Anne Luisa Kramb, violin (2G)

Teatime Classics

Ticket sale starts on 5 Apr 2022 at 11:00 Tickets 16 16
Ticket sale starts on 5 Apr 2022 at 11:00 Tickets 16 16

Between Romanticism and Functionalism

Anne Luisa Kramb already has an impressive list of international prizes and awards to her name. The young violinist holds scholarships from the RC Alte Oper Frankfurt and the Oscar und Vera Ritter Foundation Hamburg, and she plays the Stradivarius »Paganini« of 1724, on loan from the private collection of the Wiegand family. Anne Luisa Kramb’s regular duo partner is the pianist Julius Asal, who has an excellent reputation as both a soloist and a chamber musician. Julius Asal has been awarded the Steinway Prize, and holds scholarships from the Oxford Philharmonic Society, the Deutsche Stiftung Musikleben and the Ferruccio Busoni Foundation.

Tonight’s programme features two sonatas for violin and piano – one written by Richard Strauss in 1887, the other, by Ravel, dating from 1927. Although both composers belong to the same generation, the two works couldn’t be more different. In his only violin sonata, Strauss evolves a Late Romantic display of colour, while the Ravel accommodates the ideals of the »Neue Sachlichkeit« movement (New Functionalism) with lean-structured writing and echoes of the blues.


Anne Luisa Kramb violin

Julius Asal piano


Richard Strauss
Sonate für Violine und Klavier Es-Dur op. 18

Maurice Ravel
Sonate G-Dur für Violine und Klavier


Teatime Classics


Young Artists

Promoter: HamburgMusik

Supported by the Cyril & Jutta A. Palmer Stiftung

During your visit

Food and Drink

Vor dem Konzert und in den Pausen

More about Food & Drink