Mirga Gražinyte-Tyla / City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra

Leoš Janácek: The Cunning Little Vixen

Tickets from €15 15 | 36 | 72 | 105 | 120

The animal kingdom

The domain of the operatic composer Leoš Janáček was always the moving fates of human beings. But the Czech composer also cared just as much about the animal kingdom. In 1924 he composed »The Cunning Little Vixen«, a humorous yet melancholic operatic fairy-tale in which even a mosquito gets to make a grand appearance. Lithuanian star conductor Mirga Gražinytė-Tyla now presents a concert performance of Janáček’s colourful masterpiece.


City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra

Carl-Philipp-Emanuel-Bach-Chor Hamburg

Elena Tsallagova Sharp-Ears, the Vixen

Angela Brower Fox

Roland Wood baritone

William Thomas The Priest, Harašta, the poacher

Robert Murray The Schoolmaster, Pásek

Kitty Whately Lapák the dog, The Forester's wife

Ella Taylor Rooster, Mrs. Páskova

Elizabeth Cragg Chocholka, a crested hen

conductor Mirga Gražinytė-Tyla


Leoš Janáček
The Cunning Little Vixen / Oper in drei Akten

Konzertante Aufführung in tschechischer Sprache


Elbphilharmonie Abo 5


Opera in Concert

Promoter: HamburgMusik

During your visit

The Music of Tomorrow

Artist talks, rehearsal and concert visits for school pupils

Find out more

Elbphilharmonie Plaza

A public viewing platform on the 8th floor of the Elbphilharmonie

More about the Plaza

Food and Drink

Before the concert and in the interval

Find out more