Hamburg Philharmonic State Orchestra / Elisabeth Leonskaja / Dennis Russell Davies

Wagner / Schumann / Winbeck

This concert has already taken place! 15.40 | 39.60 | 56.10 | 71.50 | 91.30
This concert has already taken place! 15.40 | 39.60 | 56.10 | 71.50 | 91.30
Elisabeth Leonskaja
Elisabeth Leonskaja © Marco Borggreve
Dennis Russell Davies
Dennis Russell Davies © Reinhard Winkler

Grande Dame of the Piano

With dark pathos, Wagner’s Faust Overture – inspired by Berlioz’s »Roméo et Juliette« Symphony and Beethoven’s Ninth – opens this concert by the Hamburg Philharmonic State Orchestra. Following directly on from the time of its composition at the beginning of the 1840s is the epitome of the Romantic piano concerto with Elisabeth Leonskaja as soloist: Schumann’s Piano Concerto in A minor, in which the composer strives for the aesthetic ideal of the close interlocking of piano and orchestra.


Philharmonisches Staatsorchester Hamburg

Elisabeth Leonskaja piano

conductor Dennis Russell Davies


Richard Wagner
Eine Faust-Ouvertüre WWV 59

Robert Schumann
Concerto for Piano and Orchestra in A minor, Op. 54

– Interval –

Heinz Winbeck
Sinfonie Nr. 2

Pre-Concert Talk

with Janina Zell (in German)

15:00 / Elbphilharmonie, Großer Saal

Estimated end time



Philharmonic Concerts / Large Subscription

Philharmonic Concerts / »Odd« Concerts

Promoter: Philharmonisches Staatsorchester Hamburg

During your visit

Elbphilharmonie Plaza

A public viewing platform on the 8th floor of the Elbphilharmonie

More about the Plaza

Food and Drink

Before the concert and in the interval

Find out more

Coughing, clapping, chatting

Tips for your concert visit

Read now