Elbphilharmonie Hamburg Großer Saal

CANCELLED: Berlin Philharmonic / Kirill Petrenko

This concert has already taken place! € 190.00 | 164.00 | 118.00 | 52.00 | 15.00
This concert has already taken place! € 190.00 | 164.00 | 118.00 | 52.00 | 15.00

As a result of the new Germany-wide coronavirus restrictions that have been issued, all concerts in the Elbphilharmonie and Laeiszhalle have been cancelled from 2–30 November. This event has had to be cancelled. If you bought your tickets in the Elbphilharmonie's online shop, you will be refunded the purchase price via the payment method used for the original booking – you don't need to do anything. You'll find further details on refunds on the following page: Information on refunds for tickets to cancelled events

Many of the big international top orchestras are unable to travel at the moment, or only to a very limited extent. What a stroke of luck, then, that one of the world's best orchestras is based around the corner, so to speak: the Berlin Philharmonic. Since Kirill Petrenko took up the position of the orchestra's music director more than a year ago, enthusiastic comments can be heard from all sides. And justifiably so, as the new Berlin dream team already demonstrated at the Elbphilharmonie in February this year. Now the Berlin Philharmonic and its chief conductor are returning to Hamburg.

We can look forward to an exquisite programme of musical riches that still complies with the current Corona rules. The centrepiece is Richard Strauss's expressive »Metamorphosen« for 23 solo strings, which he wrote towards the end of the war: the score's prevailing mood is one of deep earnest. Dmitri Shostakovich's Ninth Symphony dates from the same period. The work was a slap in the face for the Soviet leadership: instead of the heroic and triumphant music that the culture bureaucrats expected, Shostakovich produced a caricature of a symphony. Tonight's concert is introduced by a new work by American composer Andrew Norman, who has been nominated several times for the Grammy award and the Pulitzer Prize.


Berliner Philharmoniker

conductor Kirill Petrenko


Andrew Norman
Sabina / für Streichorchester

Richard Strauss
Metamorphosen / Studie für 23 Solostreicher AV 142

Dmitri Schostakowitsch
Sinfonie Nr. 9 Es-Dur op. 70

Estimated end time

Promoter: HamburgMusik