Zum Inhalt springen

Blog & Streams

Video on demand from 16 Nov 2019

For Seasons

The NDR Elbphilharmonie Orchestra presents a special version of Vivaldi's »Four Seasons«.

Video available until 16 Apr 2020

What does Antonio Vivaldi sound like in a time of climate crisis? The great Italian Baroque composer's »Four Seasons« is one of the most popular pieces in the entire classical repertoire. The NDR Elbphilharmonie Orchestra and its chief conductor Alan Gilbert take Vivaldi's work as a starting point to draw attention to the dramatic consequences of climate change. They perform a new version of Vivaldi's masterpiece under the title »For Seasons«, and the performance will be streamed here live on Saturday, 16 November, at 17:30.

»For Seasons«

It's five minutes past twelve! And it will be a shock to hear that.

Simone Candotto, trombone and arrangement

More information and statistics on »For Seasons«: Visit project website

How numbers turned into music – and why Alan Gilbert uses a bike to get around in Hamburg: Read the interview on ZEIT Online (German only)

»For Seasons« was created with the help of an algorithm based on climate data supplied by research institutes, environmental agencies and universities. Charts, statistics and temperature curves influence Vivaldi's original score: some of the violin trills, for example, that Vivaldi used to imitate birdsong have been cut to represent the extinction of species. In the new version, summer begins earlier, before spring is properly over. Passages that are all light and airy in the original are played here by menacing brass instruments, and winter sounds somehow off kilter. Nature is increasingly losing its balance.

For Seasons shows clearly that nothing stays as it is if we don't do something about it.

Yuri Christiansen, solo cellist

Das Konzert

Sa, 16.11.2019, Elbphilharmonie Großer Saal


Mitglieder des NDR Elbphilharmonie Orchesters

Roland Greutter Violine

Dirigent Alan Gilbert


Antonio Vivaldi / Kling Klang Klong
»For Seasons« basiert auf Le quattro stagioni / Die vier Jahreszeiten op. 8 / algorithmische Bearbeitung von Kling Klang Klong (Arrangement: Simone Candotto)

More stories