Philharmonisches Staatsorchester Hamburg / Liza Ferschtman / Joana Mallwitz

Korngold / Strawinsky

Tickets from €14.30 14.30 | 34.10 | 50.60 | 62.70 | 81.40
Tickets from €14.30 14.30 | 34.10 | 50.60 | 62.70 | 81.40

Great drama with a great cast

Kurt Weill is known first and foremost for his revolutionary music theatre. In 1921, long before his exile years in America, he wrote his first »Berlin« Symphony. Eight years earlier, Igor Stravinsky had shocked the world of culture with one of the most scandalous premieres in music history: the unique work that owes its timelessness to its unbending, archaic energy was »Le sacre du printemps« (The Rite of Spring). Joana Mallwitz, general director of music of the Nuremberg State Theatre, conducts the Hamburg Philharmonic State Orchestra here for the first time. Erich Wolfgang Korngold’s sole Violin Concerto was first performed in America in 1947; the solo part is taken tonight by Liza Ferschtman, who enjoys international success with her charismatic playing, her expressive power and sensitivity.


Philharmonisches Staatsorchester Hamburg

Liza Ferschtman violin

conductor Joana Mallwitz


Kurt Weill
Sinfonie Nr. 1

Erich Wolfgang Korngold
Konzert für Violine und Orchester D-Dur op. 35

– Interval –

Igor Strawinsky
Le sacre du printemps / Bilder aus dem heidnischen Russland

Promoter: Philharmonisches Staatsorchester Hamburg

During your visit

Elbphilharmonie Plaza

A public viewing platform on the 8th floor of the Elbphilharmonie

More about the Plaza

Food and Drink

Before the concert and in the interval

Find out more