Video on demand from 21 Feb 2020
available until 21 Feb 2025

Elbphilharmonie Sessions: Avishai Cohen & Yonathan Avishai

Duke Ellington’s »Azalea« from the Elbphilharmonie’s Piano Store.

Trumpeter Avishai Cohen and pianist Yonathan Avishai play a session in the Elbphilharmonie piano store with Duke Ellington’s »Azalea«.

The Artists

Born in Tel Aviv, Avishai Cohen was already performing in public at the age of 10. He played in big bands, with Israeli folk and pop artists and in classical orchestras, in every line-up from the jazz duo to the quintet, and from Tel Aviv to New York. Today, he is one of the most important figures in contemporary jazz. And his siblings are musical as well: he appears alongside them as »The 3 Cohens«. One of Avishai Cohen’s regular musical partners of many years’ standing is pianist Yonathan Avishai, with whom he released the album »Playing The Room« in 2019. Critics refer to the sound of this musician, who grew up in Israel and Japan, as »radical in a particular way: he places rests where you don’t expect them.« (BR)

None
Elbphilharmonie Sessions: Avishai Cohen & Yonathan Avishai Elbphilharmonie Sessions: Avishai Cohen & Yonathan Avishai © Maximilian Motel
Elbphilharmonie Sessions: Avishai Cohen & Yonathan Avishai Elbphilharmonie Sessions: Avishai Cohen & Yonathan Avishai © Maximilian Motel
Elbphilharmonie Sessions: Avishai Cohen & Yonathan Avishai Elbphilharmonie Sessions: Avishai Cohen & Yonathan Avishai © Maximilian Motel
Elbphilharmonie Sessions: Avishai Cohen & Yonathan Avishai Elbphilharmonie Sessions: Avishai Cohen & Yonathan Avishai © Maximilian Motel
None
None
None © Maximilian Motel
None
None

The Music

At the age of 18 he was still planning to be a painter, but the American artist Duke Ellington, who died in 1974, went on to become one of the most gifted bandleaders, pianists, entertainers and composers of all time. He wrote more than 2,000 pieces, many of which are now well-known jazz standards. His immensely expressive sound combines influences from blues, gospel and swing with new harmonies and tonal experiments, and became a symbol for American music per se. For a while there was even talk of choosing his hit »Rockin’ in Rhythm« as a new national anthem. For their Elbphilharmonie session, Avishai Cohen and Yonathan Avishai selected the number »Azalea«, which Ellington was inspired to write by Louis Armstrong’s biography »Swing that Music«.

Elbphilharmonie Sessions: Avishai Cohen & Yonathan Avishai
Avishai Cohen © Maximilian Motel

The Location

On the 10th floor, well-hidden in the backstage area, the Elbphilharmonie has its piano store. Here on the tenth floor, with optimum humidity and room temperature, five valuable Steinway grand pianos are stored. They are regularly tuned and played, and are rolled on to the stage before rehearsals and concerts – some 400 times per season.

About the series

Artists record exclusive music videos at the Elbphilharmonie and Laeiszhalle for Elbphilharmonie Sessions – sometimes in unusual locations offstage. Discover the concert halls from the inside. Discover what they sound like.

None

Text: Laura Etspüler, Stand: 17.2.2020

More stories

NDR Elbphilharmonie Orchester / Paavo Järvi
Play Video

Video on demand from 27 Nov 2020 : NDR Elbphilharmonie Orchester / Paavo Järvi

The NDR Elbphilharmonie Orchestra plays a purely French programme including works by Francis Poulenc und Maurice Ravel.

Elbphilharmonie Adventskalender

In 24 Türchen mit der Elbphilharmonie durch die Adventszeit.

Elbphilharmonie Pop-up Store: The top 10 souvenirs

From a cookie cutter to tableware – there's a present to suit every taste.

Video on Demand vom 21.2.2020
verfügbar bis 21.2.2025

Elbphilharmonie Sessions: Avishai Cohen & Yonathan Avishai

Duke Ellingtons »Azalea« aus dem Flügellager der Elbphilharmonie.

Trompeter Avishai Cohen und Pianist Yonathan Avishai starten eine Session im Flügellager der Elbphilharmonie mit Duke Ellingtons »Azalea«.

Die Künstler

Geboren in Tel Aviv, stand Avishai Cohen schon mit zehn Jahren auf der Bühne. Er spielte in Bigbands, mit israelischen Folk- und Popkünstlern und in klassischen Orchestern, in sämtlichen Varianten vom Jazz-Duo bis zum Quintett und von Tel Aviv bis New York. Heute gehört er zu den wichtigsten Vertretern des modernen Jazz. Seine Geschwister sind übrigens auch musikalisch: Mit ihnen tritt er als »The 3 Cohens« auf. Ein langjähriger Weggefährte Avishai Cohens ist der Pianist Yonathan Avishai. Die beiden kennen sich seit der Schulzeit; 2019 brachten sie gemeinsam das Album »Playing the Room« heraus. Den Sound des in Israel und Japan aufgewachsenen Musikers nennt die Presse »auf eine eigene Art radikal: Er setzt dort Pausen, wo man sie nicht vermutet.« (BR)

Avishai Cohen Avishai Cohen © Maximilian Motel
Avishai Cohen Avishai Cohen © Maximilian Motel
Yonathan Avishai Yonathan Avishai © Maximilian Motel
Avishai Cohen & Yonathan Avishai / Elbphilharmonie Sessions Avishai Cohen & Yonathan Avishai / Elbphilharmonie Sessions © Maximilian Motel
Produktionsteam mit Avishai Cohen & Yonathan Avishai Produktionsteam mit Avishai Cohen & Yonathan Avishai © Maximilian Motel
Kamera Kamera © Maximilian Motel
Produktionsteam Produktionsteam © Maximilian Motel
Produktionsteam Produktionsteam © Maximilian Motel
Produktion Produktion © Maximilian Motel
Kamera Kamera © Maximilian Motel

Die Musik

Mit 18 wollte er noch Maler werden, heute gilt der 1974 verstorbene US-Amerikaner Duke Ellington als einer der begnadetsten Bandleader, Pianisten, Entertainer und Komponisten aller Zeiten. Über 2000 Stücke schrieb er, viele davon sind heute bekannte Jazzstandards. Sein enorm ausdrucksstarker Sound, der Einflüsse aus Blues, Gospel und Swing mit neuen Harmonien und Klangexperimenten verbindet, wurde zum Symbol für die US-amerikanische Musik schlechthin. Den Erfolgshit »Rockin' in Rhythm« handelte man kurzzeitig sogar als Anwärter für eine neue Nationalhymne. Avishai Cohen und Yonathan Avishai haben für ihre Session die Nummer »Azalea« ausgewählt, zu der Ellington von Louis Armstrongs Biografie »Swing that Music« inspiriert wurde.

Elbphilharmonie Sessions: Avishai Cohen & Yonathan Avishai
Avishai Cohen © Maximilian Motel

Der Ort

Im zehnten Stock liegt, gut versteckt im Backstagebereich, das Flügellager der Elbphilharmonie. Hier lagern bei optimaler Luftfeuchtigkeit und Raumtemperatur fünf wertvolle Konzertflügel der Firma Steinway, die regelmäßig gestimmt, bespielt und vor Proben und Konzerten auf die Bühnen gerollt werden – im Schnitt 400 Mal pro Saison.

Zur Reihe

Für die Elbphilharmonie Sessions nehmen Künstler exklusive Musikvideos in der Elbphilharmonie und Laeiszhalle auf – manchmal auch abseits der Bühnen, an ungewöhnlichen Orten. So sehen die Konzerthäuser von innen aus. Und so klingen sie.

Text: Laura Etspüler, Stand: 17.2.2020

Mediathek : Weitere Beiträge

Piotr Anderszewski spielt Bach
Video abspielen

Video on Demand vom 16.4.2021 : Piotr Anderszewski spielt Bach

Der polnische Pianist präsentiert eine ganz persönliche Zusammenstellung aus dem »Wohltemperierten Klavier«.

Elbphilharmonie Kopfhörer #07 – Stille

Der Podcast für junge Leute – diesmal mucksmäuschenstill.

Ivy Flindt
Video abspielen

Video on Demand vom 9.4.2021 : Ivy Flindt

Made in Hamburg: Die Indie-Pop-Band im Livestream.