The Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen / Alena Baeva / Paavo Järvi

Brahms / Please note the change of artist

This concert has already taken place! 12 | 25 | 48 | 67 | 78
This concert has already taken place! 12 | 25 | 48 | 67 | 78

Symphony or concerto?

Johannes Brahms wrote his Violin Concerto in 1878; to this day, it is one of the most important compositions for violin and orchestra in the repertoire. Unlike the majority of violin concertos, where the solo instrument is very much in the limelight and the orchestra merely accompanies it, the Brahms work is more a kind of symphony with a solo violin part added. The first movement is epic and expansive; the slow movement lyrical and tender, while the finale captivates with the Hungarian colouring of its spirited dances. Some 20 years earlier, Brahms had made a close study of Mozart’s wind serenades, and ended up composing two serenades of his own; he completed work on the Serenade No. 2 in 1860. It consists of five movements, is set for wind instruments and low strings, and is rather dark and lugubrious in tone thanks to the heavy use of violas and cellos.

Please note: Janine Jansen has regrettably been forced to cancel her appearance in this concert due to illness. Alena Baeva has kindly agreed to step in as soloist. The programme remains unchanged and tickets retain their validity.


Die Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen

Alena Baeva violin

conductor Paavo Järvi


Johannes Brahms
Konzert für Violine und Orchester D-Dur op. 77


Johann Sebastian Bach
Largo / aus: Sonate Nr. 3 C-Dur BWV 1005 für Violine solo

– Interval –

Johannes Brahms
Serenade Nr. 2 A-Dur op. 16

Pre-Concert Talk (in German)
19:00 / Elbphilharmonie, Großer Saal

Estimated end time



The Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen

Promoter: HamburgMusik

During your visit

Elbphilharmonie Plaza

A public viewing platform on the 8th floor of the Elbphilharmonie

More about the Plaza

Food and Drink

Before the concert and in the interval

Find out more