NDR Jugendsinfonieorchester / Carlos Miguel Prieto

Strawinsky in Hamburg

Order tickets from €12.00 Tickets are only available by ordering. Learn more

Symphony in Three Movements

The NDR Youth Symphony Orchestra has come up with a very special programme for the Stravinsky Festival. The Symphony in Three Movements and the Concerto for Piano and Wind Instruments are framed by two of his most virtuoso pieces, which can justly be referred to as true showpieces: the Scherzo Fantastique of 1908 and »Le Chant du Rossignol«, a symphonic arrangement from his 1914 opera »Le Rossignol« (The Nightingale).

The Scherzo Fantastique, a lavish orchestral etude some 12 minutes long, was among the first Stravinsky pieces that ballet impresario Serge Diaghilev heard in St. Petersburg. It was Diaghilev who later hired the composer to write for the Ballets Russes, therewith paving his way to an international career.

Stravinsky likewise wrote »Le Chant du rossignol« for the Ballets Russes. The work had its stage premiere in 1920 at the Parisian Opéra Garnier in a production featuring décor and costumes by Henri Matisse. Stravinsky took a Chinese fairy tale by Hans Christian Andersen as his subject for this exceptionally colourful score.

The Concerto for Piano and Wind Instruments dates from 1923/24. Stravinsky wrote his piano concertos for his own use: he was much in demand as a performer of his own works in the 1920s. At the Stravinsky Festival, pianist Alexander Lonquich, a former Artist in Residence of the NDR Elbphilharmonie Orchestra, plays the concerto in Hamburg for the first time.

The symphonic main work in this concert is Stravinsky's three-movement symphony, written between 1942 and 1945 and probably his most important contribution to this traditional genre. It is not least a portrait of the »American« Stravinsky, as shown by the stylistic diversity and the general mood of optimism. Stravinsky adopted American citizenship in the year when he finished the symphony.


NDR Jugendsinfonieorchester

Alexander Lonquich piano

conductor Carlos Miguel Prieto


Igor Strawinsky
Le chant du rossignol / Sinfonische Dichtung für Orchester
Konzert für Klavier und Bläser
Scherzo fantastique op. 3
Sinfonie in drei Sätzen


Stravinsky in Hamburg

Promoter: NDR

During your visit

Visiting in the age of corona

Minimum distancing and face coverings on all passageways

Find out more

One before the concert

A public viewing platform on the 8th floor of the Elbphilharmonie

More about the Plaza

Before the concert

In the Grand Hall and Recital Hall foyers

More about Food & Drink