Video on demand from 15 Oct 2019
available until 31 Oct 2021

Nordic Sounds with the Oslo Philharmonic

Norway and Russia are the focus of the programme in the Grand Hall.

Norway and Russia: these two countries, which have a common border in the far north of Europe, are the focal point of this concert given by the Oslo Philharmonic and its principal conductor Vasily Petrenko. Together with the Norwegian Leif Ove Andsnes, a »pianist of masterful elegance, power and insight« (New York Times), they perform the Grieg Piano Concerto and symphonies by Arne Nordheim and Sergei Rachmaninov for their Elbphilharmonie debut.


Oslo Philharmonic

Leif Ove Andsnes piano

conductor Vasily Petrenko


Arne Nordheim
Canzona per orchestra

Edvard Grieg
Concerto for Piano and Orchestra in A minor, Op. 16 (not available on demand)

- Interval -

Sergei Rachmaninov
Symphony No. 2 in E minor, Op. 27

Archive: More about the concert

More stories

Elbphilharmonie Sessions: Elbtonal Percussion
Play Video

Video on demand from 15 Jan 2021 : Elbphilharmonie Sessions: Elbtonal Percussion

They’ve got their sticks ready and are raring to go: Elbtonal Percussion is making the best of the hard lockdown and heading to the Elbphilharmonie – with (almost) boundless possibilities!

Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra / Mariss Jansons
Play Video

Video on demand from 13 Jan 2018 : Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra / Mariss Jansons

In remembrance of a legendary conductor: Mariss Jansons plays Strauss and Prokofiev.

Elbphilharmonie Kopfhörer #04 – The World of Instruments

The Elbphilharmonie podcast for young people aged 8 and upwards.