Philharmonic Chamber Music Recital

Dohnányi / Schönberg / Mozart

This concert has already taken place! € 24.20 | 16.50 | 12.10 | 9.90
This concert has already taken place! € 24.20 | 16.50 | 12.10 | 9.90

»When it comes to compositional mastery, Dohnányi’s Serenade, Op. 10, is comparable to the string trios of Mozart and Beethoven. And when you consider the playfulness and tonal imagination that infuses the piece, the achievement in terms of the compositional artistry behind the playful facade seems all the more remarkable.

The second trio is Schönberg’s Op. 45. In this piece, the composer was processing the liminal experience of his heart attack through music. He confided to Thomas Mann that the work represented his illness and the medical treatment he received. The extreme density of the musical progressions, combined with the strictly twelve-tonal compositional style, means the trio is only very rarely performed. Finally, Mozart’s Divertimento, KV 563 is one of his last chamber works and the only trio he ever composed. The earnestness and the extreme compositional challenge of the three equal voices inspire feats of musical triumph.« (Naomi Seiler)


Hibiki Oshima violin

Naomi Seiler viola

Thomas Tyllack violoncello


Ernst von Dohnányi
Serenade C-Dur op. 10 für Streichtrio

Arnold Schönberg
Streichtrio op. 45

- Interval -

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Streichtrio Es-Dur KV 563 »Divertimento«

Estimated end time


Philharmonic Chamber Music Concerts

Promoter: Philharmonisches Staatsorchester Hamburg

During your visit

Visiting in the age of corona

Minimum distancing and face coverings on all passageways

Find out more

One before the concert

A public viewing platform on the 8th floor of the Elbphilharmonie

More about the Plaza

Before the concert

In the Grand Hall and Recital Hall foyers

More about Food & Drink