Laeiszhalle Hamburg Brahms-Foyer


The concert has been rescheduled for 30 January 2021 at the Elbphilharmonie Recital Hall

This concert has already taken place! € 16.00
This concert has already taken place! € 16.00

The concert programme of the Elbphilharmonie and the Laeiszhalle cannot go ahead as planned due to the impact of the coronavirus pandemic. This concert has been rescheduled for 30 January and relocated to the Elbphilharmonie Recital Hall. Please note the new beginning of the concert as well. Tickets retain their validity: Go to replacement event

The concert was part of the subscription »Teatime Classics«. We will be in touch directly with subscribers to notify them of all alternative options.

Friedrich Thiele regularly impresses the jury at major music competitions with his fine playing and musicality. In 2019, for example, he won both second prize and the audience prize at the ARD Music Competition and also at the International Instrumental Competition in Markneukirchen. And the audience at »Teatime Classics« can likewise look forward to an appearance by the 24-year-old cellist, who has been sponsored by the foundation Deutsche Stiftung Musikleben for ten years now. 
All three works on tonight's programme can be seen as gifts made mongst friends. Henri Dutilleux's »Trois strophes sur le nom de Sacher« may elicit memories of the famous Viennese cake in the context of »Teatime«, but they were actually written as a serenade for the 70th birthday of conductor Paul Sacher. Schubert likewise dedicated his virtuoso Arpeggione Sonata to a fellow musician: in his day, Vinzenz Schuster was the leading master on the arpeggione, a mixture of the guitar and the cello with six strings and frets that is held between the player's legs and played with a bow. This instrument later sank into oblivion, with only the nickname of the sonata serving as a reminder. Shostakovich wrote his D minor Sonata for his friend the cellist Viktor Kubackij, and, the Romantic air of the music notwithstanding, it is still imbued with the irony characteristic of the composer.
Friedrich Thiele is accompanied by Naoko Sonoda, who is not only an established concert pianist, but also a sought-after chamber musician and répétiteuse. She also teaches at music colleges in Berlin and Weimar.


Friedrich Thiele violoncello

Naoko Sonoda piano


Franz Schubert
Sonate a-Moll D 821 »Arpeggione«

Henri Dutilleux
Trois strophes sur le nom de Sacher

Dmitri Schostakowitsch
Sonate für Violoncello und Klavier d-Moll op. 40


Teatime Classics

Promoter: HamburgMusik

Supported by the Cyril & Jutta A. Palmer Stiftung