The Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen / Patricia Kopatchinskaja / Pekka Kuusisto

Barber: Adagio for Strings / Schönberg: Violin Concerto / Prokofiev: Romeo and Juliet

Tickets from €54 15 | 28 | 54 | 74 | 89
Patricia Kopatchinskaja
Patricia Kopatchinskaja © Marco Borggreve
Pekka Kuusisto
Pekka Kuusisto © Bard Gundersen

Faces of the modern age

The orchestra as a powerhouse – with its virtuosity and joy of playing, the Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen creates electrifying concert experiences. For their first Elbphilharmonie concert of the season, Pekka Kuusisto can demonstrate his talent on the rostrum and, with music by Samuel Barber and Sergei Prokofiev, tease out late romantic pathos and edgy drama from the members of the Kammerphilharmonie. Exceptional violinist Patricia Kopatchinskaja can again illustrate on Arnold Schönberg’s violin concerto that classifications such as unplayability have no meaning for her.

With Samuel Barber’s »Adagio«, the programme begins with a piece that explores the sound of a full string orchestra in its entire depth. After this melancholic curtain-raiser, a work takes to the stage whose complexities have certainly made some musicians get their fingers in knots. To breathe life into the demanding lines and figurations of Arnold Schönberg’s violin concerto calls for an artist of Kopatchinskaja’s calibre. She combines supreme technique with perfect versatility and musical imagination.

After the interval, Kuusisto then plunges into the existential drama of Sergei Prokofiev’s ballet music of »Romeo and Juliet« with the Kammerphilharmonie. Captivating melodies, brilliant orchestration, snappy rhythms and devastating tragedy – with these ingredients, Prokofiev portrayed the greatest love story of all time and in so doing created one of his most popular works.


Die Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen

Patricia Kopatchinskaja violin

Bettina Wild flute

director Pekka Kuusisto


Samuel Barber
Adagio for Strings, Op. 11

Arnold Schönberg
Concerto for Violin and Orchestra, Op. 36

– Interval –

Edgard Varèse
Density 21.5

Sergej Prokofjew
Suite No. 2 from »Romeo and Juliiet«, Op. 64b (selection) / aus »Romeo und Julia« op. 64b
Suite No. 1 from »Romeo and Juliiet«, Op. 64a
Suite No. 2 from »Romeo and Juliiet«, Op. 64b / aus »Romeo und Julia« op. 64b

Pre-Concert Talk

with Tobias Knickmann (in German)

19:00 / Elbphilharmonie, Großer Saal


Elbphilharmonie Subscription 5


Arnold Schönberg

Promoter: HamburgMusik

From the Mediatheque : Videos, Podcasts, Articles

Schoenberg is beautiful

Why the Viennese composer’s music is not only revolutionary, but also worth listening to.

Alan Gilbert conducts Beethoven and Schönberg
Play Video

Video on demand from 3 May 2024 : Alan Gilbert conducts Beethoven and Schönberg

Under the baton of its chief conductor, the NDR Elbphilharmonie Orchestra presents Schönberg’s »A Survivor from Warsaw« and Beethoven’s famous Ninth Symphony.

Stories with the hashtag #NewMusic

Concert streams, interviews, interesting facts: learn more about New Music.

During your visit

Elbphilharmonie Plaza

A public viewing platform on the 8th floor of the Elbphilharmonie

More about the Plaza

Food and Drink

Before the concert and in the interval

Find out more

Coughing, clapping, chatting

Tips for your concert visit

Read now