die Künstlerin

Mit 17 Jahren zog Claire Huangci allein aus ihrer Heimat Philadelphia nach Hannover, um Klavier zu studieren. »Die beste Entscheidung meines Lebens«, wie sich im Nachhinein herausstellte: Heute, 13 Jahre später, konzertiert die Amerikanerin mit chinesischen Wurzeln in den wichtigsten Kammermusiksälen von New York bis Hamburg und hat eine ganze Reihe wichtiger Preise abgeräumt. Eines ist über die Jahre gleich geblieben: »Ich will Musik machen, an die man sich erinnert – nicht weil ich so schnelle Finger hatte, sondern weil sie so berührend war.«

»Ich will Musik machen, an die man sich erinnert – nicht weil ich so schnelle Finger hatte, sondern weil sie so berührend war.«

Claire Huangci

None © Daniel Dittus
None © Daniel Dittus
None © Daniel Dittus
Elbphilharmonie Sessions: Claire Huangci Elbphilharmonie Sessions: Claire Huangci © Daniel Dittus
None © Daniel Dittus
None © Daniel Dittus
None © Daniel Dittus
None © Daniel Dittus
None © Daniel Dittus
None © Daniel Dittus
None © Daniel Dittus

Die Musik :Johannes Brahms: Ungarischer Tanz Nr. 1

Fast zwölf Jahre lang tüftelte Johannes Brahms an seinen 21 Ungarischen Tänzen. Es hat sich gelohnt, denn die eingängigen Stücke mit den schmissigen Melodien gehören zu den beliebtesten Klavierwerken des Hamburgers. Ursprünglich komponierte er die Tänze für vier Hände, für zwei Menschen am Klavier also. Claire Huangci hat sich für ihre Session die später entstandene Solo-Fassung ausgesucht, die sämtliche Noten auf nur zwei Hände verteilt: »Sie macht großen Spaß, ist aber auch ungeheuer schwer zu spielen.«

Der Ort

Die wellenförmig gefräste Eichenholzverkleidung verleiht dem Kleinen Saal der Elbphilharmonie eine intime Atmosphäre und einen warmen Klang. Im Gegensatz zum Großen Saal hat der Raum eine klassisch rechteckige »Schuhschachtel«-Form und lässt sich flexibel unterschiedlichen Besetzungen und Formaten anpassen.

Elbphilharmonie Kleiner Saal
Kleiner Saal der Elbphilharmonie © Gilda Fernandez

Zur Reihe

Für die Elbphilharmonie Sessions nehmen Künstler exklusive Musikvideos in Elbphilharmonie und Laeiszhalle auf – manchmal auch abseits der Bühnen, an ungewöhnlichen Orten. So sehen die Konzerthäuser von innen aus. Und so klingen sie.

None

Text: Laura Etspüler, Stand: 1.4.2020

Weitere Beiträge

Livestream in
am 30.10.2020 um 20 Uhr :
Alles Gute zum Geburtstag!

Das NDR Elbphilharmonie Orchester feiert sein 75. Jubiläum – mit goldenem Archivmaterial und den Weltstars Julia Fischer und Daniel Müller-Schott.

Auf der Suche nach der perfekten Akustik

Das Aris Quartett auf einer Klangreise durch die Elbphilharmonie. Ein Dokumentarfilm von Marcus Richardt.

Elbphilharmonie Offstage #04 – Kreative Bildung

Wie entsteht Kreativität und wie kann man sie fördern – darüber sprechen wir mit der Pädagogin Kristina Calvert.