Season Opening / The Philadelphia Orchestra

Yannick Nézet-Séguin / Angel Blue – Elbphilharmonie Summer

Tickets from €76 15 | 38 | 76 | 110 | 125
Tickets from €76 15 | 38 | 76 | 110 | 125

Made in USA

Of the four American composers chosen by the Philadelphia Orchestra and its principal conductor Yannick Nézet-Séguin for the second concert in the »Elbphilharmonie Sommer« festival, Samuel Barber is certainly the best known. But, as with Barber, the orchestral works by Gabriela Lena Frank, Valerie Coleman and Florence Price also feature influences from the worlds of jazz and folk music. Worlds that have always been part of the »American way of music«.

In Barber’s »Knoxville: Summer of 1915«, the soprano Angel Blue evokes an era of peace and hope. In Valerie Coleman’s vocal work »This Is Not a Small Voice«, African-American culture proudly raises its voice.

And while Gabriela Lena Frank combines western classical forms with Latin American rhythms in her orchestral work »Leyendas: An Andean Walkabout«, Florence Price’s Symphony No. 1 is the first symphonic work by a black woman to be performed by a major American orchestra. And Yannick Nézet-Séguin has absolutely no doubt: this symphony, even with its jazz harmonies, »comes across as American through and through«.


The Philadelphia Orchestra

Angel Blue soprano

conductor Yannick Nézet-Séguin


Gabriela Lena Frank
Leyendas: An Andean Walkabout / Fassung für Streichorchester (Auszüge)

Samuel Barber
Knoxville: Summer of 1915 für Sopran und Orchester op. 24

Valerie Coleman
This Is Not a Small Voice

– Interval –

Florence B. Price
Sinfonie Nr. 1 e-Moll


Elbphilharmonie Summer


The Americans

Promoter: HamburgMusik / Konzertdirektion Dr. Rudolf Goette

During your visit

Elbphilharmonie Plaza

A public viewing platform on the 8th floor of the Elbphilharmonie

More about the Plaza

Food and Drink

Before the concert and in the interval

Find out more